Fall(ing) Leaves

Image

Tinged with weariness of defeat,
they cling to a life that’s done
and wait.
Scudding clouds pass,
swift with purpose.

They fall,
and as their melancholy
greets the earth, rest.
They, too, still have purpose.

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 10:56:46

    Hi Christine.
    such a tender and melancholy poem, lovely 🙂 Love and hugs xx

    Reply

  2. belfastdavid
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 11:10:12

    Oh, this is lovely.

    I shall think of it each time I look at the tree outside my window. 🙂

    Love you

    David
    xxx

    Reply

  3. leamuse
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 11:31:53

    Chere Christine
    I imagine you with your arms outstretched catching all the falling gold. While Winter follows closely, never forget Spring is not far behind and anxious to be born! Love et bisous, Lea

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:01:00

      Thank you Lea!

      I was actually at the kitchen table having breakfast when the poem arived. I was pondering the remaining leaves on the tree in the garden. Then, of course, I had to go out in to the garden to take the picture)

      Lots of love

      Christine xxxxxx

      Reply

  4. Poetry & Icecream
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:26:23

    Great first line Christine and I like the melancholy tone. Nicely done 🙂

    Reply

  5. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 12:31:02

    Thank you very much Norma. This is a really encouraging comnent and much appreciated

    Christine 🙂

    Reply

  6. hollyannegetspoetic
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 22:08:27

    Lovely – even leaves have a place in things. x

    Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 23:41:01

    Excellent, Christine–I love it!! Hope you’re well–thinking of you! love, Caddo

    Reply

  8. Betty Hayes Albright
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 00:21:15

    Christine, I love this – “they, too, still have purpose” – so true of everything in nature (and life)!

    Reply

  9. Bodhirose
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 01:52:45

    Yes, I so agree…still has purpose… This is beautiful, Christine…perfect for the season. So nice to be visiting with you again.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 10, 2012 @ 15:04:28

      Thank you Gayle.

      I am pleased you are back.

      You have taken to poetry like a duck to water in my humble opinion 🙂

      Lo e

      Christine xxxxxx

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Nov 18, 2012 @ 15:48:41

        Thanks for the warm welcome, Christine…it’s nice to be back and posting again. Was feeling a bit sluggish there in the inspiration department. I joined in with some prompts though and got myself jump-started. 🙂

        I hope you are feeling well these days, Christine. Aren’t you enjoying all these nice people who are loving your writings?
        Gayle xoxo

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 17:05:42

      Sorry for the delay here Gayle. I have just had a rather nasty urinary tract infection which unfortunately goes hand in hand with MS then it takes an age to recover..

      But yes! I am overwhelmed by the comments I receive when I didn’t ever think I had an ounce of creativity in me! Thank you for being part of my journey.

      Christine xx

      Reply

  10. Francina
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 14:57:59

    Beautiful autumn poem, Christine! See you can write one too. 🙂
    The sky in your photo looks the same here , grey..
    Love and hugs, Francina xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 10, 2012 @ 15:07:45

      Thank you Francina.

      I so wanted to write one about Autumn. I didnt think it was goin to happen until at breakfast just looking out of the window, it was right there, in front of me! Lol

      Live

      Christine xx

      Reply

  11. bardessdmdenton
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 23:25:15

    This is absolutely lovely, Christine. It so ‘speaks’ to me … like a whisper from an angel … which, of course, it is. This is one of the most beautiful (multi-layered)poems about autumn that I have EVER read – and I mean it. I am so glad you are exploring and fulfilling your poetic gifts.

    I love ‘scudding clouds’
    and
    ‘They fall,
    and as their melancholy
    greets the earth, rest.
    They, too, still have purpose.’

    That so touched my heart … and comforted my spirit. Blessing and love and hugs. Diane ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryMour eyintopoetry
      Nov 11, 2012 @ 18:45:37

      Diane, thank you. Your comment means so much to me. You know how much I admire your writing and it is so encouraging to know that when I “branch out” a little it can work! I still feel very unsteady out of my comfort zone 🙂

      Lots of love and hugs

      Christine xxxxxx

      Reply

  12. Fergiemoto
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 10:47:07

    Beautiful, Christine! Yes, they do still have a purpose, and they hold on gracefully until they can no longer, and also surrender with grace. Last week I noticed some beautiful yellow autumn leaves holding on, until a big gust of wind came by and sent many of them floating through the air. It was beautiful. I just wish I had my camera handy.

    Reply

  13. countingducks
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 16:23:57

    Lovely gentle poem about a passing year. I always wonder about the few leaves clinging to their branches

    Reply

  14. triciabertram
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:26:49

    My Dear Christine,
    This is so poignantly beautiful. It speaks to me about so many things, the search for purpose in our health struggles and the slow ebb of independence.
    The metaphor makes me weep and smile at the same time, it has such depth of meaning.
    Your poetry is a treasure to me.
    I’m so glad you are a part of my life, albeit at a distance.
    Much love
    Tricia

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 12:34:53

      Tricia!!

      I’m so sorry!! lol

      I think I must be losing the plot! I have obviously clicked on your name by mistake to reply to Tom and Ethel. Oh goodness me, I cant even sy its the pressure of Christmas because I am not allowing such pressure to exist this year, I am too busy looking after myself so I keep okay for aty least Xmas day!

      Apologies!!! :)_

      Lots of love

      Christine

      PS I will try and get that message sent to the correct people now!!

      xxxxxx

      Reply

  15. journeyintopoetry
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:49:58

    Thank you so much Tricia.

    I am so pleased this poem holds many meanings for you.

    It is very much a metaphor for myself and how my life seems to be falling, and on a bad day I can feel it is over. But these feelings do pass and I know that like those leaves falling to the ground to make nutrition for the next season, my life – and yours – still have very much purpose.

    And I too am very grateful you are a part of my life 🙂

    Lots of love

    Christine xxd

    Reply

  16. Thomas Davis Ethel L. Davis
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 14:30:42

    The melancholy beauty of fall…
    May the leaves
    on the very tops of the trees,
    browned by frost,
    shine from a sunset sun
    as the great clouds
    of winter gather
    up the darknesses of the world.

    Reply

  17. lscotthoughts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 04:06:26

    Oh, this is lovely, Christine! You can see I’m going back in time, but I wanted to catch up on your blog a bit! Sending much love, Lauren xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

