Upstairs, Downstairs

Upstairs, Downstairs

Of course they have
a sofa each, they are
of the elite, they
live “upstairs”,
while servitors scurry
assiduously
salt curing ham,
polishing shoes,
rolling out pastry,
awaiting tinkling of bell
to proffer what is needed
for them to resume,
in glorious slumber,
the ruling of the world,
conserving crucialΒ energy
to safeguard however
many lives they
may have left.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eve Redwater
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:13:00

    Hehe, so charming! They definitely let everyone know who’s boss. πŸ˜€

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:17:52

    Thank you Eve.

    It’s the kind of day where I need a bit of fun! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Francina
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:28:52

    delightful poem, Christine.. cats and their attitude πŸ™‚

    love, Francina xxx

    Reply

  4. bardessdmdenton
    May 02, 2012 @ 15:51:10

    Thank you for sharing the fun, Christine! Of course, being a ‘servitor’ (and happily so0 to many a feline companion, I LOVED this. And HAD to share on Facebook and Twitter. Blessings and hugs! Diane

    Reply

  5. susanjanejones
    May 02, 2012 @ 16:34:52

    So cute and beautiful, naturally they live upstairs. Love those cushions for ‘the regal ones.’

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 05, 2012 @ 11:19:04

      Thank you Susan!

      The cushions are a recent addition since I realised how mportant colour has become in my life since my diagnosis of MS. It’s quite strange because I used to be very neutral in my likes for colour but all that has changed really quickly over the past year and I am dazzling myself with colour everywhere!! πŸ™‚

      Christine

      Reply

  6. Caddo Veil
    May 02, 2012 @ 17:38:05

    This is so clever and marvelous, Christine–I really, truly love it!! God bless you today, abundantly. love, Caddo

    Reply

  7. leamuse
    May 02, 2012 @ 18:01:13

    J’adore beaucoup les chats! πŸ™‚ My best friends are cat people! I really enjoyed this.
    LΓ©a

    Reply

  8. Ina
    May 02, 2012 @ 18:47:34

    Hi Christine

    lol they sure are aristocats πŸ™‚
    I like the upstairs downstairs theme here and I can relate:
    today I was babysitting and one of the cats there peed on the floor. It sort of took for granted that I cleaned it! πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs xx
    Ina

    Reply

  9. Pete Armetta
    May 02, 2012 @ 19:21:04

    I’ve always said that my cat lives here, and I’m just his tenant. πŸ™‚ Great poem, very elegant and melodic, I like it.

    Reply

  10. Martin Shone
    May 02, 2012 @ 19:31:47

    Wonderful, Christine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. journeyintopoetry
    May 02, 2012 @ 20:22:41

    Hi David

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment! For some reason best known to WP I had to moderate your comment and instead I pressed “trash” (I hate that word!! LOL:) ) I’m sorry. You can resend it if you would like but I am saying thank you here just so you know I wouldn’t ever dream of “trashing” (*wince*) any of your comments! πŸ™‚

    Christine

    Reply

  12. Thomas Milner
    May 02, 2012 @ 22:42:05

    Wonderful as usual, Christine!

    Reply

  13. tikarmavodicka
    May 02, 2012 @ 23:57:32

    Hi Christine,

    What an absolutely delightful poem!!! The photos too are soo cute!! πŸ™‚

    It bought back many good memories of being owned by my feline companions.
    My Jakob decided if we sat at the table so would he. He would sit in his chair waiting paitently to be served (not at the table!) I was impressed by his seeming desire to be treated human like…I think he may have heard about the cats in Egypt being worshipped as gods…*lol*.
    Thankyou for sharing such a cheerful poem. This has started my day on a wonderfully bright note. πŸ˜€

    With much love and
    ((((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxxo
    p.s. re: trashed comments.
    The trash box has to be emptied manually, so if you go into your trash box you may yet still be able to retrieve any lost comments. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 05, 2012 @ 11:32:51

      Thank you so much Tikarma, your comment leaves me with a big smile as I picture Jakob waiting for his meal! :):)

      I think I actually do worship mine like gods! LOL πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the PS regarding “trash” – I still tread very much in trepidation around computers!! LOL πŸ™‚

      Much love and
      (((BIGGEST WARM HUGS)))
      ]
      Christine xx

      Reply

  14. Linda Willows
    May 03, 2012 @ 02:31:53

    Delightful and Insightful!!! I loved this poem and special photos too. Must have a cat, as I do, to understand. However much I try to rule my cat, he remains King, in fact after the last “discipline” which ran the course of a week of behavior modification, he now gets THRee meals a day instead of two. What happened?

    Reply

  15. Poetry & Icecream
    May 03, 2012 @ 11:06:26

    It sounds like an episode of Downton Abbey but yes, I understand the cats living like this. A delightful poem πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. Emma
    May 03, 2012 @ 20:28:04

    Oh, they do know they’ve got us wrapped around their little paws don’t they. This is sweet, Christine…great fun to read.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 05, 2012 @ 11:37:26

      Thank you Emma – they certainly have me wrapped round al their paws to the point where I won’t ever disturb them even if they are in my favourite chair! I will submissively sit somewhere else! πŸ™‚

      Christine

      Reply

  17. granbee
    May 05, 2012 @ 15:03:52

    These two felines have their priorities in order, do they not? Wonderful photos and wonderful poem, Christine! My MissFluffy totally agrees with this lifestyle, I can tell you!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2012 @ 17:08:26

      Thank you Rose!

      MissFluffy would be very welcome to share a sofa of the elite any time – I promise to be there to serve uncomplainingly!! πŸ™‚

      Much love to you

      Christine xx

      Reply

  18. Betty Hayes Albright
    May 07, 2012 @ 23:50:12

    Isn’t that the truth about cats?!!! We’ve always had cats, and love them – but it’s true, they train US, not the other way around. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. Fergiemoto
    May 09, 2012 @ 01:18:34

    So charming and fun! Yes, cats do rule sometimes…they usually do what they want.

    Reply

  20. Thomas Davis
    May 16, 2012 @ 02:36:26

    This is the absolute truth. Dogs and cats rule us humans so effectively that we believe we are the masters! A great poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

