Signs of Spring

Signs of Spring

The sun is caressingly warm,
causes the garden to creak and stir;
dry rotted stems form soft bed for
feline friends, places firmly reserved ,
day long booking.

In a corner innocent clumps of daffodils
dare to raise coy heads to the world
and candy floss  pink blossom
flirts with the sun;
just a sneak preview,
it teases.

Birds, feverish with excitement,
constantly interrupt each other
in first rehearsals,  eager to be the best.
I close my eyes to the sun
and let their jumbled songs
fill me with rose-coloured promises.

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. journeyintopoetryurneyintpoetry
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:01:43

    I sat in the garden this morning for long enough to take two pictures and write this poem. It was heavenly out there, first time outside in two and a half weeks It made me smile 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:18:08

    Hi Christine

    You have sat there so well 🙂 the photo’s and the bright poem turned out beautifully, what a good way to get started again after your absence 🙂

    The feline friends have their places reserved for the whole day 🙂 that made me smile. Your sense of humour is shining through this poem and reading it is like tip toe -ing through the lovely garden with you.

    This uplifting poem has a great feel of optimism, contentment and joy of life. Good job!

    Now the weather is getting more friendly, you may spent more time there, enjoying what nature in your garden can give. Enjoy the season with deep breaths!

    Love and hugs xx

    Ina

    Reply

    • Ina
      Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:26:30

      may spend? oh well 🙂

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:36:28

      And your comment is uplifting too! Thank you so much.

      Our garden isn’t full of blooms – those were the only things I could find, everything else was very dead! LOL 🙂

      It will take shape though and I look forward to doing my bit to help it along. I just love this time of year, so much renewal and shedding of the old and musty dryness of winter.

      Your comment has cheered me greatly, thank you again

      Love and hugs xx

      Reply

      • Ina
        Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:52:53

        lol I was thinking that Spring must be ahead a week of so in UK as here not much but crocus and those snowflake (the white ones) is growing, first daffodils just starting. We are always behind with the mainland though. 🙂

    • journeyintopoetryurneyintpoetry
      Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:12:14

      Snowdrops 🙂 I love them xx

      Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:32:01

    A t or a d? Who cares!? :):) xx but yes it is “spend” 🙂

    xx

    Reply

  4. Caddo Veil
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 16:38:33

    Christine–what a lovely spring poem–I was truly “there”! And may I say I’m SO GLAD to see you back–Betty and I have been fretting over you. (And yes, I pray and fret –spiritual multi-tasking!) Hope you’re feeling well today–God bless you abundantly. love, Caddo

    Reply

  5. susanjanejones
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:43:50

    Lovely poem Christine, and photos.

    Reply

  6. Linda Willows
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:03:43

    What a beautiful poem of Sring! I could “see” the floweres and “hear” the birds! I am so glad that you are well again! Love, Linda

    Reply

  7. Dean Attfield
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:07:10

    Wot a lovely poem…….the tale of a new awakening…….its a beautiful time of the year……amazes me how the bulbs,plants etc hide and endur all the harsh winter cold and then slowly but surely they rise up again……FASINATING:-)
    ickle lambs next,bleating away……..cant beat it all 🙂
    thanx again for the wonderful you describe it all………..LYTBXXXXXXX

    Reply

  8. Angela Jane Grace
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:24:05

    Beautiful poem, Christine. Whenever I see daffodils it always reminds me of my favourite line of poetry – quite simply: “and then my heart with pleasure fills… and dances with the daffodils” – Wordsworth.

    Photos of daffodils just make me smile and my heart with pleasure fills 🙂

    Reply

  9. Betty Hayes Albright
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:36:54

    Christine, this is such a joyful poem of spring. Made me smile!! (And as Caddo said, it’s good to see you back!) Sending hugs to you!!

    Reply

  10. tikarmavodicka
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:49:48

    Hi Christine,

    I’m so glad for you that were able to take this moment outside and capture such lovely photos and write this most lovely and uplifitng poem!
    I thorougly enjoyed it and the sensation you conveyed of feeling the natural world come alive again.
    It stirred within me those joys of being able to watch my flowers and shurbs grow and blossom is their various cycles through the seasons.
    I’m very glad for you that spring has truly begun to emerge for you. May the first tease herald a spring bountiful with blooms and sunshine. 🙂

    (((BIG WARM HUG))))
    and lots of love
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 10:58:18

      Thank you Tikarma for this warm and thoughtful comment.

      I only had 10 minutes in the sun that day but it was enough to stir the enthusiasm for life back into me again. I was beginning to wonder if it would ever return, and that is a feeling I can do without.

      I think during any physical illness it soon begins to encroach on the emotional and for me it is then I begin to feel out of control and get physical symptoms all mixed up with the emotional ones which include anxiety and depression. It can be very scary but this time, although I was quite ill I managed to turn things round before they became too bad. And now I am picking up quite well a day at a time.

      Thank you for being there for me

      Love nd
      (((BIGGEST HUGS)))
      Christine xx

      Reply

      • tikarmavodicka
        Mar 18, 2012 @ 19:08:06

        Hi Christine,
        I’m very glad to read that you are making steady progress day by day. 🙂
        I do empathise. I’m not very good at being ill myself and I can very quickly get frustrated and depressed if I’m not careful.
        It’s amazing though what a little sunshine can do for the spirits. 🙂 I hope each additional day brings a little more sunshine for you and a full recovery from your flu. 🙂
        (((BIG HUGS)))
        and much love
        Tikarma
        xoxoxo

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 12:19:01

      Tikarma, thank you :):)

      (((BIG HUGS)))

      and love
      Christine xx

      Reply

  11. dribblingpensioner
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:06:37

    Nice to see you back

    Reply

  12. dribblingpensioner
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:07:49

    Also lovely poem and photos.

    I hit post before i was finished 🙂

    Reply

  13. belfastdavid
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 10:20:40

    A beautiful poem.
    And the photos fit perfectly.

    It reflects I think your own journey from the winter of your last few weeks into the spring time of your recovery.

    Lovely to see you getting better.

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

  14. Becoming herself
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:24:33

    Welcome back, Christine! I love the ‘creaking’ garden and the ‘coy heads’ of the daffodils – the ‘sneak preview’ too. Lovely words and images.Your poems spring into life along with your garden!

    Reply

  15. Eve Redwater
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 15:10:58

    “Birds, feverish with excitement,
    constantly interrupt each other
    in first rehearsals, eager to be the best.”

    I can just see them swarming with anticipation! This really is lovely Christine! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Fergiemoto
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 15:43:44

    Great to see you back! Hope you are feeling better.
    This is a delightful poem and intro to Spring!

    Reply

  17. dfb
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 18:05:23

    Love the poem and love the pics!

    Reply

  18. Martin Shone
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 21:53:29

    Wonderful, Christine 🙂 Welcome back 🙂

    Reply

  19. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 22:56:03

    Of course being a cat lover I was immediately swept away by:

    ‘dry rotted stems form soft bed for
    feline friends, places firmly reserved ,
    day long booking.’

    Sounds like my outdoor stray, whom we call Sunny (he flattens all my sprouting plants if the sun invites him to…)

    So much to soak up in this poem too…the coy daffodils and teasing blossoms and patience and impatience for the roses to come.

    Very lovely, Christine!

    Love,
    Diane

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:11:27

      Oh Diane, this is such a lovely comment, thank you.

      “Sunny” – with such a lovely name and I am sure a nature to match he can be truly forgiven for the flattening process!!:)

      It’s good to be back.

      Much love to you

      Christine xx

      Reply

  20. Laurel's Reflections
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 09:35:58

    What a delightful poem! I too have been spending more and more time in my much-neglected but greatly loved garden now that my health is improving, delighting in the daffodils and birdsong, so you spoke straight to my heart 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:13:49

      Thank you Laurel for this heartfelt comment.

      I wasn’t aware of your health problems; I hope you continue to improve enough to enjoy the spring and the hope that for me comes with it. :):)

      Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 20:51:43

    Christine, you are trying to make Ethel and I jealous. We woke up this morning to 50 mile winds, although the weather warmed to 50 Fahrenheit degrees before it plunged to below the freezing mark. As the temperature plunged the wind died down, but the snow started. Right now the snow is falling at an extremely fast rate, piling up on the ground outside, making us long for the day that you write about. Oh, it is a poem that could make you wish to be in Christine’s garden rather than in Continental Divide, New Mexico.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 20, 2012 @ 11:52:38

      Brrr… Thomas you have me shivering through and through!:)

      I can’t imagine such a volume of snow now that we have those first precious signs of spring here, although I am not getting too complacent! It is very capable of snowing here in England in March and I can remember back in the 70s it snowed for a day in June! So anything is possible! 🙂

      And you would both be very welcome here in my garden!

      Christine x

      Reply

  22. granbee
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 22:15:30

    Love the blossoms flirting with the sun and the jumbled birdsongs filled with promises! A real celebration of spring bursting out all over, dear Christine! Lovely!

    Reply

  23. Francina
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:16:49

    beautiful, Christine!

    Ciao, Francina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

