Neutral Dilemma

John Lewis Gorgeous Blossom Cushion, Multi

Neutral Dilemma

It may say something

about me,  the way I am;

I always resort

to brown and cream.

Maybe there is an

underlying fear of change,

the need to blend in,

go unnoticed, hide.

Or maybe I just like

cream and brown.

But change is  good;

I will buy a new cushion.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martin Shone
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 17:10:48

    Brilliant, Christine. One step at a time 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 17:39:09

    Hi Christine,
    This poem is lovely, because of it’s deeper meaning. Sticking to the familiar (brown and cream) seems the safe way, but every now and then a bit of change is a good idea, even neccessary, that is what I read here 🙂 Not only in home decorations, but also in important issues. Good luck in making big changes in slow steps (a cushion) . Brown and cream can be very elegant btw 🙂

    Love and big hug (from the person with the yellow grand foulard on the coach, we also have them in blue and green and change them every week or so 🙂 )
    Ina

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:07:44

      Hi Ina, thank you.

      I could learn from your weekly changing o f covers! I was smiling to myself this morning as I was making the bed, straightening the cream and brown bedding! *sigh*.

      But yes, this was about making small changes to facilitate the bigger ones in life

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

      • Ina
        Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:17:05

        We only have those covers to cover the fact the coach is an over-aged hand-me-down 🙂 Well it was new when we got it from someone for free, but through the years, cats have had their ways with it. The comfy sit makes us keep it 🙂

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:24:37

      You made me smile this morning Ina!

      And I know exactly what you mean about cats having their ways on the furniture!

      Love and hugs xx

      Reply

  3. sophie
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 18:37:19

    such a beautiful meaningful poem Christine…..I must say I love a splash of colour….!!! but I totally relate to the brown’s and creams, it’s also easy, too!!! and change well I think the splash of colour I wear probably tells a story….I don’t have a home right now that I can put my stamp on but one day I will and I bet it will tell a story of Sophie and Sophie’s world……..!!! I hope you do go and get a new colourful cushion!! enjoy!!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:13:31

      Hi Sophie,

      Thank you for this lovely comment, your thoughts are always appreciated.

      I am sure your eventual home will be full of beautiful colour!

      I sent you a private message on fb, I don’t know if you have seen it. I know I have to check mine as fb has stopped sending me emails to let me know I have received one.

      And I have bought the cushion – the one in the picture!

      Love and hugs

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

  4. dribblingpensioner
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 19:08:31

    The need for change is in us all Christine, colours or otherwise.

    So can we swap blogrolls as i tinker with poetry now 🙂 of a different kind.

    Reply

  5. Betty
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 05:41:01

    I can so identify with this – love the way you express it, Christine – as a metaphor, and literally. Nicely done!!

    Reply

  6. Becoming herself
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 06:59:05

    Very good! I very much like the way you almost talk yourself out of making changes (as we all do), by coming back to, ‘Or maybe I just like cream and brown’. It could have ended there so easily (the poem and the possibility of change) but you’re determined not to let that happen. The last two lines absolutely sum that up.

    Now I’m pondering the title of the poem…

    Reply

  7. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 09:20:32

    Hi BH,

    Thank you for your comment; I do find change of any kind difficult but I am getting better at it.

    The title bothered me too so I have changed it – for the better I think.

    Christine

    Reply

  8. tikarmavodicka
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 23:18:11

    Hi Christine,

    This is a lovely poem. It brings a smile and the deeper meaning of change and how important it is to our lives is not lost.
    A splash of colour, a small step. I suppose all facets of our lives mirror each other to certain degrees. That we notice the lesson I guess is the biggest part it all.
    I personally am not cream and brown person more black and blue, but I learnt a little red and green are nice too. 🙂
    I hope you enjoy your cushion. I can imagine you smiling each time you pass it. 🙂

    (((HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 10, 2011 @ 10:39:12

      Thank you Tikarma.

      “That we notice the lesson” I think is very true.

      I had to smile when you mentioned green and red. For the first time ever I have bought a red cardigan! I bought it online and it has arrived this morning. I haven’t opened it yet. I will let you know!!

      And I have to say I keep going into the room where the cushion is especially to look at it! It gives me a warm feeling.

      (((HUGS)))

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

  9. evocative embrace
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 01:30:07

    change is great

    Reply

  10. The Background Story
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 17:40:20

    I love how you talk about something really profound and in the end it’s just a cushion, but it really isn’t just about a cushion, if you think about it. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 20:49:44

    Our colour choices say something about us I guess, I’m kind of a beige person myself, kind of conservative, but a bit of a change now and again is good too.

    Reply

  12. gonecycling
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 21:49:04

    I can identify with every line, Christine – this is a simply wonderful poem. And a new cushion sounds an excellent idea: unfortunately, I just keep buying bicycles…

    Reply

  13. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 14:06:37

    Thank you Nick!

    I can just picture you trying to plump up (not pump!) the bicycles! On the other hand I could try riding the cushions – shut up Christine!

    Christine

    Reply

  14. bardessdmdenton
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 20:21:04

    Hi Christine! Oh, I have to catch up here…thought I had subscribed to your blog but guess not. Well, now I am!

    Neutral Dilemma–wonderful title! I love the unburdened deliberation in this poem…you consider a little therapy on yourself without being too serious about it.

    I think you are very content with the maybes of yourself. They are, after all, more balanced and open than absolutes.

    (That cushion does offer some interesting color combinations…)

    Reply

  15. Laurel's Reflections
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 00:11:52

    Ah, what a delightful little poem! I found myself retreating to the easy calm of creams and browns in decor, blacks and whites and greys in clothing, and have found it immensely liberating on all sorts of levels to start reclaiming colour in my life. It is a slow journey, one step at a time, but I find that each beautiful new thing makes me actively, smilingly happy in a way that satisfactory elegance doesn’t come close to touching.

    Of coourse it is much harder finding things that match now!

    Enjoy the cushion; I hope it makes you smile often.

    Reply

  16. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 12:46:41

    Thank you for this lovely comment!

    You always put so much thought into your comments and they are really appreciated and also very encouraging.

    When I told my daughter about the cushion and my need for change and colour in my life she said “Keep it sane, mum”! She knows me so well! But as you say the “maybes” are more balanced than “absolutes” I just need to remind myself about that word “balance” sometimes!

    Christine

    Reply

  17. Trackback: Announcing 2011 Soul-Song Awards « One-In-Creation

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

