Today’s Plan

 

Today’s Plan

Today’s plan is simple;

I will sleep,

though I may wake briefly

to hiss at sibling,

oh, and for food, of course.

And maybe for an

occasional miaow

just to be appealing.

But best of all I will wake

to stick a back leg in the air,

spread the other far and wide

and wash my bottom,

but only if it’s worth it,

say, if there’s a visitor.

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 11:59:43

    This post may be a little mis -timed as I am having cataract surgery tomorrow and may be slow with comments, but I felt like a bit of fun before the operation!!

    Christine

    Reply

  2. triciabertram
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 13:56:36

    Christine this made me laugh out loud.
    Good luck with the surgery
    Hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

  3. Christine Moran
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 14:02:18

    Thank you Tricia!

    I am a little nervous now but I’m sure all will be well

    (((Hugs))) to you too

    Christine x

    Reply

  4. Ina
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:33:04

    Hi Christine,
    this is lovely! You really captured the ways of the Felix Domesticus! LOL the last lines made me laugh out loud. Did you make the picture with the new- new camera? What a nice looking cat! They are so good in sleeping! Wish I had one again…

    I can imagine you being a bit nervous now, but just think, tomorrow this time all will be over! And in a while, you will be able to see a lot better! Have a good night sleep if possible and take your time after the surgery. Will you be staying overnight there, or can you go home after the operation?

    Good luck, will be thinking of you, love and big hugs {{{ Christine }}}

    Ina

    Reply

  5. Christine Moran
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:43:37

    Hi Ina’

    Thank you!

    The picture is one I took last year with my old camera before I dropped it and ruined it!

    The first and only picture I have on my new one is taken through the window and is of a watering can on its side blown over by the wind!! LOL. I may put it on fb next week for a bit of fun!

    Thank you for your good wishes – I will let you know when I am back; I don’t have to stay in overnight so that is good.Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Reply

  6. dribblingpensioner
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 18:44:25

    And the cat told you all that, i like.

    Reply

  7. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:24:51

    As a cat person myself, this made me smile, Christine – especially those last lines. You certainly are a good kitty mind-reader!

    Good luck with the surgery – I’m sure all will go well. They do great things these days with cataract surgery. (Is it just coincidence you wrote about your cat just before CATaract surgery? 🙂 )

    Will look forward to your return!!!

    Reply

  8. df barker
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 19:32:37

    Ahh! I see cats fascinate you too! This is lovely.
    I’m sure the operation will go just fine.
    Kindest regards

    Reply

  9. Fergiemoto
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:28:44

    Nice to have a bit of fun and a laugh. Best wishes on the eye surgery!

    Reply

  10. Angela
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 23:08:23

    Cuuuuuute!!!! Best wishes, love and light to you Christine – sending you healing energies and peaceful recovery wishes.

    Reply

  11. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 09:32:15

    Thank you Angel(a)

    This is much appreciated and I will take your wishes with me into my day.

    Christine

    Reply

  12. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:13:57

    Oh, Christine! This is beautifully written and as the English say, “spot on!”

    One of my four paws was exhibiting this exact pose as I left for work this morning. Other than ‘entertaining’ (or annoying…though I don’t have many of ‘those kind’ in my house!) visitors, this pose is a great way to complement human dining.

    The photo…a caption that comes to my mind…’You’re taking my picture for what?’

    Animals are the best for lifting our spirits, even as they are doing nothing more than being themselves. Perhaps exactly because of that!

    Reply

  13. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:25:13

    I tweeted this, Christine to spread the smiles!

    Reply

  14. granbee
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 21:39:16

    Just a perfect poem to capture our favorite feline behaviors! I am chuckling so much I can scarcely type this comment! Anyway, my Fluffy seems to act on the mantra: “If you’ve got it, flaunt it!” I must say, she does this a tad more appropriately than some of our current “stars”!

    Reply

  15. rumpydog
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 23:05:44

    ROFL! I think June Buggie could have written that poem.

    Reply

  16. tikarmavodicka
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 00:33:10

    Hi Christine,

    This poem is just an absolute delight! You’ve captured the feline spirit perfectly I think! 🙂 I was smiling all the way to the end and nodding my head.
    My cat used to be very similar to this except with cleaning and visitors. Except for a couple of visitors, he would hear the car in the driveway and take off. He was no entertainer! 🙂

    Thankyou for sharing such a fun and joyful piece.:-)
    I’ve been thinking of you. I’m sure your surgey will go well and my best wishes that the healing is quick and you regain your vision quickly too.

    with much love
    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxxoxox

    Reply

  17. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 05:31:52

    It’s a cat’s life, hope the surgery went well. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Eve Redwater
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 10:27:18

    How sweet! A tantilising view into the daily life of the ever-grooming kitty. I really like the ending too. 🙂 Great work!

    Reply

  19. The Background Story
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 11:15:01

    Ah to live the life of a cat! How wonderfully happy and contented they are. ❤

    Funny yet very thoughtful poem, Christine. 🙂

    Reply

  20. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:19:27

    Thank you David

    As you know already it all went well.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 01:51:36

    You have got the cat down great! That’s how they are. Ethel

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 01, 2012 @ 08:44:15

      Thank you Ethel for reading my “cat” poem!

      I think they are the most fascinating creatures and both mine give me endless joy!

      And they get on great with my dog too, but they take advantage of his gentle nature when they both snuggle down in his bed and he gets he floor!

      Christine

      Reply

  22. Francina
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 18:19:14

    Delightful poem! Your poem fits my cat too well! Thank you for the smile your words brought 🙂 Ciao, Francina

    Reply

  23. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 19:46:21

    Thank you francina!

    Your comment is very much appreciated

    Christine x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

