Being Real – Being Me

Being Real – Being Me

She’s so brave,
I can hear them say,
never complains,
always a smile on her face.

They are not talking
about me.

They are talking about
someone whose
disabilities are far more
debilitating than mine.

I am not so brave;
I do complain;
I don’t always have
a smile on my face.

But I do my best
and that’s enough.

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adult Satires
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 09:42:43

    Nice template for your blog πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. granbee
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 11:24:40

    Poeticjourney,journeying,journeying: your best is marvelous!

    Reply

  3. Christine Moran
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 11:34:14

    Thank you Granbee, for your encouraging comment! It’s much appreciated.

    Christine x

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:58:42

    David, thank you.

    This comment has brought a tear to my eye.

    I think I needed to post this to help me do just that – “put away the big stick”

    You continue to be a tremendous support – thank you.

    Love you to bits too

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  5. Jane Thorne
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 13:30:04

    Christine please don’t be so hard on yourself as I am sure you do your best and your best is more than good enough…keep trucking and being as lovely as you are – Jane

    Reply

  6. The Background Story
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 13:41:23

    I think that’s the most we can all hope for, to be able to do our best.

    Happy new year, Christine. Glad to see you have a new poem in time for the new year. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Linda Willows
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 14:02:44

    I admire your honesty with your feelings when writing, we often need a way to speak from all parts of our heart, even those that other may find more difficult to hear. Say it All! You are so clearly full of Love and Life to share. Your friends see all of you and cheer you on. There is a beautiful wisdom here. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 15:16:12

      Linda,

      I thought I had replied to this so apologies if it eventually appears twice! They sometimes seem to disappear!

      Thank you for your heartfelt comment. It is very, very much appreciated.

      I have always been too good at giving myself a hard time. It is so easy to do but quite destructive. I am getting better though!

      Christine

      Reply

  8. Martin Shone
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 17:34:54

    Doing our best is what makes us, Christine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. df barker
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 18:21:21

    I’ve heard it said (somewhere) that truth and beauty are the same. Your honesty in this piece is both truthful and beautiful. Honesty can be a rare commodity these days, so much so, that when we see it, hear it, it arrests us, makes us think. Christine, this makes me think.

    Reply

  10. dribblingpensioner
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:13:36

    Christine as a few have said, beating yourself up does no good, stop giving yourself a hard time, please.

    Reply

  11. rumpydog
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:04:53

    Ya know, I so get it. It’s not about being brave. That’s some unreachable bar that somebody else set. I think your doing your best is all that is expected. I have my own troubles and I, too, only do my best. Some days my best isn’t very good in others’ eyes. Oh well.

    Reply

  12. poeticjourney
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:46:02

    Beautiful poem, I can understand or should I say feel where you coming from. I llive with illness, and some days or just rough but to have the strength to carry on and let you words tells it. The title fit the post just right, don’t be so hard on yourself. God Bless πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Thomas Davis
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:53:06

    Are you beating yourself up in this poem, Christine? I have had Charcot Marie Tooth all of my life, and I feel much the same way this poem is saying the poet does. I try to face each day with a disposition that spreads sunshine, but I do not always succeed:
    “But I do my best”
    and that is enough. To me that statement is a statement of courage. There is much in life, especially if you have a handicap or are facing pain, that is difficult. Still, if you can get other people to say
    “She’s so brave,
    I can hear them say,
    never complains,
    always a smile on her face.”
    Then that’s an inner victory even if it is not fully true and that person is not really you. Your inside voice is complaining, and you are not always smiling, but in the end you are facing the world in a way that shows a brave face.
    In the end what you are facing is not easy to face, but by posting poetry and showing your inner soul to the world and getting people to see you as they see you, you have a courage deeper than MS and what anyone might or might not think and even the voice in your head, and in this courage you deserve to be saluted.

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Jan 05, 2012 @ 09:59:40

      Thomas,

      This is a truly beautiful comment, so encouraging for me because yes, you are correct, I am beating myself up in this poem. It is something I wish I wasn’t so good at. It wastes energy and is totally unproductive but I do it.

      I had never heard of your condition (I learn so much here) it sounds horribly debilitating and I can empathise with that part.

      “You have a courage deeper than MS” is a lovely sentiment which will carry me through my day.

      Thank you Thomas

      Christine

      Reply

  14. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 03:11:29

    Christine, I so agree with what Thomas and others have said!
    For those of us with chronic health problems (I have chronic back pain and severe fibromyalgia and can relate to your poem) all we can do is our best. And that’s HARD sometimes…. but you do a wonderful job with your cheerfulness here and your wonderful poetry. You always delight me and give me a lift – the gift of your Presence here is more valuable than you can ever know. And like Thomas, I salute you!!! Hugs to you from across the miles, Christine!

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Jan 05, 2012 @ 10:08:00

      Betty,

      Thank you so much for this wonderful comment. It has rendered me quite tearful.

      I can empathise with you regarding the debilitating effect our various conditions can have upon us. I have a friend who suffers with fibromyalgia and some days she has to totally give in to it and do nothing but stay in bed. I see the pain in her face.

      I really feel so blessed to have met all you lovely people here on WP. You inspire and encourage me and spread lots of joy and fun too. I’m so glad I took the plunge on here – I very nearly didn’t. What I would have missed!!!

      Christine xx

      Reply

  15. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 11:48:12

    Good on you Christine, keep up the poetry. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. Angela
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 12:41:47

    Christine, I find it difficult to add anything new to the comments above, only underscore them with love. Your poem is beautiful. You are beautiful. Blessings to you.

    Reply

  17. Christine Moran
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 13:10:20

    Thank you Angel(a) for this beautiful comment.

    It has given me a warm, cared for, feeling

    Christine x

    Reply

  18. Ina
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 13:21:34

    Hi Christine,
    your honest poem says it already! Doing your best is enough! Complaining once in a while is okay I think (I hope, as I am a complainer myself lol)
    Being real is what matters.
    So stay real! xx Love and hugs!
    Ina

    Reply

  19. Christine Moran
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 13:51:54

    This is a lovely comment Ina, thank you!

    I’m pleased you had a good birthday!1

    Love and hugs

    Christine

    xx

    Reply

  20. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:22:48

    Hi Christine! I think that your honesty shows self-awareness which is a very good thing especially as you share it so beautifully, offering pause for thought. Certainly it made me hesitate in ‘my issues’ today–so I am more grateful, not only for my relative good health, but also for knowing such a wonderful enduring spirit as yours. And realize that the size, the shape, the shade, the age or condition of our bodies is not who we are.

    I bet that beautiful buddy by your side in your picture thinks you are the best!

    Blessings and hugs, Diane

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 13:45:58

      Thank you Diane for such a wonderful comment.

      “And realise that the size, the shape, the age or the condition…” – these words of yours are so true and I know them in my head; it’s moving them into my heart that I find difficult.

      And yes, my beautiful buddy does think I’m the best – he hears all the complaints and loves me anyway!! LOL πŸ™‚

      Blessings and (((HUGS))) to you too.

      Christine

      Reply

  21. tikarmavodicka
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:01:34

    Hi Christine,

    This really is a beautiful poem. As so many have said its honesty and your courage even to be so honest. It creates a strength I think, and that is what I take away from this poem, strength.

    As so many have said you shouldn’t beat yourself up. You are only human and we are all prone to those days where we just go “enough already!”
    Even though my cyclothymia and PTSD aren’t anywhere near the challenge of MS I do relate. I focus so much energy on “being normal” and trying to make sure my thoughts and feelings don’t encumber my daily life, but still I have days or a week even where everything falls to pieces and I can’t seem to get it together.
    What matters is what you put outward to the world I think.
    When I look at you and what you write I see courage and strength and an indominatble spirit to continue to enjoy life and make the most of it.
    That’s gives others such as myself strength to keep on trying.
    But… (you know there is always a but! πŸ™‚ ) when you have a bad day or week it doesn’t take away from the postive you try to generate in your own life and put into the world. Not one bit. If anything we can all take a collective deep breath and know we are human and some days….well thank goodness for hope and the promise of tomorrows. πŸ™‚

    You are stronger and give strength with your honesty about your struggles.

    Thank you again for sharing this wonderful poem.

    with much love and
    extra (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 13:53:13

      Tikarma,

      This is a truly heartwarming comment and I thank you so much for it. You always put so much thought and love into what you say – I am learning a great deal from you.

      I think your “collective deep breath” is a very good place to start my 2012.

      With much love to you too
      and many (((HUGS)))

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

  22. triciabertram
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 00:03:23

    Christine I love and relate to this poem. There is an honesty, an authenticity that reaches into the core of me. I don’t see it as beating yourself up, I see it as you telling the truth as you are living it. And in the end you acknowledge that you’re doing your best, and you give yourself credit for that.

    I have immense admiration for individual truth. Sometimes pain, illness and disability suck, and this is a truth that needs to be told. I admire you for bringing this into the open.

    Reply

  23. Christine Moran
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 13:58:30

    Thank you so much Tricia.

    I was beating myself up when I wrote this, but actually what you have said has made me think again and I have re-read read my poem in a different light. Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I feel more positive as a result of it.

    Christine xx

    Reply

  24. evocative embrace
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:59:58

    this poem and your other poetic works are brave to me….when you know the kind of peace that your last lines show…you know real peace..much love to you.

    Reply

  25. Christine Moran
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 19:00:17

    Thank you so much for this lovely comment. It is so much appreciated

    Love to you too x

    Christine x

    Reply

  26. Fergiemoto
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:26:19

    I get it and I can soooo relate.

    Reply

  27. Eve Redwater
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 10:31:08

    So honest, and that’s why I love it. We can only strive to be ourselves, but sometimes even doing that is harder than we first expect. A humbling poem, and beautiful to boot! Thank you for sharing with us. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  28. gonecycling
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 11:01:01

    If as (I think) Victor Hugo said, ‘Courage is not the absence of fear, but the mastery of it.’ I think you’re doing pretty darned well. A deceptively simple poem that packs a real punch – I love it. And never forget we’re all rootin’ for you.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 13:14:26

      Nick,

      This is a lovely comment and I thank you for it most sincerely.

      And I love the quote – it is so true!

      There is another favourite related quote of mine from a daily meditation book I have which reads “Courage is fear that has said its prayers”. Two different quotes but I feel bringing us to the very same conclusion.

      Christine x

      Reply

  29. Caddo Veil
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 19:45:30

    Bravo, Christine–when we do our best, it is more than many can see (and more than many others do); it is Huge! Sending you hugs from one who also does her best (and complains some days). God bless you abundantly today, and always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

