At the Hairdresser’s

I look in the mirror,
head like Tin Man,
ask myself,
Why do I do it –
why not grow old
gracefully?

I ignore the reply,

immerse myself indulgently
in “Hello” magazine;
Victoria Beckham’s two year
old sporting designer clothes,
minor celeb from somewhere,
nowhere, Gucci heels,
Balenciaga bag,
sprawled outrageously over
a leather sofa to die for, and
the poshest of posh celebrity
weddings and all its
tacky trappings, until

“ping” – I am done, cooked to
perfection, all set to re-emerge
into my altogether more
sophisticated, intellectual world,
ready to resume justified criticism
of people who doll themselves up
and read trash.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AngelaMarie
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 12:09:25

    ❀

    Reply

  2. Pete Armetta
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 12:19:32

    Feels good, no? πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. leamuse
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 12:28:41

    I forgot to be graceful and went straight to train-wreck! lol πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. belfastdavid
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 14:53:32

    Ah Christine,

    Let neither you or I ever take ourselves too seriously πŸ™‚

    Love this one

    Love you
    David
    xxx

    Reply

  5. Caddo Veil
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 17:39:33

    Oh Christine, I LOVE this!! You’re wonderful!! God bless you–love, sis Caddo

    Reply

  6. Poetry & Icecream
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 13:06:18

    I love this Christine. Nicely done πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Ina
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 13:22:46

    πŸ™‚ Hi Christine, what a great poem! Cooked to perfection … LOL Hugs and love xx

    Reply

  8. journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 13:29:09

    Thank you Ina!

    It was fun writing it! πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

  9. Betty Hayes Albright
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 03:18:37

    This is wonderful humor, Christine! I enjoyed immensely. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Oct 23, 2012 @ 08:30:16

      Thank you Betty!

      It’s good to have a bit of fun. I always find myself laughing at me when I am in that chair! I actually hate going to the hairdressers but I am always quite pleased with the result so it’s worth it in a weird way! Lol

      Lots of love to you. I see you are having infusions. Are they steroids and for your back? Sorry that sounds nosy. It’s just I have had steroid I fusions for the MS and they can have awful side effects. So good .uck itch whatever they are.

      Christine xxx

      Reply

      • Betty Hayes Albright
        Oct 23, 2012 @ 22:26:52

        Infusions are for a major genetic defect recently discovered (that is the cause of 20 years of health problems). No steroids, luckily. I’ll try to message you more on fb when I’m able to. Sending hugs to you, and hoping you’re having a good week! πŸ™‚

  10. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 08:10:46

    Betty, my email is chrismoran@dsl.pipex.com if you would rather use this than fb

    Xxx

    Reply

  11. journeyintopoetry
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 14:52:13

    Betty my apologies if you get this twice, but I sent a reply on my IPad and it seems to have disappeared. It may well turn up.

    I wanted to say that we come to learn on here that we all have our individual struggles but it is so good that we can support each other. I feel so blessed to have met you, Caddo, Rose, Diane and others. I feel real friendship is being forged.

    I hope your infusions help and send you big hugs and love

    Christine xx

    Reply

  12. Francina
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 18:40:08

    Oh yes, if I look in a mirror, Christine! Delightful and funny read!

    β€œping” – I am done, cooked to
    perfection, all set to re-emerge
    into my altogether more

    it feels like that, does it not? πŸ™‚
    love and hugs, Francina xxx

    Reply

  13. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 18:30:53

    I love this – such an honest depiction of the hope and hopelessness that these visits to the hairdresser offer us! My mom refuses to go anymore – she has grown her hair long and I fix it in an updo for her. I’m HEADED there this week and I will be thinking of this poem the whole while I look like I’m from Mars and read magazines I would never dream of otherwise! It is so good to put it all in perspective. Diane XO

    Reply

  14. Fergiemoto
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 02:16:11

    Very nice Christine! I enjoyed the humor!
    I don’t go to the hairdresser very often. The chemicals and smells bother me. When I start going gray, I hope it will be gracefully because I probably won’t be able to get my hair colored.

    Reply

  15. My Inner Chick
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 12:45:04

    *** Gucci heels,
    Balenciaga bag,
    sprawled outrageously over
    a leather sofa to die for***

    I LIKE πŸ™‚ !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

