A quick Update

A quick update

As many of you know I am unable to use my right hand. Well – with overuse, my left hand has started to complain and, as I was obviously not listening to it closely enough it is now shouting at me in the form of tendonitis and osteo arthritis.

This morning I had a hospital appointment and I am now elegantly decked out in a very restrictive (and I have to say ugly) hand and arm splint. I wish I was near enough to you all for you to autograph it! πŸ™‚

I have been told in no uncertain terms that I MUST AT ALL COSTS restrict my time on the computer to – well – toΒ much less than I have been doing. So this is to let you know that if I don’t comment on all your posts I’m not ignoring you, it’s a needs must thing for at least two weeks till my next appointment; I’m sure you will all understand. I am supposed to rest – I hate resting!!!! Hopefully when I see the consultant she will give me a steroid injection to encourage the healing process but that appointment isn’t till the 1st June.

This is a real bummer but I have to do as I am told – for a change :):)

Thank you all for being here, you make my life so much brighter, Β and I will still be reading but the comments will be fewer.

72 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gerry
    May 11, 2012 @ 14:35:48

    Get a voice recognition program like Dragon Speaking Naturally.

    Reply

  2. dribblingpensioner
    May 11, 2012 @ 14:38:46

    Just get well Christine, we will be here when the hands get back to normal.

    Reply

  3. granbee
    May 11, 2012 @ 14:42:14

    Christine, you need voice-activated software! Anyway, we miss you here but want you to let your hand/arm/wrist heal most of all! Praying for you, dear girl! (Let Jack doggy-kiss the hand a lot, okay?)

    Reply

  4. Pete Armetta
    May 11, 2012 @ 15:20:37

    We have to rest and keep ourselves balanced. As consistently as possible. Not easy right? (again, note to self) πŸ™‚ This sounds like a good reason to watch bad TV for awhile haah Not the same without you, hoping your recuperate soon enough! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Lori DiNardi
    May 11, 2012 @ 15:22:39

    Oh, ack. I can relate. Do take care of yourself though. Wishing you quick healing.

    Reply

  6. Angela
    May 11, 2012 @ 15:23:08

    Rest and look after yourself, Christine. There is always ebb and flow in what we give and what we receive. Perhaps it’s time for you sit back, rest and allow yourself to receive love and kindness from all your family and friends. πŸ™‚ Sending you much love and light, xo

    Reply

  7. sandy
    May 11, 2012 @ 16:42:49

    So glad to hear they could do something about it! Rest and relax, and read!
    That voice thing might be good. But, my husband drives me crazy, talking to his iPad! I keep saying You talking to me???

    Reply

  8. Laurel's Reflections
    May 11, 2012 @ 17:12:13

    Oh dear! You have a MUCH better reason than I do for disappearing! Will be thinking of you and wishing you a speedy recovery πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. susanjanejones
    May 11, 2012 @ 18:15:15

    Relax, and plan some of your lovely poetry for when you feel better Christine. I’m signing your plaster, with lots of love.xxxx

    Reply

  10. Caddo Veil
    May 11, 2012 @ 18:53:56

    We all just want you to take care of yourself, Christine–really and truly! And I’ll step up the prayers from here (I’ll include some extra patience, because that’s what I always need!!). And I’m signing the splint too–“Lots of Love from Caddo!” God bless you abundantly, and with full healing.

    Reply

  11. bardessdmdenton
    May 12, 2012 @ 00:05:30

    You will never disappear from my thoughts…and I’m sure many others, Christine. I was just talking to someone the other day about voice software for working and writing on the computer. Hope you can work something like that out for yourself. In the meantime, my signature on your splint is full of love for healing and the poetry in your spirit! XO Diane

    Reply

  12. hollyannegetspoetic
    May 12, 2012 @ 00:58:14

    I can’t imagine how frustrating (not to mention painful) this must be Christine. Thinking of you and wishing you better times ahead. x

    Reply

  13. triciabertram
    May 12, 2012 @ 02:24:06

    Take care of yourself my dear cyber friend and DON’T reply to this comment. Save your computer time to share your poetry.
    Big hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

  14. leamuse
    May 12, 2012 @ 07:17:48

    Hi Christine, here is a “virtual” autograph for the splint along with a ton of wishes.
    Bon sante, bon courage et bon chance! No reply necessary. πŸ™‚
    Bisous,
    LΓ©a

    Reply

  15. Linda Willows
    May 12, 2012 @ 10:46:32

    Always will be here to Love you Christine!

    Reply

  16. Ina
    May 12, 2012 @ 12:28:27

    Hi Christine,

    give your hand the rest it needs and don’t try typing with your nose or anything, πŸ™‚
    I hope all will improve and wishing you the best!

    Love and hugs xx

    Reply

  17. Martin Shone
    May 12, 2012 @ 18:28:58

    Rest rest rest, Christine, OK and get better soon πŸ™‚ x

    Reply

  18. Francina
    May 12, 2012 @ 20:33:56

    Get the rest you need, dear Christie. As some of the others already recommended there are really good working voice programs. One of my friends uses the Dragon software and is very happy with it.

    love and hugs, Francina xxx

    Reply

  19. The Background Story
    May 14, 2012 @ 07:55:41

    Get well soon, Christine! We’ll miss you but we all know you need to stay away from the computer! – L πŸ˜›

    Reply

  20. Thomas Milner
    May 15, 2012 @ 09:01:06

    just stay away from that computer, Christine and get well soon!

    Tom

    Reply

  21. Betty Hayes Albright
    May 16, 2012 @ 02:20:48

    Christine, I’m just catching up on reading – sorry to hear about this latest frustration. (I can empathize!) Just take care, and hopefully you’ll heal up and be able to post more soon. (The voice recognition software sounds like a great idea.) Sending love and hugs to you!

    Reply

  22. Thomas Davis
    May 16, 2012 @ 02:22:23

    Christine, please do not answer this. Take care of yourself. I almost never respond to comments. Ethel is as bad at responding to them as I am. I know I should, but the truth is that I am endlessly busy. I am the Provost of a small college, which means that I am the Chief Academic Officer, I have a wonderful wife, children and grandchildren, I have to find some time to read, and I enjoy reading what other people on wordpress write. Something has to give. Most people who know me do not believe I have time in my life for a blog, no less writing poetry. So, though I appreciate getting comments, I don’t respond to them very often, and this means that you do not have to either. It’s okay.
    Scriptor Obscura, absolutely one of the best writers on wordpress, got so worn out trying to keep up with her comments, I believe it wore her down. You can read with typing, smile without typing, and, if you have voice recognition software, write without typing. Take care of yourself first, I tell my students. Then maybe you’ll be able to take care of others. DO NOT RESPOND! Get stronger.

    Reply

  23. journeyintopoetry
    May 16, 2012 @ 10:38:30

    πŸ™‚ – sorry! Just wanted to leave a smile

    Reply

  24. Eve Redwater
    May 17, 2012 @ 11:48:11

    Aw, Christine… I hope that your hand is feeling more rested by the day! All the best to you, you take care! πŸ˜€ xx

    Reply

  25. Fergiemoto
    May 17, 2012 @ 17:30:34

    Wishing you a quick recovery! You really must rest. The computer will still be there after you heal.

    Reply

  26. belfastdavid
    May 20, 2012 @ 11:27:13

    Just wanted to leave a warm thought on here for you

    Huggle πŸ™‚

    Much Love

    David

    Reply

  27. journeyintopoetry
    May 20, 2012 @ 12:05:58

    Oh David, thank you!!:):)

    I think you know how much this means to me.

    A great big huggle back to you πŸ™‚

    Lots of love

    Christine xxx

    Reply

  28. hellopoponta
    May 21, 2012 @ 07:25:28

    I hope that you get well soon.
    BTW, I admire you greatly for your adamance to stay clear from those comfy trousers with infinitely stretching waistbands. I myself gave in years ago, and yes, my waist now bounces like a helical spring every time I walk down the stairs.
    Ayano xxx.

    Reply

  29. Harry
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 18:20:44

    Your invite has been sent Christine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  30. Thomas Davis
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 03:01:35

    I keep checking in here Christine and will continue to do so. I hope you are recovering. These things are not always easy to deal with. Our family keeps running into one incident after another. The latest is that my youngest brother is going in for major surgery on Friday morning. But we keep our spirits up the best way we can. You are missed and deeply appreciated, especially the strength of your courage. Be well, Tom

    Reply

  31. Christine Moran
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 10:17:38

    Thank you Tom!

    This was a really heart warming comment to receive this morning, as I am still struggling and in a great deal of pain, so this comment will be a little short. But it carries with it huge sentiments of gratitude for your concern. I will be given a scan and a steroid injection in the next few weeks to hopefully kick start a healing process.

    I sincerely hope your brother’s surgery goes well on Friday and I also hope you are continuing to recover well after your treatment. My thoughts are with you.

    Christine

    Reply

  32. Christine Moran
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 14:43:16

    Thank you so much Another Tom!! πŸ™‚

    This is a very very much appreciated comment and is treasured.

    I certainly will “stick in” (this actually brought a tear as it was my dad’s favourite expression to me when things ever got difficult πŸ™‚

    I hope you also continue to stick in and are feeling well πŸ™‚

    Christine

    Reply

  33. Harry
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 18:15:52

    Christine your invite has been sent to you.

    Reply

  34. Poetry & Icecream
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:15:00

    Sorry for the late response Christine but I hope you have healed well. We can’t do without your posts πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:21:48

      Thank you so much for this comment Norma. It’s much appreciated.

      I am still struggling and awaiting an injection in my hand which I have just found out today is now scheduled for next Tuesday the 26th.

      Fingers crossed! – I so miss WP and commenting on everyone’s work πŸ™‚

      Christine

      Reply

  35. Barbara Markway
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 21:47:44

    Wow! You certainly got a lot of comments on this! You commented on my self-compassion project blog and I just read this. I have restricted use on the computer, too. I’ve been trying to learn a voice activated dictation program called “Dragon Naturally Speaking.” It is not the way I like to write, though. I also feel badly that I can’t comment as much on people’s blogs, reply to comments, etc. I hope you’re healing. I’ve had one cervical spine surgery, but then was diagnosed with thorasic outlet syndrome, which no one has ever heard of…

    Reply

  36. Barbara Markway
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 21:49:28

    P.S. I’m just now reading everyone’s comments and see you are still struggling. I hope the injection helps! Don’t reply to this πŸ™‚ Save your hands.

    Reply

  37. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 08:34:10

    Hi Barbara. Don’t tell me off for replying, I just had to!! πŸ™‚
    I am using my time on the computer wisely at the moment and I think a reply to you is wise!

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog sand for your comment. I found your blog via Toni Bernhard, whose book I have just finished reading. It came to me, as some things seem to do, just at the right time and, as I told Toni, a sense of calm I haven’t felt for a while, came over me every time I picked it up and read a bit more. And that’s without even beginning the practices.

    I am so pleased I found your blog and your post just spoke to me so very much; I related to every single word. How much can sometimes be said in a few simple but profound words! Just lovely.

    I have been advised to look into the Dragon speech thing too but I keep resisting because I can’t imagine writing that way. Maybe I should try it though. I am great at “contempt prior to investigation”!! as Herbert Spencer said (or William Paley – it is apparently disputed). Anyway for now I use one finger on my left hand!!

    I actually had two steroid injections in my hand yesterday so I am now hoping it may improve at least a little. These injections were delayed because over the last month I had a bad MS flare up which has affected my vision. So treatment for that took over.

    I have never heard of the syndrome you mention either. How does that affect you?

    Your post led me to write a little poem; it hasn’t even gone onto paper yet, it’s still in my head so I will give birth to it here for you!

    Being Realistic

    Be aware, be mindful,
    awake to the moment
    but look forward too,
    make plans.
    Plans are good; they
    give me hope, purpose
    and help me achieve goals.

    As long as I remember I
    am not playing in the
    World Cup!

    It’s really good to meet you and now my time is up!! πŸ™‚

    Love

    Christine xx

    Reply

  38. Harry
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 19:08:33

    Its nice to hear your still about, are you not getting any better, waiting for you on poets corner πŸ™‚

    Reply

  39. journeyintopoetryj
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 10:25:00

    Hi Harry,

    It’s good to hear from you. I have had a big struggle recently. As well as the hand thing, I had a big flareup of the MS about 5 weeks ago which has put me back even further. This affected my vision and I had to have huge doses of steroids which mess with you both physically and mentally. However, I think I am on the mend from this and I am beginning to feel a bit stronger.

    I will be on Poets’ Corner asap and I am looking forward to it. I just have to be careful how much I am typing at the moment too so I can’t comment too much on others’ blogs. It’s all very frustrating.

    Thanks for your care and concern πŸ™‚

    Christine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

