Soft Reunion

 

Soft Reunion

 

It couldn’t possibly be you.

But then why not?

Forty years concertinaed

into a moment.

 

You were choosing

tomatoes, massaging

smooth firm skin

with caring fingers;

I was pretending to

look at grapes.

 

You had left a note

in my desk at school,

denied it later,

but I saw you.

 

Your voice appeared,

muffled, like I was

semi-conscious.

Hi ,how good to see you”.

 

I froze, was trembling

locked in girlish stare.

Then came the smile;

oh my goodness,

that smile.

 

Your arms embraced me,

soft curious and tender,

years of wishful thinking.

Then you gave me

the tightest possible

forty year long hug.

 

I was still holding the grapes.

 

 

 

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 12:19:52

    Gorgeous!!! You describe the most wonderful encounter. Loved it! 🙂

    Reply

  2. David Francis Barker
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 12:32:29

    This is just lovely! And so… honest? I can almost imagine the grapes being squeezed, too!

    Reply

  3. Betty
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 05:49:28

    Resonating with this – (those are the best hugs – so poignant!)

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 09:43:24

    Thank you Betty – it.s a moment

    Thank you Betty – it is a moment to be remembered!

    Christine

    Reply

  5. Ina
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 12:49:57

    Hi Christine,
    This is a great poem, and what a lovely reunion! 🙂 To meet someone from way back is special, and this one was even more so! 🙂 Juicy ending too!

    Love and Hugs
    Ina xx

    Reply

  6. Christine Moran
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 12:59:00

    Thank you Ina!

    Your comment “juicy ending too” made me smile out loud! 🙂

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Reply

  7. Harry Nicholson
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 20:26:52

    That is just beautiful, Christine. Simple words of deep love..

    Reply

  8. bardessdmdenton
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 22:00:12

    This is a quite exquisite poem, Christine. I feel this is your voice…simple yet intense sharing of a moment in time. Love this!

    Especially this visualization:
    ‘You were choosing
    tomatoes, massaging
    smooth firm skin
    with caring fingers;
    I was pretending to
    look at grapes.’

    Reply

  9. tikarmavodicka
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 00:07:45

    Hi Christine,

    I just adore this poem. You’ve woven such a sweet tenderness through your images (must be the grapes! 🙂 )
    I can see so clearly this journey through time and what a wonderful way to recieve a hug! I’m somewhat humbled by the line ” …forty year old hug…”
    I’m only 33! EEp! *lol* I can’t comprehend that time frame. *lol* But it makes me hopefully some day I will and I’ll have as sweet a memories as this. 🙂
    I’m left all warm and fuzzy after reading your beautiful poem.
    Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

    love and
    ((((BIG HUGS))))
    Tikarma
    xxoxoxo

    Reply

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 10:32:03

    Aww, thank you Tikarma – It’s lovely to think I can make you feel “all warm and fuzzy”.

    I could say “EEp” too – two of my children are a little bit older than you!!!!! My youngest daughter is only 25 though so I can use her to make me feel a bit younger!!

    “I can’t comprehend that time frame” – I can’t either!! But memories are everlasting and precious. I never did date the person in the poem, just admired the view from a distance! – makes you wonder doesn’t it, “what if” etc etc. LOL

    Thank you for your lovely comment

    Love and
    (((BIG HUGS))) to you too

    Christine xx

    Reply

  11. Fergiemoto
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 22:03:18

    A very sweet and tender poem about a wonderful encounter! So simple yet so poignant and lasting. Really nice!

    Reply

  12. Thomas Davis
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 02:21:35

    What a wondrous poem! All of your poetry sings with a directness and clean line that is refreshing. This is no different, although perhaps a little more squishy. New love echoed through forty years to, what? New love?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 09, 2011 @ 08:40:53

      Thank you Thomas; your comment made me smile! “Squishy” sometimes feels necessary!!

      Although there was never any relationship here at all! Nothing more than a note in the desk and my fear to take it any further. (We were only 14!) The hug was about what might have been, I feel, after both pursuing our separate lives.

      Christine

      Reply

  13. The Background Story
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 04:20:37

    I wonder how it feels to have lost something and find it again after so many years.

    Reply

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 08:47:32

    Thank you for your comment.

    As I said to Thomas there was nothing here to lose really, but yet a great reunion, at last being able to at least acknowledge the original act of the note in the desk!
    And a moment to think, possibly, of what might have been.

    Christine

    Reply

  15. belfastdavid
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 13:25:57

    Oh, I love this.

    One of those special moments in time which, if we didn’t write about them, would perhaps be lost for ever.

    Much Love

    David
    xxx

    Reply

  16. gonecycling
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 13:57:38

    This is wonderful, Christine – your lovely line about ‘pretending to look at grapes’ captures so well that adolescent awkwardness we thought we’d overcome, but always comes back to bite us in these situations (or maybe that’s just me?!) One of your best works to date, IMHO. N. x

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 09, 2011 @ 17:35:59

      Thank you Nick.

      What a lovely comment; you paid me a big compliment here. it is much appreciated.

      And it’s not just you; it certainly “comes back to bite us”!! I think it always will.LOL:)

      I had to “google” IMHO! – I am learning so many acronyms since I came onto facebook and here on WP. The mere using of these makes me feel like a teenager again! It;s a teenagey sort of thing don’t you think?:) Almost like writing in code, which, now I remember, is what the note in the desk suggested we do so nobody would know what we were saying to each other!!!!!!!! I don’t believe I just remembered that!! LOL

      Christine!

      Reply

  17. Becoming herself
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 16:36:42

    I love the title of this poem and the final line, too. This played in my head like a scene from a film as I read it – you write so directly and vividly.

    Reply

  18. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:44:40

    Thank you BH, for your heartwarming comment

    Christine

    Reply

  19. thoughtsontheatre
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:35:29

    Wonderful imagery. I adore the last line.

    Reply

  20. Jane Thorne
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:35:13

    Christine, I love this poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

