While Life Goes On All Around Me

It’s seven thirty, they’ve started early,
churn political expertise around in a rusty
cement mixer till it is smooth, creamy
and set into a new south faced existence.

Weary face in a timeworn van pulls up,
pours calcium into brittle bones of
daily life, his own rattled by plastic
progress; business is dead.

Lone jogger pads daily ritual to
crescendo, as a brisk breeze edges
its sharpness through the open window.

And here comes Boy Racer, dead on cue;
screeches to a tedious halt,
picks up his friend in the white shirt
with no tie.
They say he’s the clever one, Boy Racer,
can park his car on a postage stamp,

which makes me think about my life and
how, it seems, most of it fits onto a
stamp these days,
a small, watery blue one, second class,
lost in the post.

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Willows
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 12:34:39

    It is so wonderful to hear from you. I love the wit in you poem, it’s great! Love, Linda

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 12:57:13

    Hi Christine
    this is a very beautiful poem, though sad, how it feels for you, it looks as if your life is small now like a stamp, “second class, lost in the mail” (great how you make a bridge from the man parking as on a stamp to the last bit) .

    All those other lives just seem more interesting, but it doesn’t mean theyreally are!
    And think of that blue penny stamp, like the black penny, is that not worth a lot of money? πŸ˜‰ I think a lot of people would love to find that one that got lost in the mail.

    Love and hugs xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 25, 2012 @ 09:45:34

      Thank you Ina for this lovely comment.

      Your comment about other people’s lives made me think- I guess our lives are as interesting as we make them; it’s up to us! πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs xx

      Reply

  3. belfastdavid
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 13:56:28

    Christine,

    This is not a typical ‘Christine Moran’ poem methinks.
    But it is all the better for that as it shows how much your poetic voice has developed.

    Sad too I think – It caused me to pause and reflect on loneliness and on aloneness and on early morning thought patterns – some days just getting out of the chair is hard work!!!

    But there are people in this world who love us and as long as we continue to love ourselves we will carry on. πŸ™‚

    So we might just as well smile while we are doing it!! πŸ™‚

    Love you

    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 25, 2012 @ 09:50:07

      Thank you David.

      This comment is reassuring because it’s good to know I am beginning to be capable of ” branching out” a little with poetry. That nudge really started something!! πŸ™‚

      And yes, smiles are good – :):):)

      Love you

      Christine
      xxx

      Reply

  4. chronicpainsurvivor
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 15:23:41

    Well said!! I like your reference to the stamp & being lost in the post, some days it certainly feels this way. Sending hugs filled with sunshine πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Martin Shone
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 19:26:05

    Lovely poem, Christine ❀ xx

    Reply

  6. triciabertram
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 20:32:25

    My dear Christine,

    This poem holds so much. With each reading it nestles deeper, takes me to the places I sometimes want to avoid, but in truth I’m the better for the honest acknowledgement of your words. I believe it’s good for us to sometimes give voice to our truth, even though it may be a truth that those who love and care about us are not ready to hear.

    This is a brave, valuable, honest poem my friend
    Much love
    Tricia

    Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 21:17:37

    Wow, Christine–phenomenal poem, and very moving. God bless you today–love from Caddo, on her own little stamp!

    Reply

  8. Thomas Milner
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 22:10:22

    Hi Christine what a good poem! Honed through pain, I would think …

    Reply

  9. hollyannegetspoetic
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 22:33:14

    I think you’re more a first class kinda lady Christine – or even a Special Delivery.
    Good poem – lots of themes tied in there very cleverly.

    Reply

  10. leamuse
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 08:46:18

    Christine, Holly got that right! You are Special Delivery. A true Collector’s Item! Love the imagery. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Jane Thorne
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 11:59:10

    You are definately pushing your boundaries with this heartfelt poem Chris…it’s special, just like you. You are a unique and special stamp to us xxxx

    Reply

  12. bardessdmdenton
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 21:19:04

    Hi, Christine–not a small thing at all, to read a new poem from you, despite its sad tone, but large in its honest reflection. All I can add is–think of a star, so tiny to view in the sky, always shifting, often lost in the clouds or fog but no less there, larger and more brilliant than ever it will admit to. Sending you healing and uplifted spirits, with love and hugs, Dianeβ™₯

    Reply

  13. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:23:59

    Diane,

    Thank you so much for this comment. The image of the tiny star is gong with me through my day, thank you so much.

    Lots of love and waiting for the book!! πŸ™‚

    Christine x

    Reply

  14. tikarmavodicka
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 14:51:55

    Hi Christine,
    Wow! That opening stanza made me smile, the fluidity of your words rolling off my tounge and generating such a vivd image. You’ve come along way in your poetry!

    There is a melancholy in this and I thought about that and I think for me it’s the loudness of everyones existance in contrast to the quiet of your own. At least for me. Maybe because that’s where I relate. My life is very quiet by and large.
    Your poem caused me to reflect upon the value of living. I think sometimes we all suffer from a bit of “the grass is greener…” syndrome, especially when we see people doing things we can’t or hear or read about all these people living “fulfilled” active social lives. It can make one feel inadequte. But…because there is always one πŸ™‚ each persons life has value beyond measure. We can’t (or we shouldn’t) compare our lives to others because we each differ in our circumstances, intrests and abilities.
    Your journey and what you face each day is of great value and that you share it even more so. Intended or not, by blogging you reach out to others and enrich their lives. It’s hard to feel connected to others at times and I think as you get older or at least I’ve noticed you feel that twang of lonliness more. The desire to be connected to be a part or something with others gets stronger.
    Anyway as you can see by my rant *sheepish grin* I really enjoyed this poem and the way it made me think.
    Thank you for sharing such a great poem and as always for your honesty. I have missed your blogs and this made very glad to be back.

    with much love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:27:54

      Hi Tikarma,

      It’s so good to see you back and to know that you are healing well πŸ™‚

      I think what’s happening for me at the moment Tikarma, although the comparison with others was evident in the poem, is more a comparison between my old life and now. I am having to adjust to a “new normal” which I sail through some days and on others I just completely capsize πŸ™‚ It is then when loneliness emerges rather than aloneness and its subsequent, as I have heard lately from Buddhist inspired words,
      “glory of solitude”. This sounds a beautiful state in which to be; I am working on it πŸ™‚

      Much love and
      (((GREAT BIG HUGS)))

      Christine

      And a big (((HUG)))
      for Spalding! xx

      Reply

  15. renaeclare
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 17:00:55

    Hi Christina,
    Oh my God! :This poem Is so beautiful and so heartbreaking and I am touched to the core. You were born to write and from your pain comes your creativity. Isn’t that a crying shame? Today is one of those days when I’m not feeling quite up to par and thinking of your line about feeling like a second-class stamp ring group brings Blue watery read tears to my eyes. I hope you are feeling better and are healing from your ordeal. All my prayers and best wishes are being sent your way. I love you Christina.
    Renae

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:30:07

      Thank you so much Renae,

      Your words are always such comfort to me, as I am aware of what you go through on a daily basis too.

      You are often in my thoughts

      I love you too

      Christine xx

      Reply

  16. granbee
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 20:07:33

    Dear, dear Christine, you have a much more important role in my life, dear blogging friend, than “lost in the post”! HUGS!

    Reply

  17. Francina
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:58:34

    Dear Christine,

    Just to prove that you are not a second class stamp and you most certainly are not lost in the mail , I have nominated your for the Sisterhood Award!

    http://seasonspoetry.com/2012/08/28/the-sisterhood-award/
    lots of love and hugs,
    Francina xoxo

    Reply

  18. Thomas Davis
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 02:53:49

    Hi Christine, I have not been back here often enough I can tell, but then I have not been reading and commenting nearly enough anywhere. I am glad you are facing up to and embracing what you are going through. This is sadness in this poem, but also strength. You are still writing and that always takes courage, especially if the topic is not as full of sunshine as we would all like our lives to be.
    Boy Racer may be the clever one, of course, and you, for the moment may feel like a second class stamp, albeit a blue one lost in the post, but the truth is that you have way over a dozen comments, responding strongly to a poem that you have written, and that is quite a comment on a second class postage stamp lost in the post. I know something about physical disability and how it strains the spirit sometimes, but by posting this poem I know you are struggling still towards the light and I think that realization gives a certain, interesting resonance to the poem.
    Please be as well as you can be, Christine. Ethel and I are thinking of you.

    Reply

  19. journeyintopoetryJour
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 09:32:37

    Hi Thomas, it’s good to hear from you, and thank you for this thoughtful comment.

    I know each and every one of goes through our individual ups and downs, struggles with acceptance and such like. Since my recent MS flare up and it’s consequences I seem to be very finely tuned into mine and have become very alert to the progressiveness of this condition.

    However I keep on working at the mindful breathing and keeping things in the here and now and I’m sure my positivity will return.

    I am sending my good wishes to both yourself and Ethel and continue to enjoy your lovely poems and pictures.

    Love

    Christine xx

    Reply

  20. Betty Hayes Albright
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 05:16:40

    Christine, this is so very powerful and intense. I send hugs across the miles and hope you will continue transmuting your pain into wonderful poetry.
    With sincere empathy,
    Betty

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 15, 2012 @ 15:31:17

      Thank you so much Betty for this lovely comment.

      Your empathy is greatfully received and I send some back to you too, because I know you
      have been struggling too.

      Lets both hopwe for healthy days to come

      Much Love

      Christine xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

