Ginger Biscuits in Love

Ginger Biscuits in Love

I am becoming too
passive, letting others
take over, take control;
I am heavily restricted
I acknowledge, but
an invalid, no.
So – I set out my stall.

The recipe calls for
hand mixing,
no electrics.
a challenge rather
than a problem.

I make a pass at
the mixing bowl;
it nestles willingly
in my exaggerated
embrace while
flour, sugar, ginger
and eggs swirl slowly
and seductively into
dreamy creaminess.

Fifteen minutes of
passionate heat later,
two dozen
deliciously contented,
golden, crispy
love bites.

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dfb
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 12:51:46

    Now this reads… and looks! very good indeed. There are some lovely lines here, and I like the way you’ve linked love with this practical process. I like it very much.

    Reply

  2. Becoming herself
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 12:54:08

    Spicy! What a wonderful change of mood and attitude you evoke in this poem; and guaranteed to make your readers smile. Inspirational, with a light and playful touch (that’s a hard combination to get right!); very cleverly done. You have such an original voice.

    Reply

  3. triciabertram
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 12:56:17

    Oh Christine, I know that fine line between accepting help and maintaining independence. This poem and those delicious looking biscuits are a celebration of achieving balance.
    You rock
    Hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:21:51

      Thank you Tricia!

      I enjoyed the challenge and will definitely have another go. I wish you could sample the finished product!

      And thank you for thinking I rock! πŸ™‚

      Hugs
      Christine xx

      Reply

  4. AngelaMarie
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 13:21:00

    Oh, I love it!! Christine, this is a work of love and art through and through!!! In the making, in the writing, in the photographing and the savoring!

    “Fifteen minutes of
    passionate heat later,
    two dozen
    deliciously contented,
    golden, crispy
    love bites.”

    What LOVE. To me the essence of poetry is not (only) in the writing, but in the living breathing moments of our lives – it is what emerges from how we see and what we make of life. Then there is the crafting of words! You are quite the poet craftswoman, and a simply beautiful soul. I so appreciate this poem. Thank you! Blessings always, Angela

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:25:45

      AngelaMarie, thank you!

      You have paid me a great compliment here and it is truly appreciated. I always value your feedback so much. Thank you again so very much.

      Love and blessings to you

      Christine xx

      Reply

  5. Martin Shone
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 14:26:49

    Christine ~ πŸ˜€

    Reply

  6. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:26:20

    Thank you Martin! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Christine

    Reply

  7. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:45:49

    This is a most gracious, beautifully worded and constructed poem, Christine. It made me think of one of my favorite spiritual authors, Thomas Moore, who wrote a book titled Re-Enchantment of Everyday Life. He speaks about how just making an apple pie (or ginger biscuits!) enriches our soul (and so heals our minds and bodies).

    ‘The re-enchantment of our everyday lives…becomes a matter of seriously shifting our priorities, developing a sense of the sacredness in the particulars of ordinary life…’

    Even without illness or disability I think many can relate to:
    ‘I am becoming too
    passive, letting others
    take over, take control’

    But to realize that we can create–‘golden, crispy’ biscuits or a beautiful affecting poem or anything that only needs our divine attention to be within our abilities–helps to take back the essence of ourselves and our lives, no matter the external circumstances.

    Your writing is as personal and warm as one of those biscuits I’ve enjoyed for a late breakfast! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 11:58:20

      Thank you so much Diane, for you really thoughtful comment.

      I will check out the book you mention. I recently went on a “Breathworks” course, which concentrated on mindfulness in the face of pain and/or disability and found it very helpful. I love the sentence “re-enchantment of our everyday lives..in the particulars of ordinary life”; I felt that after I had made the biscuits!

      “…Becomes a matter of seriously shifting our priorities…” is exactly what I have found to be so, Using the biscuits as an example of this, perhaps, is that a few years ago I would have “slotted” in the biscuit making and it may even have been a chore, but not so today; the biscuit making was the biggest part of the day with a huge feeling of achievement at the end of it . (That they turned out well was a bonus!! LOL :))

      Thank you again, for this beautiful comment

      Much Love

      Christine

      Reply

  8. Eve Redwater
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 19:26:55

    How wonderful! A poem and a delicious treat to whet my appetite this evening! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  9. Caddo Veil
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 19:32:10

    Good for you, Christine! And they DO look yummy! Trade for some of mine? God bless you abundantly today.

    Reply

  10. hollyannegetspoetic
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 21:48:17

    Biscuits and seduction – very nice (words and picture!).

    Reply

  11. granbee
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 21:58:44

    You really need to stop tempting me with sweets! I can smell them through cyberspace! Wonderfully victorious poem, ending with the simple joy of cookies well made.

    Reply

  12. Poetry & Icecream
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 02:34:17

    Yummy! I enjoyed making them with you πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  13. belfastdavid
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 10:27:56

    ‘Just for today I will be happy. Most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be’

    We have such power within our own minds. We can choose to be a victim or we can choose not to be a victim.
    I know how much difference it made to your day to decide to make those biscuits. Well done you.

    But are there any left by today? πŸ™‚

    Lots of love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:13:39

    Hi David,

    That is a great quote.

    I know you hear all my “ums” and “arrghs” and I truly appreciate your patience while listening!

    “Are there any left today?” – ask me again this afternoon, or maybe you don’t need to ask me again! :):)

    lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    Reply

  15. Jane Thorne
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 11:14:37

    Biscuits are tricky to make and I would love to share yours with a cup of tea and a natter sometime Christine xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 09:56:09

      Thank you Jane!

      In the greater scale of cyber space I guess you and I live pretty close to each other!

      Let’s hope the tea and biscuits may become a reality some day!

      Love and hugs

      Christine x

      Reply

  16. Thomas Davis
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:28:19

    You have courage, Christine. The handicaps we have cannot always be overcome, but we do not have to let them dominate us. I was lucky to have learned that lesson early in life, and I am so thankful to have contributed to society in the way that I have. Some never learn the lesson of doing biscuits. At Navajo Technical College, where I am the Dean, most of the students come from very poor families, and many students have to hitchhike to get to their daily classes. I pick up students most mornings on my way to work. One young man, badly damaged in a car accident, is waiting by the road most mornings, and I always stop for him unless the car is already too full.
    But, since he was once young and full of promise, he is having an impossible time getting beyond his handicaps. He probably can succeed at college, but only if he concentrates and works hard well beyond the average student, and there is always reasons (doctors appointments, problems at home, not enough time, someone has discriminated against him that day) why he cannot get the work he needs to get done. He tries hard, in his way, but is always on the edge of failure.
    I cannot tell you how deeply inspiring the phrase
    a challenge rather
    than a problem.
    is. Most of life is a challenge rather than a problem, but only if we are willing to pay the price of making ginger biscuits with love.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:05:21

      Hi Thomas,

      Thank you so much for this comment. You have given me much to think about.

      Like the student who waits by the roadside, I, too, was fit and healthy (apart, of course, from my years of active alcoholism) but even within that awful period I still had physical strength. I brought up three children in a very active way and loved to be busy.including walking my lovely dog, Jack. So I have found the fairly quick onset of disability difficult to handle, hence the move into the creative world of poetry, which is helping me beyond my wildest dreams.

      I truly hope your student by the roadside is given the strength he needs to be able to “be willing to pay the price of making ginger biscuits with love”.

      Thank you again Thomas.

      Christine

      Reply

  17. Linda Willows
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 20:06:40

    This, a wonderful poem. I could feel it, especially your wrap around the bowl, so passionately expressed, this expression of love!! Great!
    love, Linda

    Reply

  18. tikarmavodicka
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 02:10:17

    Hi Christine,

    Your poem is just deliciously inspirational! There are so many layers in this poem. The joy of cooking, creating, the love of independance to strength and determined will to overcome what you are able and not be “too passive”.
    Your poem for me inspires and reminds me of a poem I wrote (much longer) about choosing to win your race in life with your head held high. You are certainly doing that! πŸ™‚ and with such yummy results. I doubt there are any left but I can still smell them. πŸ™‚ There’s nothing like the smell of fresh baked biscuits!
    This is love on many levels, love for self, for life and for those little pleasures in life that bring sunshine to your day.
    Thank you very much for sharing this. It has cheered me immensly and reminded me to appreciate everything I can do in life. πŸ™‚

    with much love and
    ((((BIG WARM HUGS))))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:12:39

      This is a wonderful comment, Tikarma, and i thank you for it sincerely.

      You are right, there aren’t any left! Making 24 biscuits then realising you are on your own for three days is a bit of a dilemma – but only a bit!! πŸ™‚

      And thank you for the phrase “for those little pleasures in life that bring sunshine into your day”. I will let the sun shine today!

      Much love to you too and
      (((BIG WARM HUGS)))

      Christine xx

      Reply

  19. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 06:24:34

    Christine, you and your poetry always inspire me greatly! I admire your attitude, your strength, and your success at baking those cookies, in spite of the difficulty. (Made my mouth water!) Not to mention your great poetry!
    You mentioned in a comment the “Breathworks” course – for mindfulness in the face of illness, disability, etc. That reminds me of a wonderful book I read by Jon Kabat-Zinn called “Full Catastrophe Living”. It has been really helpful (using the breath and mindfulness, etc.) in dealing with chronic pain. I wonder if the class you took was based on his classes?
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful poem – your creativity is awesome, (and I can imagine those cookies were too!) πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:23:26

      Betty,

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment.

      The book you mention sounds very similar to the mindfulness course I did. The book we followed was called “Living Well with Pain and Illness by Vidyamala Burch who, herself has suffered many years of chronic pain and disability.

      It’s amazing how being mindful of the moment can transform our attitudes in dealing with our individual problems.

      Your lovely comments always urge me to continue with the poetry, particularly when I begin to doubt myself – thank you.

      Love

      Christine x

      Reply

  20. Trackback: Wheelchairs « Tikarmavodicka's Blog
  21. Fergiemoto
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 01:32:10

    Wonderful! I could feel the courage, determination and victory while reading this poem.

    Reply

  22. Ina
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 09:37:43

    Hi Christine,

    By now the biscuits are history perhaps πŸ™‚ but this poem will remain as a reminder to all of us we can do more than we think! I admire your cooking too!
    For now I am not cooking but when I get about more, I want to try to make those cookies too. πŸ™‚
    Big hugs and love to you xx
    and did you leave some crums for the birds?

    Ina

    Reply

  23. Trackback: February Soul Song Awards! « One-In-Creation
  24. AngelaMarie
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 22:00:28

    Christine, I nominated this poem for a soul-song award!! πŸ™‚ http://oneincreation.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/february-soul-song-awards/

    Reply

  25. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 12:27:15

    Thank you AngelaMarie!

    I am delighted by this and honoured!!

    Much love

    Christine x

    Reply

  26. Francina
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 18:02:48

    mmmmm.. so delicious , ginger biscuits.. πŸ™‚

    Wondrous poem about courage…and determination. You rock, dear Christine.

    Ciao, Francina xx

    Reply

  27. Christine Moran
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 08:32:16

    Thank you Francina, for this lovely comment!

    Christine x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

