Awestruck

 

This poem was inspired by my 2 year old grandson.  I hope you can spot him; he is there in he middle of the picture!

Awestruck

He stands alone.

Around him tall slender

guardians point high

toward winter sky;

look down as tiny feet

kick discarded leaves.

So much to learn,

so much wonder,

so much time.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 17:00:00

    Hi Christine,
    what a lovely picture, this little boy all alone there, so brave!

    Love the poem, the way you picture his future, as there is so much to explore for him! And I can imagine you 2 kicking those leaves 🙂 that is great fun! Make some pictures to share when you do 🙂

    Love and hugs

    Ina

    Reply

  2. Becoming herself
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 06:10:39

    Call me bonkers, Christine (because I probably am), but this poem suggested several ideas to me: that not only is the little boy awestruck, but we are too (and we too have time, but maybe need reminding of that) – and further – that perhaps even nature (the trees/guardians) are awestruck and have something to learn from this small child. I love that you never use the word ‘trees’.

    Quite apart from all that, the poem just taken at face face value is lovely, written in your characteristically deceptively simple and straightforward style. It’s amazing how much meaning can be wrapped up in ordinary words if they are used skillfully enough (as do you).

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 16:50:13

    This is a lovely comment and very thoughtful, as are all your comments.

    And I don’t think you are bonkers at all! I think it is wonderful that you can meander through the poem (amongst the Autumn leaves!) and discover treasures beneath them that I didn’t see!

    Thank you!

    Christine x

    Reply

  4. tikarmavodicka
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 11:13:35

    Hi Christine,
    Awwww, what a beautiful memory to have captured in a photograph and a moment in time preserved just as sweetly in word.
    I like you description of the trees as guardians. It implies to me a warm wise safety surrounding your grandson.

    I love a good pile of Autumn leaves. 🙂 There something so joyful kicking up leaves on crisp Autumn day. 🙂
    There seems to be something special in looking towards the next generation and seeing the wonder and curiosity on their faces as they begin to explore and ask questions of the world.
    I try to keep a sense of child-like wonder in myself. Our own inner childs can revive us and reminder us that time and age are only shells.

    I really enjoyed this poem. It gave me a lot to positively contemplate. You have a very lovely way with your words. Thankyou for sharing such a sweet poem.

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoxo

    Reply

  5. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 12:15:39

    Hi Tikarma,

    Thank you for this truly lovely comment. 🙂

    I am pleased you enjoyed the poem, and I love your words “time and age are only shells” – lovely!

    (((BIG HUGS)))

    Christine xx

    Reply

  6. Tom Baker
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 15:10:57

    What a great poem and wonderful dedication. I can understand your modesty or or reserve but I would say you do have talent. Don’t let it go to your head (smile)!, but I do and the amount of comments you get suggest others feel the same way. I’m praying for you and your health. Thank you for coming by my site.

    Reply

  7. Christine Moran
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 16:11:55

    Thank you Tom, I am so pleased you came to visit, and for your very encouraging and heartfelt comment.

    I am busy thinking of which poem to send to you. I am almost too excited!!

    Christine

    Reply

  8. Betty Hayes Albright
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 23:03:20

    Lovely, sweet poem! (And I love the photo of your grandson that goes with it.) I just read your profile – all the best to you with your health, and I’m so glad you’ve decided to share your poetry with us! 🙂 )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

