Not Resolutions

More reading,
less face-booking,
an addictive pastime;
one hour is too much,
ten are not enough.

Face to face contact,
(I miss that),
except with doctors
who can provide no answers,
hand me an invite to the
next party in six months;
I know they do their best.

Exercise; this will involve
the bottom stair and me in
a few casual calf stretches,
unless the cat happens to
be resting there, then I will
leave it until tomorrow.

I will be kinder to myself,
let my dog make better use
of the stick I often hold to
beat myself up;
practice self-compassion,
maybe a little Mudita,
wandering in and out of my
Buddhist inspired lifestyle
depending upon current
level of acceptance.

These are not resolutions;
I’ve tried before and
they don’t work.
These are goals or aims,
a less challenging image,
one of sauntering sideways
rather than forward,
but a shift nonetheless
and better than standing still.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leamuseea
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 15:47:15

    C’est magnifique! No resolutions here either. Goals are good and I have a few of those myself. Well done my dear. XXxx

    Reply

  2. belfastdavid
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 15:52:36

    I was only this morning pondering on a strange thing –
    Despite your inability to get down the stairs before the toilet stops flushing, the world does not appear to have come to an end!!! πŸ™‚

    Not to mention that I find myself surrounded by evidence of the things you can achieve, which a few years ago you would not have believed you could achieve!!

    But I didn’t buy that cookery book – I figured I knew how to make cheese on toast.

    However I guess it would be as well if we didn’t point at rainbows πŸ™‚

    With much love

    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:08:12

      David thank you!!

      I am laughing out loud at this wonderful comment! And that’s a very good start to my new year.

      I am also smiling at the kindness of the comment too; you have reinforced something which I need to keep reminding myself, that life hasn’t come to an end despite my disability. And I am pleased that I have managed to surround you with some positive and hopefully cheery evidence πŸ™‚

      I think maybe you made the right decision re the cookery book! But cheese on toast still warrants the wearing of an attractive apron! πŸ™‚ And congratulations on the prize – we never know where our poetry might take us!! lol

      I am definitely not pointing at any rainbows this year! Stop me if I try!!

      With much love to you too

      Christine

      xxx

      Reply

  3. sophie walker
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:16:39

    This is a awe inspiring poem Christine…..and just my sort of thing…..goals and aims….and possibly a few dreams too….and I hope your dog enjoys playing with the stick you beat yourself up with, I may just send my stick up for him too…lol and I do hope you will not go to the opposite extreme with fb…..I love meeting you there and Christine, if I head up north I WOULD LOVE meet face to face once again…..masses of love and hope for an enriching year….xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:33:31

      Sophie thank you for this lovely comment!

      My dog would welcome your stick! Chewing them to bits is his favourite hobby!

      And don’t worry, I will still be on facebook enough! That aim was written with my fingers crossed!! lol

      How lovely it would be to meet up again! I feel we know each other so much better now than before you left! Please get in touch if you are ever up here πŸ™‚

      Masses of love to you too
      and I hope 2013 is full of hope and good things for you

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  4. restlessj
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:28:18

    You took the words out of my mouth! So much here that I can relate to.
    Good luck in the coming year! R.

    Reply

  5. countingducks
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 17:27:38

    I love your courage and humanity. I hope your pets give you the help you so deserve.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 17:40:32

      Thank you Peter. Your lovely comment is very much appreciated.

      My animals have become my very best friends; they bring more joy than I can put into words. And some people say animals dont have souls. I have my own opinion on that one!

      Christine

      Reply

  6. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 19:08:34

    Your poetry is so much yours, Christine! I know that may sound strange … but its influence comes so directly from you and what you see and feel, can and even cannot do – that is what makes it so special. Yes, it is so ‘easy’ to see the obstacles and to pressure ourselves to hurdle over them … but a little sideways shuffle may be just what the spirit ordered!

    Oh, I wish we could meet face-to-face … but meeting heart-to-heart, soul-to-soul is the next best thing for sure!

    Of course, I smiled broadly for this stanza:
    ‘Exercise; this will involve
    the bottom stair and me in
    a few casual calf stretches,
    unless the cat happens to
    be resting there, then I will
    leave it until tomorrow.’

    Blessings and love, Diane XXXOOO

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 12:17:23

      Hi Diane!

      Thank you! Your wonderful comment has so uplifted me. And I so wish we could meet face to face too. I just know we would talk and talk unril the early ours!

      There are no cats on the stair this morning!! πŸ™‚ i’d better sidle sideways toward the bottom one!! Lol

      Blessings and much love to you too

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 05:09:44

    Wow, this is genius–brilliant, Christine!! love, your “fan” crazy Caddo

    Reply

  8. tikarmavodicka
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 06:08:39

    Hi Christine,
    This is such a lovely, gentle and hopeful poem.
    I have to agree with no resolutions. Goals and aims are far easier to achieve and satisfying to take on. Better yet you set the time frame, not have to take on a time period that may not work for you.
    I do hope you will be kinder to yourself. It’s so easy I find to judge yourself too harshly. We can sometimes hold that mirror of “perfection” too close.
    You have made so many great strides and achieved so much and I wish you all the best in having an active and successful New Year.
    Your end lines reminded me of my own totem animal in life, the turtle. He’s slow and it sometime takes a long time for him to reach his goal. It doesn’t matter how slow though. It only matters that you keep moving. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing such a cheerful poem. It has given me a wonderful lift and big smile. πŸ™‚
    With much love and best wishes to you.
    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma.
    Xxxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 12:51:52

      Hi Tikarma!

      It’s lovely to see you here again!

      I am slowly learning to be kinder to myself. I have dropped a lot of the “shoulds” that needed shedding! But I still find it hard πŸ™‚

      Thank you for your lovely wishes; I really hope this year is good to you too. You need a break πŸ™‚ and I am looking forward to your new posts here on WP. You have been missed.

      Lots of love and big
      (((HUGS)))

      Christine xxxxx
      .

      Reply

  9. Journeyintopoetry
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 12:37:24

    Hi Caddo!

    Thank you!

    Just to even things up I am your fan too!! πŸ™‚

    Lots of love

    Christine

    Reply

  10. Francina
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 22:16:56

    oh yes, this is a gem in word and in thought, Christine. No resolutions indeed. Just goals and if it takes longer to reach them than we thought, they are still goals. Go get them, Tiger. I never make resolutions because I know I don’t keep them, goals are within reach when we don’t put the bar unnecessary high.

    Love and hugs,
    Francina Xxxx

    Reply

  11. Harry Nicholson
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 13:40:05

    This is a good one, Chris; particularly the stanza with the cat on the stairs.
    A little typo, easily corrected: the spelling – Buddhist.
    I’ve not seen ‘Mudita’ (sympathetic joy) used in a poem before; that is brilliant (though it will be opaque to someone without knowledge of the Dharma – but please leave it in!)

    Reply

  12. journeyintopoetryJourneyintopoetry
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 14:13:05

    Thanks Harry.

    And thanks for the typo correction – can’t believe I did that and didn’t spot it!!! I will go in and edit it right now.

    The reference to ‘Mudita’ got a few people looking it up! I have learned quite a lot this way,looking up words I am not sure of in poems! But seriously I do find, since my disability, Mudita is quite difficult to practice when I watch the family and my friends off doing things I can no longer do but used to enjoy so much; it is a difficult one for me.

    Hope you enjoyed The Hobbit!

    Christine

    Reply

  13. Harry Nicholson
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:21:08

    Chris, something wrong with your link at the head of your comments. It takes me to a wordpress statistics page.

    Apart from that, there is a mudita meditation (from Manchester Buddhist Centre). See this:
    http://archive.org/details/MuditaBhavana-SixStages

    That image of the carousel: the point where the horses leap free can be seen as the escape point from the round of action-reaction. We have a sense impression (it might be the sight of others having success), we react to it with something like envy, or craving to be like them. The horses might be seen to have said NO to that reaction, they are then free from that particular turn of the carousel (or the wheel). It’s not easy to say NO unless we become more mindful of the mind’s tendencies – that is where the mindfulness of breathing meditation lays a groundwork.
    It’s not easy. But any time Buddhist practice does not seem to be effective, there is recommended fix. The antidote is just to practice generosity – even if we don’t feel like it. Generosity seems weaken the hold of the ego and frees the true nature.

    best wishes
    Harry

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryrneyintopoetry
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:36:28

      Thank you Harry.

      And thank you for the meditation link, that’s great and very much appreciated.

      Your description of the horses coming off the carousel makes so much sense.

      And what fabulous advice about generosity. I will definitely try to practice this while putting into more regular practice all my mindful meditations. I would like to study all this deeper. I will keep going. i am very new to it, but it is just telling me it is my way to go somehow…

      Best wishes

      Chris

      Reply

  14. hollyannegetspoetic
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 11:45:47

    I have come late to this new years poem Christine – but I very much like the image of “sauntering sideways” and aims and ideas rather than setting hugely intimidating “must do” mountains! I might even try your approach myself! x

    Reply

  15. Journeyintopoetry
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:30:27

    Thanks Holly.

    Sauntering sideways is more than than good enough for me! Lol

    Christine x

    Reply

  16. lscotthoughts
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 03:59:02

    Wonderfully written, Christine, and I agree with your “goals” rather than resolutions! I really felt this line: “I will be kinder to myself, let my dog make better use of the stick I often hold to beat myself up.” I can relate to this, too, and I also have a dog, so it works! πŸ™‚ Wishing you healing hugs and lots of luck, my friend! xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 10:14:35

      Lauren, thank you for this lovely comment. And once again thank you for taking time to catch up.

      My lovely dog brings me so much comfort as I am sure yours does too. They seem to sense our different moods and act accordingly I feel. Jack, (golden retriever – except he is cream!) has been with me since my foot started to become weak and then through six years of investigation to arrive at MS. He has witnessed me trip, fall and end up with black eyes and bruises, calmly sitting by me and licking my wounds. I first got him when starting my new interest in walking. We only managed one long walk together before I started to fall and didn’t dare go out for any more long walks. He now has a dog walker who has become a lovely friend to me too.

      One of my aims for 2013 is to be brave enough to get a mobility scooter and maybe Jack and I can start sone short walks together again!

      Love and hugs

      Christine

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Jan 09, 2013 @ 14:40:52

        Christine, your comment brings tears to my eyes, thinking of Jack being so supportive to you and being in tune with your feelings. I can relate, as when Copper has heard me cry, he’ll come over to me and just sit by me and put his head on my lap. It’s unbelievable. He’s a chocolate lab, but a light chocolate, so it sounds like we share some unique canine aspects in our lives! We are both very lucky to have their unconditional love. I will pray that you and Jack have that moment together again, too! Lots of love, Lauren xoxo

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 18:15:11

    The colours of our dogs make me think of a creamy caramel type drink!! Lol

    Chocolate labs are beautiful! My youngest daughter is desperate for a dog. She wont get one yet because she is just going to start work after grauating as a social worker. But a chocolate lab is the one she would choose. I know she will get one eventually. And I cant wait for that time too!! πŸ™‚

    I will definitely keep you posted fegarding the sooter!!

    Lots of love

    Christine xxxxxx

    Reply

  18. Bodhirose
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 04:04:37

    I don’t do resolutions either, Christine…I’m sure there are bunches of us that don’t! Love your ‘cat on the step’ bit in your wonderful write and your reference to mudita practice too.

    I saw in your exchange with another commenter about possibly getting a scooter…I’ll bet your dog would love to go out “scootering” with you. Let me know if you do.
    Hugs,
    Gayle

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 13:25:27

      Thank you Gayle!

      I am starting to look into the different scooters now, there are so many! I will definitely let you know how I get on with this. I am determined to get there with this one, it will give me sone much needed independence back πŸ™‚
      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

  19. Dennis N. O'Brien
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 23:16:29

    Happy New Year Christine (a bit late) and good to see the writing flourishing.

    Reply

  20. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 10:07:43

    Hi Dennis,

    Happy New Year to you too!

    And thanks for the visit, it’s much appreciated .

    Christine

    Reply

  21. triciabertram
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 19:52:05

    Dear Christine,
    I’ve somehow missed this poem and the next one. I’ve almost 2000 unopened emails and one can move out of sight on my iPad before I see it. I think that needs to be a goal for me this year, either open them or let the delete button take them into the ether.
    I relate to much in this poem. It’s one I’ll return to, as you inspire me my friend. I’ve been at a month long pity party and I think it’s time I left.
    I’ve a Buddha that sits by my front door and sometimes when I’m struggling to get up the step I ask him what he’s grinning at. The word bloody appears occasionally in the question. Naughty Tricia swearing at The Buddha πŸ™‚
    I love the ‘sauntering sideways’ I do that whether I want to or not because of my balance issues, but as a metaphor for a mindset it appeals to me.
    Big love my dear friend
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:11:41

      Oh Tricia, thank you so much for this comment! You cheered me up and made me laugh out loud!
      We haven’t met and yet I can just picture you questioning, not so politely, the reason behind the Buddha’s smile πŸ™‚

      Yes I have huge balance issues too so its real and metaphoric for me as well!

      Big love to you too

      Christine xxxx

      Reply

  22. Fergiemoto
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 23:01:44

    I can so feel this poem, Christine! Wonderful!
    How have you been?

    Reply

    • Journeyi topoetry
      Feb 02, 2013 @ 10:11:52

      Thank you Fergie!

      I am doing ok thank you, plodding through the days trying to arrive at ” new normals” with conteded acceptance, “contented” being the word I argue with most!! Life is a roller coaster of emotion and when the ride is flat (which I would, in the past probably have thought of as boring) then I am very content, i have ma y blessi gs, the biggest is the support of a lovi g family.

      Christine xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

