Virtually OK

Virtually OK

I wonder, if we met,
would I listen eagerly
while you talk,Β  like I
read your words, feel
the same frisson of
excitement as I feel
for a new post,

or would I stop
listening, look at you,
think your lips are
too thin, eyes too
close together,
feel displeasure at
the touch of arrogance
in your voice,
or the way your
mouth slants
in a sly way
when you smile?

Maybe there’s
something to be said
for being “virtual”.

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. triciabertram
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 13:33:27

    Oh Christine, i really like this one. It is thought provoking, and in the thinking I realise how sometimes the person and the circumstances can detract from the words.
    This is one I will return to again, as for me it has layers that time and reading aloud will unwrap.
    Hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:12:50

      Thank you Tricia.

      The virtual world is still quite new to me.

      I find it fascinating and extremely beneficial but also it leaves me feeling a little mixed up regarding how well I think I know people, and also how easy it can be to judge people by appearances and first physical impressions.

      Another layer, I think, is that sometimes we think we know someone we have actually been in the physical presence of for years and not really know them at all. Lots to think about for me!

      Hugs
      Christine xx

      Reply

  2. hollyannegetspoetic
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 14:16:50

    Good poem Christine – I like poems that pose questions. It’s so true that people can often feel a sense of intimacy online, which doesn’t necessarily translate to the “real world”. Nicely done. I especially like the sly slanting mouth.

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:21:09

    Thank you Hollyanne,

    I find it a little disconcerting that I could feel, and I sometimes do, able to pour my heart out to someone I have never met and am unlikely to meet, rather than to do so face to face with someone I know or think I know. It’s all very confusing.

    Having said that I feel confident here on WordPress that I am meeting some truly sincere people who are making a positive difference in my life.

    Do we truly ever know anyone virtual or otherwise?

    Now I think I need to shut up!!

    Christine

    Reply

  4. dfb
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:40:38

    Ah, this is great Christine! For some ‘virtual’ has become a ‘reality’ and you’re so right, in your poetic way, to draw attention to this. We can make all kinds of assumptions about someone else’s words. Great stuff, great post!

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:46:46

      Thank you David,

      I started writing this in a lighthearted way but as I wrote I began to think deeper and it has raised all sorts of issues for me!

      I reiterate though – as I said above, I feel I am meeting some very sincere and supportive people here on WordPress. I just have to remember that real life is the real life if you know what I mean.

      Christine

      Reply

  5. jeglatter
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:36:18

    I have been reading these blogs now for about a month…and have been having a “cut to the chase” liberating feeling of getting to see, really see, new people (to me) without having exterior stuff distract me. I feel like I really have benefitted in feeling closer to humanity and also enlightened as to things I hadn’t thought of before or explored in my ‘real time’ relationships. I am thankful for the land of blogs.:) I am thankful for being able to express but also for all the souls who are open enough to share.:) Great poem.

    Reply

  6. Caddo Veil
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:45:21

    Wow, Christine–this really got me!! I’ve been very glad, since August, to have a few people telling me how “beautiful” I am–but I shudder to think how I might come across, face to face. As I am not beautiful or wonderful, 24/7; my confidence may sound like arrogance; my smile has often been described as “smirk”–I’m just a regular person, doing my best, trying to make the most of my latter years with what God’s given me so graciously. Virtual is OK to me, too–as I so hate to be a disappointment! Thank you for your visits to my blog–I’m always glad to see your picture and comments! God bless you abundantly this day, and always. your virtual friend, Caddo

    Reply

  7. Danial Neil
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 00:58:25

    I like the questions. They are important things to ask. It brings us deeper into the essence what it means to be human. We ask. We wonder. And we have language for expression. Wonderful poem.

    Danial Neil

    Reply

  8. tikarmavodicka
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 01:39:39

    Hi Christine,

    This poem is wonderful!
    First impressions can always be a precarious minefield.
    It’s easy to to construct in our minds how we imagine someone might be only to find the reality disapointing. Trying to read people through their writing is not an accurate reflection of who they are. We assume people write truthfully of themselves but often literary licence or pure fiction dot themselves through someones work. I never take a person from their wriitng alone. A bit like only seeing someone through a photograph. I want to know who lies underneath first or whether they are just writing fiction. I write both, so I’d hate to think what most people think of me.
    I’ve not had much luck with people in real life. I meet them on-line and they’re very firendly, but once they find out I’m very busy, my illness isn’t just to get attention and I can’t drive and thus go to all the parties and events etc. I find myself on my own again. Thus is the way of it.
    I’ve made some very good friends on-line though and I’m very greatful for the opportunity to do so. Some of the most caring people I’ve engaged with I’ll probably never meet and maybe it’s because there is so much distance it’s easier?
    More and more so now I’ve found the internet to be a mirror of the real world. People come in and out of your life, some to be just acquaintances most to just “wave” at in passing and few like in real life will come to be treasured friends you enjoy the company of and sharing with. πŸ™‚
    Real life should always come first I think ultimately. You can be a star on-line but the life you live when you turn off that computer and walk out your front door is what really matters…. πŸ™‚

    A very thought provoking poem. As you can see *LOL*. It’s bought out the chatterbox in me πŸ˜€ It’s an important issue for everyone using the internet today I think. πŸ™‚ Thank you very much for sharing.

    Much love to you and
    ((((BIG WARM HUGS))))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

  9. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 02:53:27

    Christine, thank you for sharing this honest, and thoughtful poem! It raises the same questions I’ve had through the 20 years of being online – and oddly enough, whenever (on rare occasions) I’ve had the opportunity of meeting an “electronic” friend in person, they’ve been just as I imagined they would be. Of course they’ve all been poets!! πŸ™‚ So that might have something to do with it.

    The whole idea of writing poetry is to “bare our soul” – and in doing so, we end up being pretty authentic. Poets don’t wear masks – at least not any I’ve ever known. There are some here on WP who I’ve known only a few months, yet it seems like we’re old, old friends. And it’s wonderful!!! πŸ™‚ So glad to know YOU – though only virtually. πŸ™‚

    Hugs to you,
    Betty

    Reply

    • triciabertram
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 09:23:49

      Betty your comments about the idea of poetry being “to bare our soul” and poets not wearing masks, resonated so deeply I felt compelled to say thank you.
      Tricia

      Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:55:22

      Thank you Betty.

      As you say in your lovely comment, I, too, feel that I have known some people on WP for ages when in fact we have only been communicating for a few months. I value each and every one of you and wonder what I would do without you all now!

      Love
      Christine x

      Reply

  10. Christine Moran
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:38:21

    Thank you Caddo

    I hope this post didn’t upset you. I think we are all regular people doing our best as you say. I am so new to the “virtual” world I just had these few thoughts and thought I would write them down; the poem was at first just lighthearted but it seems to have made people think a lot, including myself!

    Love (real and virtual!)

    Christine x

    Reply

  11. Christine Moran
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:47:37

    Thank you Tikarma, for your heartfelt and honest comment.

    I do feel already, in the short time I have been here on WP, that I am making some eal friends and I am truly grateful for them. I think what you say abut more distance being easier is true. I thought about this poem while I was actually examining the fact that I seem to be able to bare my soul much easier here than I can face to face with someone.

    And I do feel in your comment you have put yourself down somewhat. I think most people would think (I do anyway) that your writing is most sincere and very much from the heart. The comments you make on others’ blogs, including mine are always very heartfelt and carefully thought through and I thank you very much for this!

    I guess it’s all food for thought!

    Much love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))

    Christine xx

    Reply

    • tikarmavodicka
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 02:00:32

      Hi Christine,

      My apologies for my rather tardy response. I’ve been a bit under the weather this week.
      Sorry too for the mis-understanding. I wasn’t meaning to put myself down. I was referring to viewing and making an assuption about people by their poerty/writing alone.
      Yes I am honest in my comments. It’s one of the reasons I don’t get around to reading many blogs. I like to take my time to read properly what someone has written before responding. Afterall they’ve put a lot of hard work into their poetry/writing/artwork. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for your kind words. I feel very lucky to have met you. πŸ™‚

      (((BIG HUGS)))
      Tikarma
      xoxoxo

      Reply

  12. Francina
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 15:01:47

    Hi Christine,

    Wonderful poem! I’m sure we all wonder once in a while about the person on the other side of the screen when we read their words. , You captured that feeling beautifully in your poem. I have some long time friends I only know from on-line and never met in real life. I also have met some and we still are friends .
    And I second Betty’s words, poets write down their innermost thoughts, that says a lot!

    Welcome into my virtual world, Christine!

    Ciao, Francina

    Reply

  13. dean attfield
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:28:19

    how can soooooooooooo many thoughts fit into your pretty little head πŸ™‚
    with all these thoughts its a good job i can bribe you with Hot chocs and Choc cake isnt it lol
    wish i could put my words into some poetic verse but i hope this across in the same way……(blimley im rambling arnt it lol) your heartfelt commments on here work my brain….thats wot is all about isnt it?? our messages bout our Hot Chocs brighten my day…and your support to me has been priceless,thank you XX
    on the day we DO meet as long as you dont pinch my Choc cake we`ll get on just fine lol and anyway we i HAVE to stay friends with you coz YOU KNOW TO MUCH lol keep up your excelant writting and by the comments you get im SURE youv got got some VERY GOOD REAL FRIENDS on here
    take care, my BRILL FRIEND……..LYTBXXX

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:20:55

      Thank you Dean!

      I promise I won’t pinch your chocolate cake as long as you keep sending me those lovely hot chocs across the air waves!

      And it’s not just one way – thank you for being there for me too.

      Love

      Christine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ XX

      Reply

  14. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 20:14:45

    I think Betty’s comment says it all and I won’t add to it but you certainly have made people think Christine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. belfastdavid
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 11:59:47

    Christine,

    You touch into the very real concerns I think all of us have who communicate via the web.

    I had some fairly unpleasant experiences during my early days on the web – mostly through my own naivety. But I have learnt as I have gone along!!

    And the other side of that is that I have met some truely wonderful people who have become good friends. But just like real life it takes time for those friendships to develop.

    I do think that WordPress is a more satisfactory medium for meeting like minded people. It takes a little bit more effort to write on WordPress than it does to join in on other social networking sites and I feel therefore that the people I meet on here are likely to be more genuine.

    (I shouldn’t knock MySpace – At one stage there was a really vibrant community of poets on there – some of whom remaing my friends to this day)

    And as for meeting virtual friends – I am going to Whitby next week to meet a WordPress friend from the Netherlands. I am really looking forward to that πŸ™‚

    Good blog

    Much love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 14:47:58

      Hi David, Thank you for your comprehensive reply to this post which seems to have taken on a life of its own!

      I can totally go along with everything you have said here, and can also only really reiterate what others have said too.

      I have met and continue to meet some lovely people on WP whom I value greatly – I was going to say not least of whom is you!!! I momentarily forgot that I know your real face very well!!! And while we didn’t meet “virtually”, you introduced me to WP and for that I am truly grateful, for you have helped to give me a new outlet where I can express myself with honesty and that feels good.

      Thank you for being my very “real ” friend πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Lots of love

      Christine

      xxx

      Reply

  16. Jane Thorne
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 15:00:05

    Wise poem my lovely and very true..the written word in a virtual world can hide a multitude of sins or show courage wioth cimplete honesty..or strike a balance inbetween!! Covered all fences there haven’t I, but seriously this is a wise post…love and hugs to you J xx

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 20, 2012 @ 15:09:11

      Thank you Jane for this lovely comment.

      Yes you have covered all fences in your reply but all those fences are definitely there! I totally agree with you on all of them.

      Hope your “sprig cleaning” is going well.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

  17. Eve Redwater
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 19:12:58

    “frisson” is such an excellent word! Love this one, Christine! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  18. gonecycling
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 21:30:17

    This is another lovely poem, and one that goes right to the heart of this curious relationship we have with and via the virtual world. I don’t really understand the internet, but I do know that certain things transcend connection speeds and bandwidth and protocols and all that mularkey. A virtual gang we may be, but I sense real warmth, fellow-feeling and mutual esteem among the people I’m in touch with through WordPress; perhaps it’s because we’re all writers and are able to express ourselves, but I’d call these comments the conversation of true friends. My life is certainly the richer for having you, David, Ina, Thomas and Ethel and all the others in it, even though we’ve yet to meet (but never say never!) N.x.

    Reply

    • Christine Moran
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 09:21:23

      Nick,

      This is a terrific comment and i absolutely go along with all you have said here.

      I like that you see us all as a gang! That’s lovely and it’s a great gang too! And yes, I, too, would call these comments “the conversation of true friends”.

      Like you say “never say never! πŸ™‚

      Christine x

      Reply

  19. Fergiemoto
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 03:59:58

    This is great! What I felt from this poem is more figurative – in that sometimes things are better left to the imagination.

    Reply

  20. Christine Moran
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 09:26:25

    Thank you.

    Jane Thorne, further up the list of comments here talked about having covered all fences in her comment, and there are several, I feel, but you have covered another one too and one which was strongly on my mind when I wrote the poem. And not really for the reason that I would rather not know what the real person is like, more that I may be too quick to judge them on first appearance, an issue which doesn’t arise in the “virtual” world if that makes sense.

    Christine x

    Reply

  21. granbee
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 16:53:25

    Hooray for you, Christine, for having the nerve to point out in this wonderful poem what I think we all wonder from time to time about our blogging friends! This is what is so fabulous about having the ongoing support of blogging friends. We are not distracted by the flesh! We connect directly to each other’s minds, hearts, and souls! This is what is everlasting, after all. Such foolish preoccupations with the fleshly nonsense we do waste so much of our lives with, dear Christine. Wonderful example you are setting for us all!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 18:37:25

      Hi Granbee,

      Thank you for this lovely comment!

      And you are so right, our hearts, minds and souls are the everlasting things!

      “Fleshy nonsense” I love that phrase!! LOL πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Much love

      Christine xx

      Reply

  22. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 20:25:46

    So much of what I would say about this poem has already been said…quite wonderfully!

    To quote a few:
    Betty Hayes Albright–‘The whole idea of writing poetry is to β€œbare our soul” – and in doing so, we end up being pretty authentic. Poets don’t wear masks.’

    And Granbee–‘We are not distracted by the flesh! We connect directly to each other’s minds, hearts, and souls! This is what is everlasting, after all.’

    I think the invisibility of the exchanges are what make the truth of each of us so visible. We are all seekers through our creative efforts, like sending prayers into the unknown divinity we trust as nothing else.

    I must add that I love the lightness of this, Christine…stimulating more of a discussion, I think, than if it had taken itself too seriously.

    Hugs! Diane

    Reply

  23. Becoming herself
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 08:13:49

    Hi, Christine

    Isn’t it interesting that a poem such as this could only have been written relatively recently? People used to be ‘pen pals’, but it’s still not the same as the issues you raise here. And even more interesting, the questions you ask (as do millions of others!) will, for most people in most cases, never be answered. It’s a fascinating topic, and your gift for seeing to the heart of things has resulted in this wonderfully direct and really thought-provoking piece of writing.x

    Reply

  24. Thomas Davis
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:44:01

    I think I would actually like to meet several poets on wordpress. I don’t suspect that’s possible, but I suspect we could find something to talk about. The poem is clever and delightful, though, and though I would still like to meet you and several others, I suspect there is a truth contained in the poem’s ending. Words can twist and turn and make glory out of a mud hole, a genius out of a boor. Still, if the chance ever presented itself I would seize it with both hands and shout halleluah!

    Reply

  25. priyaaibouliery
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 09:49:18

    Reblogged this on Priya Boulier Blogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

