Minor Migration Muddle

Minor Migration Muddle

Dancing dots in the distance

dizzy with confusion,

peppering pale, pewter sky.

I didn’t hear what he said, did you?

Was it this way or that?

  – It’s usually South

  – I’m not so sure

Instinct intact,

they are gone.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 13:58:46

    Hi Christine,
    they are all set to go South! 🙂 Geese are the most impressive I think.
    I love it the way you make them talk 🙂 and the “dizzy with confusion.” part.
    Love and hugs
    Ina

    Reply

  2. Martin Shone
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 14:19:32

    So that’s what they’re saying 🙂

    Great poem, Christine.

    Reply

  3. Betty
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 20:41:18

    Made me smile!! I always wondered what they’re honking about – now we know. 🙂 Love that one, Christine!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 25, 2011 @ 10:30:12

      Thank you Betty.

      As I said to Ina,animals always talk in my world! I have a long story about a fluffy pander that I made for my children but that’s for another time!!

      Christine

      Reply

  4. tikarmavodicka
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 22:23:46

    Hi Christine,
    🙂 This is lovely.
    We get a few flocks of migratory birds here although I think I may be too far south for yours. 🙂 It’s always amazing how they manage to navigate such vast distances.
    I like the uncertainly you’ve voiced. I’m sure some indeed get dizzy with confusion and geographically confused. 🙂

    I like this very much.

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 25, 2011 @ 10:33:06

      Thank you Tikarma.
      They looked as though they were bumping into each other, but I’m sure they weren’t that confused! They seemed happy enough when they flew off!
      (((HUGS)))

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

  5. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 23:13:52

    Birds – Nature’s navigators. Nice poem. 🙂

    Reply

  6. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 19:03:23

    I love this little poem-song imagining a dialogue between the geese. Fun but also profound, perhaps saying something about our human instincts too?

    Reply

  7. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 19:08:16

    Of course, it could be any migrating birds!

    And, by the way, bravo for the opening lines! The scene set, wonderfully visualized through a few finely chosen words.

    Reply

  8. Becoming herself
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 10:32:19

    Hi, Christine

    This reminds me of your poem ‘Awestruck’ in which you so effectively write about trees without actually using the word. You’ve used the same technique here and, again, it works so well. Dancing dots in the distance/dizzy with confusion is wonderful alliteration and so evocative.

    Humour and a lightness of touch too. I’ll always think of your description now when I see a flock of migrating birds. Dancing dots…

    Also, of course, the very subtle suggestion that maybe we should listen less to other people and follow our own instincts!

    Reply

  9. Christine Moran
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 13:03:14

    Thank you!

    This is a warming comment., and really encouraging too.

    And yes, the subtle suggestion was intended this time. I don’t usually manage that much but it just appeared here of its own accord!

    Christine

    Reply

  10. gonecycling
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 17:27:22

    Get it right every time, don’t they? A lovely piece, Christine – one after my own heart.

    Reply

  11. Poetry & Icecream
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 12:58:08

    I like the alliteration scattered throughout this poem. Well written 🙂

    Reply

  12. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 16:39:53

    Thank you!

    This is all very new to me but I am receiving so much encouragement on here I am beginning to have faith in myself.

    Christine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

