The Fall and the Photograph

The Fall and the Photograph

Silver spines of hoar frost
cover unsuspecting garden
in a web of lace,
a rare sight this winter;
shouts for attention to be
captured in a moment,
click of finger,
recorded forever.

But the world
has turned sideways,
plant pots at eye level,
empty snail house,
opted for warmer
climes perhaps,
hairy spider
raising his hat –
too close for comfort.

Falling can be helpful,
makes you pause, see,
connect.

I drag myself up,
apologetic dignity
restored,
dust myself down,
and amidst
startled blue air,
click the shutter.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 18:11:05

    Hi Christine,

    what a wonderful poem! πŸ™‚ I already loved the first bit for the beauty of your poetical language, and then as the poem gets to the moment of the painfull fall, and the rise again, you manage to surprise with your clever observations. The result, the lovely pic of Jack πŸ™‚ and a poem with self humour and a deeper meaning. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Love and hugs xx
    Ina

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 12:28:40

      Thank you Ina,

      This is a really lovely comment!

      I can assure you the poetical language at the beginning ook on a slightly different mood towards the end!! LOL πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

  2. sophie
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 18:42:05

    I think it is quite amazing that out of adversity this beautiful poem arises….You truly are an inspiration….love Jack too….can’t wait to have a dog of my own….again….!! Thank you for your friendship Christine….lots of love xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 12:35:49

      Hi Sophie,

      It’s good to hear from you, and I really appreciate your feedback on my poems!
      This is a lovely comment.

      And thank you for your friendship too. We may not see each other much but I feel we have a strong connection in all sorts of ways.

      Keep on doing what you are doing a day at a time and all will be well; you are among god friends.

      Love

      Christine

      xx

      Reply

  3. gonecycling
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 19:59:24

    Like I said: ‘courage, energy and wit’. I especially like ‘startled blue air’ – that’s real poetry, that is. A delightful piece, as ever. (Hope you didn’t hurt yourself!) N.xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 12:39:14

      Nick, what a lovely comment, thank you so much!

      I acquired a few painful injuries, unfortunately, and all the more because I was hell bent on saving my camera rather than myself! Strange human beings aren’t we? Well – strange me anyway!! LOL:)

      Christine x

      Reply

  4. triciabertram
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 21:32:29

    “the world has turned sideways” love this, and I love that you viewed this sideways world for a moment then turned it right back again.
    Wonderful poem Christine
    Hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

  5. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 00:13:01

    Christine, I love it that you keep your sense of humor and your resolve through such difficult moments.This is a great photo you captured – the fall didn’t stop you from sharing your talent – you inspire me!!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 12:49:46

      Thank you very much Betty.

      It has been said of me that I can be both determined and stubborn (two sides of the same coin I think), and whichever I used this time, there was no way, after all that tumbling and “ouching”, that the photograph was not going to be taken!! πŸ™‚

      Christine x

      Reply

  6. dfb
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 10:22:34

    Christine, this is very nice and perhaps a way of ‘helping’. Well done. Can’t wait for the spring though…

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 12:53:55

      Thank you David.

      The frost was very appealing, it being so rare, so the picture had to be taken. I just hadn’t counted on the “accessories” that went with it!

      As you say, “roll on spring”

      Christine

      Reply

  7. belfastdavid
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 11:49:13

    This is an absolutely terrific poem.

    And although I was aware of the story – having had a text at the time – I found myself enchanted by the way you tell the story in the poem.

    Like Nick I thought ‘startled blue air’ was a wonderful phrase – one I wish I had written!!

    And I bet you scared the s**t out of that spider!!!

    Take care of yourself – it is still slippy outside today

    Lots of love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 13:09:15

      What a really lovely comment David, thank you! You know how much I value your feedback.

      Oh no! – Poor spider; I hadn’t seen his side of it. I might seek him out and apologise – or not! LOL :):) I do like spiders but only from a distance πŸ™‚ I wonder if they like me?!! – I’m babbling :):):)

      Lots of love

      Christine

      xxx

      Reply

  8. The Background Story
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 16:36:50

    Do you do photography, too, Christine? The reason I ask is because I think a passionate photographer could have written this poem. So I suspect you are one!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 11:22:21

      Thank you!

      I guess when I take a photograph I am doing photography. But not in the way I think you mean! I have just acquired my second camera ( first one broke during another fall!) This one is more sturdy and needs to be with me as its owner!
      I am definitely not a passionate photographer! I am just determined/stubborn! LOL πŸ™‚

      Christine

      Reply

  9. Becoming herself
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 16:58:28

    …and I, too, love ‘startled blue air’. Wonderful line!x

    Reply

  10. Fergiemoto
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 20:17:51

    A very moving poem! It shows determination. Very nice!

    Reply

  11. granbee
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:12:01

    How often we creative types do “fall” into something beautiful. One of my most successful posts last month was written when I had had no sleep for about 36 hours! I think removing the higher cognitive power from the equation help us utilize the resources stored in our souls much better, don’t you?

    Reply

  12. tikarmavodicka
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 02:21:50

    Hi Christine,

    This is so endearing and relatable. I’ve read it several times hoping for this day to be the day that I would leave a comment…each time I’ve read it has given me a smile.
    I haven’t had a fall quite as dramamtic as this while trying to take a photo but I’ve certainly done my fair share of strange positions and climbing up on just about anything to get a nice photo. πŸ™‚
    I like your descriptivness, from the empty snail shell and spider to the crisp “startled blue air” andI love the determinaton that comes through in this poem and the humour. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing and I hope your bruise is healing!

    with much love
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  13. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:15:32

    Hi Tikarma,

    I’m glad this gave you a smile! It’s amazing what we will do to get “that essential” picture! I think I may have been a little less injured had I not been more intent on saving the camera rather than myself!!

    Anyway my dog in the picture was an unexpected bonus; he just ran across as I clicked!! LOL πŸ™‚

    Love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS))) to you too

    Christine xx

    Reply

  14. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 16:01:02

    Again, a beautifully layered poem rising from (literally the ground up…) a very ‘ordinary’ moment. But everything is extraordinary to the creative eye!

    I particularly love this stanza:

    ‘But the world
    has turned sideways,
    plant pots at eye level,
    empty snail house,
    opted for warmer
    climes perhaps,
    hairy spider
    raising his hat –
    too close for comfort.’

    The small things are so worth our attention, aren’t they?

    I so enjoy your work…you were born to be a poet, Christine!

    Hugs, Diane

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 11:24:24

      Hi Diane,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. You know how much I value your feedback and I feel you have paid me a generous compliment here which is so appreciated.

      I seem to be noticing the small things much more these days and as you so rightly say, they “are so worth our attention”.

      Thank you again

      Hugs to you

      Christine x

      Reply

  15. Caddo Veil
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 19:33:57

    I love this! And salute your courage–I especially like that you channel your struggles into “art”. For me, that’s the best way to go. God bless you, my friend.

    Reply

  16. Thomas Davis
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:35:36

    apologetic dignity
    restored
    eh?
    I fall every once in awhile in my meanderings around campus. Everyone get excited while I, like you, just get up and take the metaphorical photograph. Next time I’m going to try to remember your apologetic dignity line.
    What a lovely poem!
    Silver spines of hoar frost
    cover unsuspecting garden
    in a web of lace
    and all.

    Reply

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:41:24

    Thomas,

    Thank you so much for this encouraging comment.

    Let’s keep “dusting ourselves down” !:)

    Christine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

