Witchy Woman

“Witchy Woman”

(The Eagles – Aug 1972

“b” side “Early Bird”)

Witchy Woman

I wonder

can anyone

help me acquire

a broomstick?

Nothing elegant;

I don’t need designer,

simply run-of-the-mill;

till I can get my hair cut


40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. belfastdavid
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 15:55:28

    Laughing Out Loud.

    Presumably after you have your hair cut you will want one in dayglo pink with ‘go Faster’ stripes!!!

    Lots of love

    David
    xxx x

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 15:59:12

    Thank you David,

    You are forever tempting me! I wonder if dayglo pink will clash with the red stripe in my hair!! LOL 🙂

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx x

    Reply

  3. leamuse
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 16:07:54

    No horn for this broom, she shall have a siren! lol

    Léa

    Reply

  4. Becoming herself
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 17:15:27

    I love this! I’d lend you mine, but a glance in the mirror tells me I should be making an appointment too…

    Reply

  5. dfb
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:02:18

    Ah, terrific Christine! 🙂 In fact, Witchy Woman is just about my favourite Eagles track, the music for this being written by my favourite Eagle Mr Bernie Leadon, who happens to be one helluva guitarist, banjo-player, mandolinist… Great choice, Christine!!! PS The flip side of this single was also co-written by Bernie Leadon…

    Reply

  6. Francina
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:14:49

    Great song that is indeed. I love your poem! It is good to see you back again!

    Ciao, Francina xx

    Reply

  7. Ina
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:53:10

    Hi Christine,
    lol if you find one, let’s have some broomstick racings together 🙂

    Reply

  8. susanjanejones
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:57:54

    Hi Christine, Witchy woman is a good look. Leave it how it is, shine from within.xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 10:36:45

      Thank you Susan.

      I may have been able to carry off witchy woman look years ago but not anymore lOL 🙂

      I do my best to shine from within most of the time but just now and again I need an external top up! 🙂

      Christine xx

      Reply

  9. dribblingpensioner
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:17:20

    Lovely poem and a good title.

    Reply

  10. Laurel's Reflections
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 21:46:50

    Oooh can I join the broomstick racing too?! I am trying to grow my hair out after cutting it off after my mom died, and it is going through some interesting stages along the way 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 10:41:20

      Hi Laurel.

      You are right, growing hair out does indeed involve some “interesting” stages!

      When I was younger I was always chopping and changing between long and short! Now I am quite content to keep it short which is good because my hands don’t work too well so drying and making it look respectable is now a challenge!:)

      Christine x

      Reply

  11. Betty Hayes Albright
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 05:50:42

    Christine, I enjoyed this! (And that Eagles song is also one of my favorites. Was just playing my CD of their greatest hits last night. 🙂 )

    Reply

  12. dean attfield
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:05:22

    AWWWWWWWwwwwwwww Christine 😦 😦
    but then id have thought you could grift down there on your fluffy ANGEL CLOUD X
    get well soon my smashing superguarding angel XXXXXXX Misssing you ….
    LYTB XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Reply

  13. granbee
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:36:29

    I finally got a much needed haircut last week and retired my old broomstick in favor of a smaller, cuter, shinier, more spring-colored one, thank you very much! You are a real treasure of a hoot, you know that?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 12:06:17

      Being “a treasure of a hoot” is a lovely compliment granbee; thank you so much

      Much Love and
      a big slobbery kiss from Jack
      (especially if you have a treat in your hand!!)

      xx

      xx

      Reply

  14. Fergiemoto
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 01:58:38

    How fun! I do like this song also. Maybe I should join your broomstick group – because of everything that’s been going on the last couple of years, I haven’t had a haircut in a long, long time.

    Reply

  15. tikarmavodicka
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:58:43

    LOL Ahh this is lovely Christine!
    Make sure you get a turbo charged edition in racing red. They do go faster! *cheeky grin*
    I’d lend you mine but I’m still using it. I confess I cut my hair quite short a few months ago but it didn’t suit me at all! I’m still a long tresses girl and very much looking forward to my hair growing past my shoulders. 🙂
    I hope the haircut leaves you feeling perky and refreshed and ready to embrace the sunshine of spring! 🙂

    with much love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 14:02:58

      Thank you Tikarma!

      There is a big gang of us in broomstick land now! LOL 🙂

      My hair cut will be next week and is long overdue. It always perks me up so looking forward to it.:)

      Love and
      (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
      Christine xx

      Reply

  16. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:37:42

    What a delight!

    Just yesterday I looked into the mirror after being on the computer and writing, etc most of the day…and saw a witchy woman version of myself for sure…think I scared myself a little…

    And I just had my hair done this week…alas, is there no hope?

    As I write this I come into mind of that scene in Bridget Jones’s when she rides in the convertible trying to look like Grace Kelly, but the scarf flies off and her hair is sticking every witch-a-way when she finally gets to the hotel.

    Thanks for sharing a smile!

    Reply

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:48:48

    Thank you Diane!

    “Alas, is there no hope?” – made me smile :):)

    I didn’t know so many o us would want to ride the broomstick LOL 🙂

    Much Love

    Christine xx

    Reply

  18. gonecycling
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 21:35:37

    I love The Eagles – and this poem; small but perfectly formed, and with the wit and honesty that makes your work so much fun to read. (Wish I had enough hair for it ever to GET messy…I don’t have ‘bad hair days’ now, except when I go to the barber’s and he charges me £8, of which about £6 is the search fee…) N.xx

    Reply

  19. triciabertram
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 14:21:50

    Love this whimsical poem, also love The Eagles song.

    Reply

  20. journeyintopoetry
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 16:30:03

    Thank you Tricia.

    We have quite a few Eagles fans on here! 🙂

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 17:25:43

    Sorry, Christine, but I’m afraid you won’t ever be witchy. You might achieve magic status. You might even ride a broom into the stratosphere and start swatting around the light of stars. But witchy? Don’t think so.

    Reply

  22. journeyintopoetry
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 17:30:33

    Thank you Thomas!

    Your comment has put a huge smile on my face. And do I detect a lovely compliment in there somewhere? Well. I am taking it as one anyway! Thank you 🙂

    Christine

    Reply

  23. Jennifer Worrell
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 03:35:41

    Happy Poetry Month to me! That was a great poem to find as April begins…now off to polish my broom!

    Reply

  24. Jennifer Willis
    May 19, 2012 @ 12:04:33

    Oh I soooo identify with this. I know I’m over a relapse when I gather the
    Motivation to make a hair appointment!!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 19, 2012 @ 13:40:12

      Thank you so much Jennifer! It’s amazing how much difference a hair do can make 🙂 And after writing this poem lots of people wanted to join me on the broomstick! Lool 🙂 And as we both know, gathering the energy to do it is so good 🙂

      Christine

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

