Almost Falling

Almost Falling

 

I’m wondering how to pass the day

feeling down as I do.

I am bordering on self-pity,

a cosy place with chairs, a fire

and scented candles,

the promise of isolation.

 

Deep breath drawn in,

some minutes of quiet,

a few moments of reflection;

I can start to turn it round.

Today the sun shines,

I am alive,

and that is enough.

 

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 14:02:18

    Hi Christine,

    This is so wonderful, the poem says so much about the difficulties you are facing, and your determination not to feel pity for yourself. It must be tempting to give in to those feelings at times, but you say it so well: you are alive, the sun is shining (well… sometimes)
    I admire you for keeping a possitive outlook now this unfortunate condition came into your life. With your sense of humour, your friends and all people loving you (who wouldn’t love you ) it must work! And there will be moments when it is so hard, I think feeling a bit sorry for yourself should be okay … Don’t be too hard on yourself! Life already did that!

    I wish you to have that near shoulder for difficult times and give you a big Hug

    Love and take good care of yourself
    Ina

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:32:02

      Thank you Ina, for this lovely comment and for your love and support.

      Yes, I do allow myself to feel a little self pity now and again, as long as I guard it and put a time limit on it!

      On good days I can see how, in a way, the MS is enriching my life because, although I have always appreciated the simple things in life, I seem to have a deeper grasp on that now, and also I have met some very brave and lovely people.

      Love and (((BIG HUGS)))

      Christine x

      Reply

      • Ina
        Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:42:35

        🙂 I can imagine you have good days and worse. I hope you will be able to keep writing poems! It can give such satisfaction to see a piece of your own mind in poetry. 🙂 I wish I had your dog 🙂

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:36:42

      I am enjoying writing the poetry, I never thought I would e able to do anything like this!

      I love my dog, Jack. He is always there for me and catches me when I stumble (metaphorically, that is!) I doubt he could catch me, he’s not all that good with a ball!! Bless him. 🙂

      (((BIG HUGS AND LOVE)))

      Christine x

      Reply

  2. deano aka klym8
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 18:03:42

    AWWwwwwwww 1,(((((((((HUGS 4U))))))))) to let you know ur not alone in this rubbish time XXXXX
    AWWWWWWWW 2…lovely poem tet again……wish i knew just wot words to say…..but i think INA and DAVID have summed things up just right
    Love Ya Lots XXXX

    Reply

  3. Christine Moran
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:00:08

    “raising your head far enough to see the sun shining” That’s lovely. Thank you.

    Scented candles are a must! 🙂

    Love

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:11:30

    You know you are always welcome back David!

    xxx

    Reply

  5. Christine Moran
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:25:05

    Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

  6. tikarmavodicka
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 00:38:52

    Hi Christine,

    Almost Falling is a great poem demonstating strength. I really enjoyed it and took strength from it. 🙂
    I too recognise that place of self-pity. Having struggled with depression for many years some days it is very hard to see the bright side of anything. You expressed well the strength of rising above those feelings and thoughts that would allow you fall to a darker place.
    Being alive and recognising that gift is a good place to arrive at, especially when the sun too is shining, it is certainly enough. 🙂

    Thankyou for sharing what for me is a very uplifitng and encouraging poem.

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xxx

    Reply

  7. journeyintopoetry
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 11:22:33

    Thank you Tikarma.

    I too have suffered depression very severely and, of course, when I am in that place it takes much more than a poem to change it. However, on days which are low I know I am capable of doing something about it in order to break a possible spiral to begin.

    (((BIG HUGS))) to you too xx

    Reply

  8. Alia S
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 22:57:55

    With such purity as yourself, the sun will always shine. Thank you for sharing this and expressing it profoundly. After reading your poem, I dedicate “Brighter Than a Shooting Star” to you :).

    Reply

  9. journeyintopoetry
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 09:11:19

    Thank you for your kind comment, and for the dedication.

    I feel privileged.

    Christine xx

    Reply

  10. gonecycling
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 17:09:41

    ‘I am alive/And that is enough’. A thought to take with me today – and every day. Thank you.

    Reply

  11. Martin Shone
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 15:17:13

    Such a strong punch of emotion runs through this poem. Hold hands.

    Reply

  12. journeyintopoetry
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 16:17:45

    Thank you Martin, that is a lovely comment.

    Christine

    Reply

  13. The Background Story
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 06:30:52

    I am bordering on self-pity, a cosy place with chairs, a fire.

    Self-pity feels the same way for me. I get a sick kind of enjoyment out of it.

    But I love the last line. It’s a reminder that everyone needs. Every breath is a gift. 🙂

    Reply

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 14:00:22

    Thank you for your comment.

    I have to work hard to stay away from this place, it can become too tempting!

    Christine

    Reply

  15. leamuse
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 13:49:09

    Chere Christine, I love it all, save the scented candles. They wreck havoc with my allergies/asthma and do not make it easy to breath… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

