I Never Liked Running Anyway

You appear one by one,
Blackadder in Spandex.
hands on hips,
whole breaths,
calf stretches,
Garmin set;
discuss PBs.
sub one-thirties,
possible rain –
and with a puff of
deliciously fresh
morning air,
you are gone.

I brew fresh coffee,
(strange how it smells
better than it tastes),
settle down, cat on lap
to read “Thought for the
Day”, reflect on the
wonder of things and the
anomaly of my life, when

there you all are,
strangers at the window,
hands on hips,
calf stretches, (lunges even),
Garmin checked;
discuss muscle strain,
tendon rupture,
shin splints, and a strong
possibility that running may
be out of the equation
for the next few weeks.

I don’t understand, I never will.
But I am appeased; I have a
cosy chair, coffee, a thought
for the day. the purr of my cat
and yes, the uncertainty of life.

But what I actually do miss
is the choice.

Image

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harry
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:11:00

    I never exercised in my life, i think its bad for you when you get older πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Pete Armetta
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:13:25

    This post made me feel lazy haha πŸ™‚ I do as much as I can and can’t do as much as I used to be able to unfortunately.

    Reply

  3. triciabertram
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:48:51

    Such a lovely journey of a poem and then the last two lines, they literally took my breath away. Your poetry is going from strength to strength.
    Big hugs my friend
    Love
    Tricia

    Reply

  4. Ina
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:56:38

    Hi Christine, a great reflective poem. Sport maybe is well overrated, I never liked running either and now I wish I could lol πŸ™‚ We have to be grateful for what we can I suppose. And it is a great sight, all those running and jogging people on a misty morning! We can enjoy that πŸ™‚ I hope your daughter recovered well from that knee injury, that’s her knee right? Big hug xx

    Reply

  5. Linda Willows
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 13:00:50

    I have always loved the quiet courage and honesty of your writing….this is no exception…..wonderful work, Christine, love, Linda

    Reply

  6. belfastdavid
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 15:00:46

    This is a terrific poem.

    The gentle, almost tongue-in-cheek nature, of most of it – then the powerful contrast in the last two lines.

    Really well done.

    I used to like running but nowadays I don’t see the point!! πŸ™‚

    Lots of love

    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:48:40

      Thank you David. I am aware you have had a preview of this one!!! πŸ™‚

      When I was at school and it was time for hockey my best friend and I used to choose positions at the top of the field so we wouldn’t have to take part much. We used to sing in harmony to Everley Brothers records,, then get shouted at when we missed the ball!

      A question for you, “are you surprised by this revelation?” – I think I already know the answer! πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  7. leamuse
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 15:11:17

    Christine, what a wonderful post! I am right there with you, coffee, cat (will have to borrow the neighbours) but most of all, the choice! xxxxx

    Reply

  8. Caddo Veil
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 03:41:36

    You always make us think and feel, and appreciate, Christine–thank you so much. And by the way, I LOVE the smell of coffee, but can’t drink it! God bless you abundantly today–much love, Caddo

    Reply

  9. bardessdmdenton
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 19:58:25

    Oh, Christine, another excellent poem! Again, you find an independent yet very relatable (and non-judgmental) perspective. The skill and effectiveness of your poetry comes from the way you bring a profound philosophy out of what you so vividly observe and describe, speaking from both your spiritual, mindful and physical awareness, not afraid to ‘speak’ your own truth which somehow – even without reading the comments here – reaches out widely. The last stanza and line are so powerful through seemingly the most gentle and innocuous words – the sense of peace as you sit with your cat and coffee and uncertainty, and the regret that a choice you may not have even have made has been taken from you. It really is beautiful and affecting. Blessings and love, Diane XO

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 16:04:57

      Diane, thank you so much for this comment. It has warmed my heart and I apologise for the long delay in replying but as you know I haven’t bern too well.

      It really would be my choice not to run but the wishing I could is unbelievably powerful. I would never have imagined, being put in the position I now find myself, that this would be such a huge issue for me, but it is and this poem just helped to dilute the feeling and bring a little humour in too. You always “get” what I am trying to say in my poetry so well:) it feels so reassuring to be fully understood. (I am uncomfortable with that split infinitive but I think its ok these days! Lol πŸ™‚

      Lots of love

      Christine

      Xxxxxx

      Reply

  10. Bodhirose
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 15:42:24

    Yes, it’s still always nice to have a choice even if we may not want to do something. I see your meaning. I hate running too!
    Gayle xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 16:10:30

      Thank you Gayle. Give me a stroll any day! Lol

      This is something that comes under the heading of wanting what we cant have. On a good day O can be onge t with what I have and can do but just sometimes

      Your little granddaughter is so beautiful…!!

      Christine xx

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Nov 24, 2012 @ 16:57:55

        There’s always going to be plenty of things that all of us can’t have or do…acceptance of what is, is the key.

        Thanks for the granddaughter compliment…she’s a cutie pie! πŸ™‚

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 17:15:04

      My typos are appalling!! apologies! I cannot keep blaming my “new IPad” !!

      I have started following a Buddhist path which is really helping me to come to terms with the concept that life is what it is and I can gradually work my way toward relieving my own suffering and achieving freedom. πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:13:07

        I adopted a Buddhist path many years ago myself for that very same reason. It is a very freeing thought to know that I am in control of how I react to suffering in my life. Yay, for us!

        No worries about the typos… πŸ™‚

    • journeyintopoetry
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:33:21

      Yay!! πŸ˜‰

      Xx

      Reply

  11. Francina
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 19:22:35

    Beautiful and touching poem ,Christine. A mind knows double standards , I think. Even though we find acceptance there is always the wish to make such decision like in your poem ourself. I always like the honesty of your poetry.
    love, Francina xoxo

    Reply

  12. hollyannegetspoetic
    Nov 23, 2012 @ 22:56:48

    I think the others have said it all, but I know what you mean about the choice – even the choice not to do things you wouldn’t want to do anyway.

    Reply

  13. journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 16:29:36

    Thank you Hollyanne

    I find it strange that this should have such a powerful effect on me but it does.

    Its all about wanting what I cant have and that is a massive area which goes way beyond running and is once again raising the ever present subject of acceptance. πŸ™‚

    Christine x

    Reply

  14. Thomas Davis Ethel L. Davis
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 14:26:48

    I wish, sometimes, that acceptance is not so much of what we actually own in life, but, as you say in this poem, that and regret, which is inevitable but does not do so much good I’m afraid, is central to what nobody can take away from any of us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

