Star Gazing Essentials

“I love my dog
as much as he loves me”
Cat Stevens

Star Gazing Essentials

He sits alone
star gazing,
his almost perfectly
cream coat illuminated,
a fitting compliment
from the moon;
he is preparing a list.

*Wake at 5am, ablutions etc
*Breakfast (consequent wind)
*Supervise cat breakfast/

   clean dishes
*Firmly attach mud to all feet,

   trample through house
  (expect negative response)
*Feign fear of vacuum cleaner/
bin liner- possible biscuit
*Head on knee –gentle
bonding session
*2hr walk/several biscuits – bliss
*Expose/lick private parts
to coincide with visitor

*Dinner (further wind)
*Supervise cat dinner/
deal with leftovers
*Short walk/sniff/prowl
*Evening snooze/further bonding

*Request assistance to
oust cats from bed
*Note to self – in case of
burglars, offer tea
*Sleep

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:17:02

    I couldn’t get the indentations correct on some lines. I messed about with HTML etc etc then got fed up!

    Reply

  2. Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:26:26

    love the word play.

    🙂

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 14:56:36

    🙂 And he is so sweet as well! Lovely dog. I hope you will have him for many years to come! Offer tea to burglars lol that is a bit too sweet! But that is the breed I suppose!

    Hugs and love
    Ina

    Reply

  4. Christine Moran
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:16:40

    Thank you Ina!

    Yes, he is about as soft as they come, and you should see him with my 14 month old grandson,; patience just isn’t a strong enough word!
    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Reply

  5. Becoming herself
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 18:33:29

    I’ve read this several times today and it makes me smile every time. If there is an official anthology of writing about pets this should definitely be included. Funny and touching and full of affection.

    Reply

  6. tikarmavodicka
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 21:36:30

    😀 A gorgeous poem and what a lovely furry friend to have! A dogs’ life is I think the best life. 🙂 This reminded me of all the furry friends I’ve had over the years especially the mud on paws and making tea for burglars. I grew up with two Newfoundlands, big bears of companionship but hopeless at being remotely guard like. Every person is a potential playmate. *lol*
    It also reminded me how much I’m looking forward to having a dog again in the future.:-)

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  7. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 19:52:31

    It is your turn to make me smile. I was drawn into the magic in the first lines, and then was grinning ear to ear when I got to ‘he is preparing a list’.

    Keep writing, by all means! You have the talent and much to offer, both through your difficulties and also the joyousness of your spirit.

    Reply

  8. evocative embrace
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 02:36:25

    I love love love this!! dogs are the greatest…. Rock On!

    Reply

  9. evocative embrace
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 02:37:29

    Feign fear of vacuum cleaner/
    bin liner- possible biscuit

    – this makes me laugh out loud

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 10:42:18

    Yes, I agree, dogs are the best!

    I am pleased to have made you laugh out loud 🙂

    Christine

    Reply

  11. gonecycling
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 17:37:42

    Written like a true dog-lover. Another lovely piece, Christine – I sometimes wonder what goes through their tiny minds, and I think you’ve got it spot-on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

