Catpig

I drew a cat for him,
at least that’s
what I thought.
He looked at me,
suspicious eyes
full of knowing,
wry smile.
Was I serious?
Yes,  I was,
but two year olds
are smart.
That’s not a cat, he said,
it’s a pig.
He belly-laughed,
snuggled his tiny frame
against my eager warmth;
a moment shared,
intimate trust,
contentment.

I’m rather glad it looked like a pig.

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leamuse
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 13:35:26

    Don’t we live for moments/memories like those? 🙂
    You captured it so well.
    Love,
    Lea

    Reply

  2. Norma Martiri
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 14:21:16

    A special moment beautifully captured Christine 🙂

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 14:45:53

    Thank you David.

    It pleases me to know this brought a smile 🙂

    He is a little star.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    Xxx

    Reply

  4. mypenandme
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 15:09:10

    Wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Angela
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 18:25:02

    Oh, I love that Christine! “I’m glad it looked like a pig” – what a wonderful line. It says to me “I’m glad for love”. Gorgeous! x

    Reply

  6. hollyannegetspoetic
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 19:19:50

    So sweet and knowing… Lovely.

    Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 19:25:42

    Oh this is Wonderful, Christine!! What a precious experience–thank you for sharing it with us! I’m no artist, but definitely have a “mush-heart”. God bless you Big–Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!! Love, Caddo xxoo

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Dec 22, 2012 @ 19:49:23

      Thank tou Caddo!

      I never thought if myself as an artist , and litle Theo just confirmed it in no uncertain terms!! 🙂

      You have a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year too!!

      Lots of love

      Christine

      Xxxxxx

      Reply

  8. triciabertram
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:25:49

    Dear Christine,
    This is such a beautifully painted word picture. I felt as if I was sitting just across the room, listening and watching.
    Thank you for sharing this precious moment.
    Big hugs
    Tricia

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
      Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:34:06

      Thank you Tricia.

      The lovely thing about moments such as this is that they are ours to keep for ever and the only way they face is if we let them. This was so beautiful there is no way I will allow it to fade. I have many more tucked away from long ago still as bright as any star. And today, now my condition is grabbing me for all it is worth, these star.ime moents are more precis than e er.

      Lots of love
      And (((hugs)))

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  9. Ben Nelson
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 18:41:21

    i love the honest, and still acceptance that come from your little one!

    Reply

  10. Ina
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 08:22:24

    Hi Christine, that is great 🙂 He knows what he is talking about already!
    Love and a big Christmas hug! xx

    Reply

  11. Francina
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 14:00:53

    Delightful, Christine! Such a precious moment. I love the honesty and children’s logic. 🙂
    May 2013 be filled with many of these moments! Have a terrific New Year.
    love and hugs from across the creek,
    Francina Xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 14:09:38

      Thank you Francina!

      I love those special moments; he’s my little grandson and he provides me with many!

      Wishing you a happy and contented New Year

      Lots of love and warm
      (((hUGS)))

      Reply

  12. countingducks
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:55:38

    That bought a nice smile to my face as this year closes. These memories, and the way you captured it, are beyond price. I hope you have a lovely and fruitful 2013

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 13:12:36

      Thank you!

      2 year olds simply say it as it is don’t they?!! If being rubbish at drawing cats created this fabulous moment then I am fine with that! 🙂

      Sending you my good wishes for a peaceful and contented year. 🙂

      Christine

      Reply

  13. lscotthoughts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 04:00:58

    This brought smiles (greatly needed), Christine, and what a precious moment shared! Love and hugs to you! xoxo

    Reply

  14. Bodhirose
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 04:09:28

    Oh, I love to hear those belly laughs…even four month old Mira does them! Yeah, you can’t fool a two year old…nice try Grandma. All kidding aside…I love the love exchange between the two of you…the snuggle and the laughter. So sweet.

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 13:20:23

      Thank you Gayle! We have many precious moments as grandparents don’t we and so many more to come as they grow though each new stage.

      And we have another little jumping bean to be born early July!! So many reasons to keep me smiling. 🙂

      Love

      Christine xxxx

      Reply

  15. Marylin Warner
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 04:53:39

    Kids…our most honest–and funniest–critics!
    I loved this.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 10:24:45

      Thank you very much Marylin! And for the visit too. It is much appreciated.

      You are so right! I am on my second roubd of these wonderful critics now as this poem was about my 2 year old grandson. He is a delight and always inspires me to write something!

      Christine

      Reply

  16. Suzy Hazelwood
    Sep 24, 2015 @ 20:49:30

    Don’t know why I didn’t comment on this one before, I’m there with a like. It just made me burst out laughing!!! 😀 I can just imagine that little art moment – what a lovely memory, and he is so honest!

    You might wonder why I’ve come so far back in your archives? I’m hoping to revisit some of the writers I published in the first issue of The Writing Garden. It will be a bit random in selection, but the plan is to publish some more writing from most of them over time. I find it very difficult to choose with your writing Christine, because so much of it is well written, thought provoking and very enjoyable. But narrowed it down to this one because it created such a good response, I’m sure I won’t be the only one who is touched by laughter with this

    I know the last one I published of yours was such a tragic moment in your life, I thought this would be a perfect balance. I know, as I do, you like a good balance of happy and sad in what you write. So, would it be okay to publish this delightful moment in the November issue of The Writing Garden?

    I guess it’s going to be challenge on to find a picture for this one, I might just have to find one of a laughing child. You don’t by any chance have a good copy of the CatPig?!!! 😀

    Reply

  17. Suzy Hazelwood
    Sep 24, 2015 @ 21:25:02

    On seconds thoughts….I think I might have found a picture, on a clipart website. A bit of manipulation, and I’ve turned it into a drawing. It’s a pig that looks a little cat like, perhaps I could send you copy in a message on Facebook to see what you think?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 26, 2015 @ 11:34:46

      Wow Suzy! I had almost forgotten all about this! 😄 . How lovely that you want to include it with its accompanying lightheartedness, into The Writing Garden!

      It’s fine about an image; I will leave it up to you. I’m sure what you choose will fit perfectly. And thank you! 😄 x

      Reply

      • Suzy Hazelwood
        Sep 29, 2015 @ 17:48:46

        I love to include light hearted pieces in poetry and short stories/essays, they’re enjoyable for a lot of readers. I think it helps lighten the loads so many of us carry! The next issue will be published early November, you may find it before I get back to you, otherwise I will get back here to give you link, just in case you miss that one. Thanks so much Christine, always enjoy adding your writing to the magazine! 🙂

  18. Trackback: The Writing Garden ~ Issue Six | The Writing Garden

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

