Beautiful Weed

Beautiful Weed

I applaud the ability to

hold a bud of words

and transform them into

an exotic blossom of language.

 

I see my writing more

in terms of a dandelion;

(no offence to this

humble weed),

 

whose modest flower

becomes a ball of tufted

fruits which, if blown far

enough to reach me,

may stay just long enough

to procreate.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martin Shone
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 15:35:17

    Fantastic image here, Christine. Whenever I blow a dandelion now I’ll see words floating along, must remember to carry a net and catch some.

    Reply

  2. Becoming herself
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 15:45:12

    I love Martin’s comment above!

    And you seriously underestimate your writing abilities! Ironically, this very lovely, but self-critical poem absolutely proves the opposite of its premise.

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 15:54:31

    This is a very lovely poem, may there be a meadow full of your beautiful dandelions!
    Love and a big hug! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Martin Shone
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 16:00:09

    I WANDER’D lonely as a cloud

    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

    When all at once I saw a crowd,

    A host, of golden dandelions;

    That’s better, I always thought there was something wrong with this poem 🙂

    Reply

  5. dribblingpensioner
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:37:19

    Lovely poem, i like this little bit “whose modest flower becomes a ball of tufted fruits”

    Reply

  6. tikarmavodicka
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 23:32:08

    Hi Christine,

    This is so lovely. Your imagery is so clear. You only prove your talents with this piece. I’m left with the impression of a sunny yet breezy day with the air full of dandelion seeds.
    Dandelions are a nuisance weed here, though I have photographed several flowers to keep before pulling them up. They are under valued too. They do have many uses in the realm of herbalism, and go rather well with burdock. 🙂 One’s weed is another’s medicine. 🙂
    I like the idea of seeds coming to rest in your creative soils. Very inspired. I have no doubt soon your garden of words will be overflowing with blooms. 🙂

    (((HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxox

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:46:18

      This is a lovely comment Tikarma, very thoughtful.

      I love to think of my “garden of words overflowing with blooms”

      I have come across a recipe for a Wild Green Smoothie containing dandelion leaves and sorrel, with blueberries and pears – not sure!!

      (((BIG HUG)))

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

      • tikarmavodicka
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 00:43:36

        🙂
        I’m glad I could leave you with you a pleasant image.

        What an interesting combination for a smoothie.
        The sorrel leaves me doubtful, though the other ingredients would certainly fit together. I suppose everyones taste is different. I’d personally skip the sorrel. 🙂

        (((BIG HUG)))
        Tikarma
        xoxox

  7. journeyintopoetry
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:37:49

    Thank you David, for this very meaningful comment.

    I shall blow some seeds your way to keep you smiling 🙂

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  8. gonecycling
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 09:23:46

    Cleverly and beautifully done – really liked this one.

    Reply

  9. Betty Hayes Albright
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 23:09:10

    Wonderful image – “a bud of words” – nice metaphor! (And I have a special love of dandelions. 🙂 )

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 11:08:23

    Thank you Betty!

    And thank you for reading my poems; you are giving me great encouragement.

    Christine

    Reply

  11. The Background Story
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 05:17:38

    I love dandelions! It’s a beautiful comparison you made here, dandelions and poetry. (=

    Added you back in the blogroll, btw. Thanks!

    Reply

  12. Christine Moran
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 11:26:54

    Thank you for your kind comment!

    Christine

    Reply

  13. jane tims
    May 04, 2012 @ 12:23:36

    Hi. I found your dandelion poem! It describes the process of developing a poem well! I like the idea of enclosing a ‘side-thought’ in a set of brackets. It makes the poem more personal. Jane

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 04, 2012 @ 12:58:53

      Thank you Jane! – The poem arrived in my head when it did as I had only just started writing poetry, knew nothing about it (and still don’t!!)
      And I had just emerged very tentatively onto WP and had come across so much really good poetry I felt mine wasn’t very good at all. But what I write comes from the heart and is in the first place written to help me; if others can benefit from or enjoy it too then that is a massive bonus.

      Christine 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

