Fruits of the Vine

Here goes! Thought I would start with a touch of humour.
 

One large plant,

so far, only six

almost-ready-to-pick

cherry tomatoes.

One large dog,

tongue hanging out, drooling,

gazing dreamily at

one large gap.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Grimke-Drayton
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 16:50:24

    Check out these extracts from my collection –

    http://grimke.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/fr/

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 17:04:45

    Good start! Lovely dog! 🙂

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 17:13:33

    Thank you Ina.

    I find this quite scary!

    xx

    Reply

  4. belfastdavid
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 17:44:28

    *Big Smile*,

    He does innocent rather well methinks 🙂

    David

    Reply

  5. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 18:33:01

    Thank you David!
    Yes he is very good at innocent!!
    Don’t know if there will be more photos unless I carry Ruth everywhere with me! xxx

    Reply

  6. Deano aks KLYM8
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 00:31:13

    Well Done 🙂
    And Jack SOOOOoooo inocent:-) same look he had when he pinched my choc cake LOL
    I look forward to more Gems my BPGN8XXXX<3

    Reply

  7. gonecycling
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 16:30:44

    What a great post to launch your new venture – I love it. Our whippet is a terrible thief; you should see what he’s done to the oven gloves. And yes, he’s always a picture of innocence, too.

    Reply

  8. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 17:00:39

    Thank you, I can picture those oven gloves!!

    I think they must practice the innocent faces during the night!

    Christine x

    Reply

  9. Becoming herself
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 16:44:54

    Hi!

    I just wanted to say how much I like this poem. I think it’s deceptively simple, and says a lot in a few words about, for example, perception and misinterpretation. Perhaps it’s just how I read it, but it seems as if you set the reader up to think that the dog might be interested in eating the tomatoes – and might get to them before you do just as they ripen; but in fact, we’re told (cleverly and surprisingly, right at the end) he’s studying the ‘gap’: freedom, perhaps? There’s maybe more to life than waiting for tomatoes to ripen? Perhaps all that’s just me!

    Like you, I’m currently trying to learn more about poetry (I previously read mostly novels) and am enjoying discovering more poets, both well-known and those who simply write on their blogs (some of the latter I’ve enjoyed more than published poets). Good luck with your blog; I hope you continue with it.

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:38:57

    Thank you for your comment!

    I did have a simpler intention when I wrote the poem but your thoughts are really interesting and very welcome too.

    Thank you for visiting, Hope to see you again

    Christine x

    Reply

  11. onwindydays
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 01:38:21

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by. I always love to see a fellow bloggers first post, just so I can see how much has changed up until the present. It’s always amazing to see how far we’ve come.

    Anyways, I wish you the best in your battle with MS. I know some people that are fighting the same fight and have a glimpse of understanding of how rough it can be. I thought I’d stop by and let you know that I will include you in my prayers as well.

    Keep up the awesome poetry! And I do love your dog haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

