Grief

Grief

Grief simmers;

gloopy, burping liquid

spitting pain.

Remove from heat

But it simmers and simmers

until the pot burns dry

and it is too late.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tom Baker
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:13:32

    I got pictures in my mind of the grim reaper for some reason after reading this. Grief is a necessary ‘evil’, I suppose.

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:20:36

    Thanks Tom.

    This was a reminder to self to let the grief flow and not resist; its healthy though doesn’t feel it at the time. Resisting only results in more pain.

    Christine

    Reply

    • sophie
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 13:09:04

      I don’t like feeling grief, but as you say it is better to let it flow, however painful!!! 😦
      I am constantly amazed at the varying subjects I grieve over, once upon a time I thought it was only ‘people who suffered losing a loved one’. How wrong I was! It has been and still is a long process of feeling the grief ‘until the pot burns dry. Without this depth of emotion in pain however I would not feel joy….and nowadays I feel joy too…. Thank you Christine. Beautiful poignant words. x

      Reply

      • journeyintopoetry
        Oct 16, 2011 @ 10:48:29

        Than you Sophie for this comment. Like you, I used to think that grief was simply a feeling for the loss of a loved one. How wrong we both were! It wasn’t until I came into recovery that I learned its significance for me on lots of levels.

        And I totally agree with you , joy is all the deeper for the pain we experience.

        Love and hugs

        Christine xx

  3. Sushant Kumar
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:28:15

    Nice piece.

    Reply

  4. Ina
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 13:13:48

    Hi Christine.

    This poem I can really feel, how grief, your grief, never seems to go altogether.
    As we get older, more grief piles up as more and more loved ones pass away, friends, parents, children, also more sad situations happen to grieve over.

    There seems to be a lot of death, grieving and some regret in my life as well and it is as if the loss is always with me, especially on what should be happy occasions. It can be too much at times, it can destroy you.
    This is what I read in the poem. I never realized grieve destroys parts of us, it is so true.
    I admire this methaphor, the liquid simmering, Maybe there should be an end to grieving then. Someone should turn off the fire! Time maybe healing, but not always I think. Love surely helps.
    I hope you will find ways to handle the the losses in your life and make the feeling bearable.
    This is a very good poem, it gives lots to think about!

    Big hug and love

    Ina

    Reply

  5. dribblingpensioner
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 14:37:00

    Lovely Christine, it does simmer in the back of your mind, and it has done since we lost our daughter 20 years ago.

    Reply

  6. Betty
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 19:50:13

    Great metaphor for what you’re expressing here. Well done… (and I know that simmering…….)

    Reply

  7. Doug
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:13:19

    tough subject and unfortunately universal. Always difficult to encapsulate, in a new way, the downside of the human condition. This works.

    Regards,
    Doug

    Reply

  8. Becoming herself
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:49:47

    Hi, Christine

    How well this down-to-earth imagery works! Short, but very powerful. ‘Spitting pain’ is so vivid. I very much like this poem for a second reason, too: it evokes for me how we go through what is sometimes extraordinary pain, while surrounded by the most mundane of objects and while doing the most mundane activities. Extreme emotion is usually experienced while the world goes on around us – putting the kettle on to boil while everything collapses around our ears. Your poem encapsulates all these things to me.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 16, 2011 @ 11:02:42

      Thank you BH.

      You hit the nail on the head for me with your kettle/emotion reference.
      I remember vividly he night my father-in-law died ,at his home, and while I was in floods of tears (my first experience of a death at home I was just 22 years old) the priest in attendance asked me to do just that, put the kettle on.

      Christine

      Reply

  9. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 10:53:26

    Thank you Ina, for this thoughtful comment.

    As I said to Sophie, it was only later in my life when I began to understand the deep and wider meaning of grief; now I understand it more it becomes a little easier to deal with.

    And I am sure you are right, love does surely help.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 11:06:14

    Thank you David for this encouraging comment.

    And you are right, the hug is really welcome; thank you.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  11. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 20:23:28

    Part of life I guess, can’t have one without the other.

    Reply

  12. Christine Moran
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 07:29:36

    Thank you Dennis for taking time to visit and comment.

    And what you say is simply the truth.

    Christine

    Reply

  13. tikarmavodicka
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 00:03:23

    Hi Christine,

    Your sentiments are direct, poignant and very powerful. I really felt the pain in your poem.
    Maybe in part because I’ve been burnt by spitting water, and yes, the pain level is just about right!
    I thought I’d had my fill of grief with a lost childhood and troubled youth until I lost my son and my health, 4 1/2 years ago. The simmering for me is his loss and how it changed my life. The life I might have had but will never know. Grief takes on so many forms. Not just in people, but I think regret is tied very closely to grief. All those could’ve beens, should’ve dones that weren’t can become a grief too.

    The pot burning dry, really conveyed for me the pain that grief can cause in your life.
    That said, in my experiance it is one of the ironies in life amongst many. Without the pain we would not appreciate the joy and happiness in our life or even seek to attatin it. Suffering brings us to a place of change that has the power to elevate us, if we let it.

    Your poem really got me thinking and feeling. I think this is a really good piece! 🙂

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  14. Christine Moran
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 10:17:10

    Thank you Tikarma, for such a moving comment and for having the desire and the courage to share it. It is humbling for me.

    And your wise words “suffering brings us to a place of change that has the power to elevate us, if we let it” are so true, as I have experienced. I consider myself blessed that I have been able to let it do just hat. I know many whose journeys have been sadly different.

    Thank you again for sharing this.

    (((BIG HUGS)))

    Christine xx

    Reply

  15. evocative embrace
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 04:05:55

    Hey Christine,

    using heat to explain grief evoked the essence of what grief does to our soul and bodies to me…awesome work

    sending you a warm embrace

    Reply

  16. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 19:56:18

    Very intense. But also beautifully expressed.

    Reply

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 10:44:29

    Thank you so much for your encouraging comment.

    Christine

    Reply

  18. The Background Story
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 09:05:51

    I feel this. Very powerful.

    Reply

  19. Christine Moran
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 13:06:45

    Thank you so much

    Christine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

