Another Update – plus a poem!!

Hi everyone!

Here’s another update so that you all know I am still alive πŸ™‚
I have had a difficult 6 weeks or so with an MS flare up affecting my vision. As a resultof this I had to have an updated brain MRI scan so I thought I would just share theexperience of this with you! My vision is improving slowly but it may take a while,. So together with that and the fact that the steroid injections in my hand don’t appear tohave worked I am still not going to be back here as often as before but I will post now and again. And please accept my apologies if I don’t comment quite so much on all your
great poetry; I am still reading it!:)

MRI Scan

She asks what music

I would like to listen to;

I suggest Vivaldi.

Confident nod of approval;

I can be accommodated.

Then she asks if I am okay.

I tell her I’m fine;

What else can I say?

Besides, does she really want

to know?

She has a list to get through.

The bed glides mournfully along,

reluctant coffin into the unknown.

I grip the panic button, but not

too tight so it bleeps;

they will bring me out and I will

have to go back in again.

I wasn’t aware that Vivaldi had

composed The 1812 Overture;

can’t hear it much anyway,

gruesome noises magnetically

resonate images of

inflammatory changes, playing

games with my brain.

I try to think of pleasant things

but draw a blank.

So I decide to smile instead;

it works.

The return journey begins,

slow but less mournful.

I haven’t been cremated after all

and amazingly, the sea-sick greeni

walls look exquisitely appealing.

I could never be a potholer.

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hollyannegetspoetic
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 09:57:29

    Hi Christine – it’s nice to see you here, however briefly. I’m sorry to hear you’re having such a rough time still… sending positive thoughts your way. But also wanted to say what a wonderful poem you’ve created from the MRI experience – it’s creepy and wry and poignant.
    Take care. x

    Reply

  2. Thomas Davis
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 13:48:07

    Christine, it’s nice to see a new poem. I went through MRI not that long ago, but did not really have any reaction at all, although perhaps I should have. This is a powerful poem, touching your anxiety, describing perfectly the feeling of impersonal care by hospital people with more to do than they can possibly get through during a day, but still wanting to make your stay bearable if not pleasant. Hang in there. A lot of us check this space on a regular basis, but you have to take care of yourself first. As long as you’re okay and surviving day to day and seeing the sunshine, which you are always good at noticing, the rest of us will also survive.

    Reply

  3. Harry
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 14:51:16

    I hope it turns around for you soon.

    Reply

  4. renaeclare
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 15:16:59

    Christina! I am so happy to see your poem here today! You have been missed and I hope to God that you were feeling so much better. Unfortunately, I know just how you feel this godforsaken MS and the mess that it creates in every corner of our lives you know I am right there with you giving hugs and kisses on the cheek and holding your hands wherever you go. You are loved!
    Renae

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:26:34

      Hi Renae!

      Thank you for your lovely comment πŸ™‚

      I am improving slowly thanks, but it is slow, and of course when I am recovered from the relapse I still am where I was before with the MS which isn’t a very nice pace to put it mildly!

      You are now on my list of friends’ blogs here but I am still working out how to put you on my blogroll. I have a new computer and everything looks different! Lol πŸ™‚

      Your book is amazing but I have already told you this! πŸ™‚ My new favourite word is “clusterfuck”! It just describes so much so well πŸ™‚

      With lots of love and warm (((HUGS)))

      Christine xx

      Reply

  5. granbee
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 19:03:34

    Christine, only YOU could turn time in “the tube coffin” into such a wonderful poem! Praying for you! Love the last line about never being a potholder! Too wonderful!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:28:38

      Thank you Rose, for this fab comment!

      I am missing you all so much here but it’s good we are in touch on fb!:) And we have twin 2 year old engineers!! lol πŸ™‚

      Much Love

      Christine xx

      Reply

  6. samatwitch
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 20:45:52

    What a wonderful descriptive poem, Christine. Did they really play the 1812 Overture as being from Vivaldi? (Also, I love it but it’s not exactly a relaxing piece of music!)

    Anyway, I hope your vision clears up and your hands become less painful. I’ve had cortisone shots for my back this year. The one on the right side did make a difference. Well, so did the one on the left; unfortunately, it made it much worse!

    Come back and post poems whenever you can.

    Gayle

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:33:37

      Thank you Gayle for this lovely comment.

      YES! They did give me the 1812 Overture! They could have met Vivaldi half way between lol, the difference was a bit extreme to say the least! The assistant apologised after and told me Vivaldi had gone missing!

      And re the injections – I honestly think it’s worse now than it was before – I am beside myself in pain and just awaiting my next docs app to see where to go from here.

      Good wishes

      Christine

      Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 00:15:49

    I love it Christine–and I’m so glad to be here, commenting for you, as Betty and I were just speaking of you today! I’ve missed you more than I can say, and will continue praying that you’ll feel up to joining us more often. Don’t ever forget how much you are loved–not just by many of us here, but by Jesus “who wants you for a sunbeam!” God bless you abundantly–you’re a wonderful inspiration to us. You’re just wonderful, period!! much love, sis Caddo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:40:38

      Caddo this is a beautiful comment – thank you so much, it has really uplifted me.

      To think when I played piano for my Nana so long ago, such significance would come so many years later from the sunbeam hymn!! πŸ™‚

      Lots of love to you

      Christine xx

      Reply

  8. triciabertram
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 02:00:26

    Dear Christine,
    It’s so good to read your words again and what powerful words. I wonder if I could have your permission to share your poem with a pyschologist who works with the chronically ill. We are putting together a workshop for some of her students using writing and poetry as a means of helping them to gain more empathy and understanding of life through their patients eyes, the ultimate goal being caring for the whole person, not just the illness. (just a yes or no answer will be fine as I’m mindful of your present difficulties with the comuter)
    I’m so sorry life has so challenging for you.
    Big hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 09, 2012 @ 14:33:24

      Thank you so much Tricia.

      Of course you can use the poem, I would be honoured that someone would want to use it. And it’s one of the reasons why I write them in the hope they may help someone else.

      Thank you for this lovely comment

      I hope you are well.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xxxxxx

      Reply

  9. triciabertram
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 02:01:48

    Would you believe I meant to write computer! Silly Tricia.

    Reply

  10. bardessdmdenton
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 16:15:33

    Love you, Christine, and send so much healing to you everyday! I am so glad to see you here, even a little,, your poems in all seriousness full of wit and wisdom, in the moments, for all they offer bad and good. You are an inspiration. Blessings, Diane XO

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:46:45

      Thank you Diane for this lovely heartfelt comment. It has lifted me so much.
      I can’t wait to be here more but I have to be patient!! Aaarrgh!! πŸ™‚

      Much love

      Christine xx

      Reply

  11. Francina
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:42:26

    Good to see you here , dear Christine. Take your time though. Your MRI poem is very good, very well described. And as always there is that touch of wit in your writing. Hang in there sweetie. Love and hugs, Francina xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:49:04

      Thank you so much Francina, for this lovely comment and for your care and concern.

      I am improving slowly on some fronts, at least, and will be here more as and when I can.

      Love and (((hugs)))

      Christine xx

      Reply

  12. Martin Shone
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 20:19:36

    ❀ Christine xxx

    Reply

  13. Emma
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 21:50:48

    Hi Christine, good to hear from you after all these weeks. Glad to hear you are recovering well, and hope to see you posting more now that you’re beginning to feel better. This poem chills me…I hope I never have occasion to experience an MRI. Take care πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Shirley Alexander
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 07:11:10

    Christine,

    I think you captured it quite nicely. It is an isolating experience, giving yourself entirely into the hands and experience of others, which always prompts me into a bit of soul searching.

    For me, knowing something is looking inside my body makes me feel like it sees more than physical images. All my secrets, even the ones kept from myself, seem to be pulled into the open and examined. Though I am dressed, I don’t think I ever feel more naked. And I, like you, have had too many such experiences these last few years.

    I am pleased to see this post. It tells me you are at least feeling better enough to write a poem and share it.

    Much love and prayers from the heart for you.

    Shirley

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:54:25

      Thank you Shirley for commenting.

      I am going to have to be patient (can you tell me what this word means please?? LOL:) )

      But yes, it is good to feel well enough to write and share so that’s progress πŸ™‚

      Much Love

      Christine

      Reply

  15. The Background Story
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:02:25

    Get well soon, Christine! Love how you captured the claustrophobic feeling of being in an MRI scan!

    Reply

  16. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 09:55:40

    Thank you so much BS!

    I look forward to the day I can be back here more often πŸ™‚

    Christine

    Reply

  17. leamuse
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 12:01:15

    Great poem. You have so many of us out here (around the globe) sending you thoughts, prayers and tons of positive energy. I choose to believe turn-around is just around the corner. πŸ™‚ You are missed but as others have said, you must take care of yourself first. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Jane Thorne
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 17:22:46

    Your courage shines through Chris, especially in the poem. Much love and hugs to you xxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 08:59:45

      Thank you Jane! This is a lovely comment and one that spurs me on πŸ™‚

      Lots of love and hugs to you

      PS I must be feeling a bit better I can feel a teapot coming on! πŸ™‚

      xxx

      Reply

  19. Harry Nicholson
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 14:52:02

    This is a superb poem, Christine, tension and humour mixed. Fancy being in the mri tube to the strains of the 1812 – it would feel like a space shot!

    I’ve had couple of those scans ( on my head) and wondered if my marbles were being rearranged. Something happened, since then I respond quicker to a glass of beer.

    Reply

  20. Journeyintopoetry
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 15:14:44

    Thank you Harry for this lovely comment.

    It’s bad enough going in one of those things but when they put your head in the dreaded cage… I just settled myself ‘nicely’ in waiting for Vivaldi to soothe me when…!

    Good news is that the inflammation in my brain is settling and my vision is improving.

    Not sure about the marbles though! enjoy the beer!

    Christine

    Reply

  21. Wendell A. Brown, aka. The Brown One Poet
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 12:10:07

    Christine, i am really feeling you as i had to mri’s and one ultrasound in the same morning. I recently started realizing that sometimes when i leave comments i am omitting words, and misspelling some also. Then i realized from reading that those things can be a possible side effects. I always try to share as much as possible of what i write…and when the changes happen, it makes me think sometimes its a wise decision. Your ms is not in your spine is it. They say as long as its contained in our brain area, that it will not be as bed. Stress I find also triggers the episodes. And being a pretty good athelete throughout my life…i have in the last three months begun to keep a good cane close by to me if i have to walk a certain distance…i find that i sometimes lose my balance. So i figure its better to be safe than sorry! Do you have some of those problems also. Your poem was written very nicely and i really enjoyed it. Thanks for visiting my site also…it was a sweet delight!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 22, 2012 @ 15:12:51

      Hi Wendell,
      Thank you for this comment.

      Yes I definitely know that stress can trigger things with my MS so I have to work hard to keep it to the minimum.

      Over a period of just three years I now have an FES fitted to my leg to help lift my dropped foot and I now have a four wheeled walking aid don’t now feel confident anywhere without it and my balance has become much worse since my latest episode. A far cry from where I was a few years ago and on some days very difficult to accept and manage. It’s the unpredictability of the whole thing that gets to me. That’s why it is so important to keep living just in the day; that approach keeps things more manageable.

      I look forward to reading more of your lovely posts

      Christine :0

      Reply

  22. Fergiemoto
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 02:19:52

    Glad to see a post from you! Keep resting and healing.
    I understand the experience with getting an MRI. I have had several in the past and it is no fun.
    Sending you many well wishes and healing energy!

    Reply

  23. Betty Hayes Albright
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 05:19:01

    Christine, sending love and more hugs to you… I’ll be thinking of you!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 15, 2012 @ 15:26:28

      Thank you Betty.

      The MRI went ok, revealed optic neuritis, but is now gradually improving. Just another
      trial of the MS unfortunately which happens from time to time. It can be frightening especially when vision disappears.

      I hope you are healing well, back pain is such a horrible thing to suffer, so debilitating.

      Lots of love

      Christine xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

