Demons of MS

Suffocating

A demon of MS has come to visit,
.
relentless fatigue wrapping its

ugly tendrils around my body

like bindweed, strangling, suffocating.
.
It appears to have brought its suitcase along;

I guess it will be sharing my room.

Perhaps if I refuse to feed it

it will go away.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 10:46:24

    A very good poem! You do metaphor very well 🙂

    Love and hug
    Ina

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 12:37:42

    Thank you Ina!

    Love and a hug to you too xx

    Reply

  3. Dean KLYM8xx
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 14:47:22

    Really Good 🙂
    i was lost in the story…………dont know big words BUT it was Great…..the tendrals winding its way round…thats spot on how it feels………A MEGA V SCONE AND CONSERVE AND COFFEE FOR BREKKIE TOMORROW 🙂
    (((((((HUGS 4U)))))))))) XXXXX

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 16:03:22

    Thank you Dean!
    A Mega scone sounds good even if it is a virtual one!

    (((HUGS)))
    to you too

    xx

    Reply

  5. tikarmavodicka
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 01:24:48

    Hi Christine,

    Your poem really bought out an empathy in me.Your metaphors for myself really made it . Maybe because I struggle with fatigue myself it helps but through your words I felt like I was able to feel a little of what you are experiancing.
    I thought this a really good poem. 🙂

    ((hugs))
    Tikarma
    xx

    Reply

  6. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 09:42:44

    Thank you Tikarma.

    As I keep saying I am only a beginner but it is great to be able to do something with how I feel and the poetry fills that space.

    Love and (((hugs)))

    Christine x

    Reply

  7. gonecycling
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 16:32:26

    Oh, this is great. That metaphor is spot-on, and the whole piece shows a lovely lightness of touch. It was about time this wonderful work saw the light of day – big kudos and thanks for choosing to share it with us.

    Reply

  8. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 16:56:49

    Thank you so much! It feels really weird having people comment, but I think I can get used to it!

    Christine x

    Reply

  9. Harry Nicholson
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 19:56:41

    The metaphors are full – this has the strength that poetry needs. You could try a version without ‘MS’ named as such, and see where it goes – it might become more universal.

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 11:07:13

    Thank you Harry.

    Coincidentally I was talking to someone else recently about the word “universal” relating to poetry, and I will have a look at this; thank you.

    However, if I do manage to make a more universal version of this, it is important for me to keep this one, as it was intended as a very personal poem for myself if that makes sense.

    Christine

    Reply

  11. jesusdiedandlives
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 23:09:14

    How beautifully written! How the mind knows! The feeding of MS – you know, you know! The toxin that causes MS is in our processed food and personal care products! Please see lists of products to avoid at http://jesusdiedandlives.wordpress.com You can heal and pray this demon away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

