Circle game

Thoughts on a 5th Anniversary

Confetti petals kissed the air.

He leapt on stage,
played guitar with the band
his new wife watching.

I danced the night away.

My soul now leads the dance
patient with its partner’s
faltering steps.

New life emerges and
the circle game moves on.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doug
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 08:59:44

    Nicely thought out and the leads the dance stanza is excellent.

    Regards

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2011 @ 10:25:29

      Thank you Doug, for your kind comment.

      This reflection was on my son’s wedding day. The images are vivid and many colours of emotions are woven through.

      I have no doubt at all that writing poetry is helping me immensely on my new and unexpected new journey.

      Christine

      Reply

  2. Martin Shone
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 15:40:07

    Hi, Christine, A nice thoughtful poem, lovely. I’m having a slight problem with the stanza

    My soul now leads the dance
    patient with its partner’s
    faltering steps

    Doug mentioned it and I agree to an extent in that the first line is perfect but I’m struggling a bit with the remainder.
    Now I’ve just been sitting here reading it over and over and I’ve just got it 🙂 (I’m thick, I know)
    What I was having trouble with is – dance/patient. I kept reading it as “dance partner with its partner’s…”, partner jumped out as the word to fit in even though it’s wrong and I couldn’t understand it. I’m quite dense at times.

    I’ll continue and post the comment.

    🙂

    Martin

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 15:45:31

    Thank you Martin

    You are not dense! I missed out a comma. Sorry for the confusion.

    Christine

    Reply

  4. Becoming herself
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 18:11:59

    Such a beautiful first line. I also love the move from physically ‘dancing the night away’ to your soul leading the dance (lovely image). Have you only just started writing poetry? Or is it that you’ve only just started to publish it?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2011 @ 10:46:52

      Hi,

      I started writing poetry about last September (2010), while awaiting my diagnosis.

      During that rather worrying time, David (belfastdavid) whom I have known for a number of years, suggested I might find writing poetry helpful. He had much more faith in me than I did at the time.

      I decided to listen to him and trust that there may be some truth in his suggestion. So I gave it a go and here I am, after telling him I would never let anyone read my poems!

      I can honestly say now that I don’t know what I would do without it; it is enriching my life in a way I could not have envisaged and I have also met all you wonderful people who keep on encouraging me.

      Life can be good whatever I am going through if I choose to allow it to be.

      Christine x

      Reply

      • Becoming herself
        Oct 02, 2011 @ 11:17:21

        Ah – David saw you had a poetic gift. How amazing that you write so beautifully and so definitely in your own voice when you have been writing for so short a time.

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2011 @ 11:49:35

      You have just given me another very encouraging comment.

      Thank you so much

      Christine x

      Reply

  5. Ina
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 08:04:39

    This poem has a mysterious beauty to me, the wedding and 5 years later woven into one moment in time somehow. Lovely!

    Love and a big hug! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2011 @ 10:52:17

      Thank you Ina!

      It is a day I will never forget and the pride when the groom (my son) jumped on stage and played – well!! LOL 🙂

      I am saddened by the fact that I can no longer dance but the good memories will always remain if I let them. And the new life is a great compensation somehow.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

  6. evocative embrace
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 04:06:49

    i love.love.love.love the first line…powerful yet soft…..delicate yet bold…
    – Namaste

    Reply

  7. tikarmavodicka
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 03:25:28

    Hi Christine,

    This is a most lovely and thoughtful poem. Your opening line is just so inspired. I love it! I could feel a pride in your first stanza and I can hear a deep breath in the third especially with the line “My soul now leads the dance…”

    Life can most surely deal us some pretty interesting and at times difficutl turns but as your last line says “the circle game moves on” Evertime it turns it gives us a chance to start afresh or build on what has come before.
    At least that’s what I took from your lovely poem.

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    Reply

  8. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 09:40:49

    Thank you Tikarma.

    Your lovely comment truly reflects the sentiments of the poem.

    I love your reference to my deep breath, which I can still feel!

    (((BIG HUGS TO YOU TOO)))

    Christine xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

