Admonition

There’s a hammering on the door,
and again,
aggressive, unnerves me.
I never intended to keep the
money I found.

There are no handcuffs;
I have a parcel.
House numbers should be on the
house, not on the garage door;
he hasn’t got all day to be
looking for where people live.

“Sign ‘ere love”.
I tell him I can’t write;
he frowns, incredulous,
stylus hovers stubbornly
over a grubby screen.
Angry squiggle;
he shouldn’t be doing this,
could lose his job.
Drops the parcel at my feet
and goes,
nought to sixty in seconds.

Morning reprimand.

I must balance this out by saying that some couriers are extremely courteous
and understanding but others…

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Armetta
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 14:51:01

    Nice real life that anyone can relate to! 🙂 Great to read you again no doubt.

    Reply

  2. leamuseea
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 14:54:32

    As you know he was very inappropriate and rude. We can hope that there are not too many out there but I am afraid there are…
    xxXX

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 15:28:27

    Hi Christine, wow, that was a rude delivery! I also order a lot online but if this would happen to me, I think I would contact his boss and complain? Things like that make you feel bad and for what! The bloody rotter!
    Stay warm! Love and hugs xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 15:34:00

      Thank you Ina! You have expressed the anger I felt when it happened! I have calned down now and writing about it has helped too! If I get the same one again I think I will reprimand him instead of the other way round 🙂

      L&H xx

      Reply

  4. janetfine
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 16:03:31

    I feel very pity for this delivery man, not for you!
    How very miserable the life of this mean nasty bully must be.
    Remember, it’s all about him, not you! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Francina
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 16:40:19

    very well expressed, Christine. Some people do jobs they should not be doing me think, at least not when you a chagrin and nasty one 🙂 I think we all encounter them ever so often.
    love and hugs,
    Francina
    xoxox

    Reply

  6. countingducks
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 17:20:40

    This is mindless agression, formed of situations beyond your control, I sorry he upset you. Your distress is very understandable

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 17:28:11

      Thank you Peter.

      As I said at the end, some are very courteous and understanding, but it only takes one…, and complaining only serves to aggravate my distress so I need to let go. I am getting better at doing that as time goes by.

      Christine

      Reply

  7. hollyannegetspoetic
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 18:57:10

    Nice exploration of this particular human interaction. I always like how you don’t over-write things, yet the situation and emotions of both parties are completely clear.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 19:03:40

      Thanks Holly. I really appreciate this comment. .you know how much I respect your writing skills so this comment is reassuring for me. Because as well as writing about the experiences I am trying to get better at doing it.

      Christine

      Reply

  8. belfastdavid
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 19:04:57

    A lot of years ago I was advised that, in such circumstances, I should “pray for the bastards”

    The theory is sound!
    but I regret to say I am often found wanting in the practice!!! 🙂

    Look after yourself

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

  9. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:11:51

    Sometimes people in jobs like these forget that they are providing a service … customer service … which means their irritations being taken out on the CUSTOMER are not acceptable. You had me relating from the first with this one – the ‘hammering’ on the door’! It is jarring and does make one panic or – as you so cleverly implied – like ‘they’re’ coming to get us. Isn’t it amazing – how there are such angels in this world and others who are so rude and without understanding and compassion, often because they are so wrapped up in their own issues and think the world owes them something. To drop the package on the ground – actually, I do think you should complain!

    Your poetry is so distinctive my dear friend! You have found your voice and it just keeps getting more and more confident and spirited! Love and hugs, Diane ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:26:16

      Diane, thank you so much for this lovely comment. It is so much appreciated

      As I said to someone else I cant face the long process of complaint as it will just prolong my anger and distress. I think I need to let go and to a great extent I have done just that by writing this poem and sharing it with you all. The situation has diluted itself a little.

      And thank you also for saying I have found my voice. This means so much and is so very reassuring. It urges me to carry on because I am so very good at doubting myself.

      Lots of love and hugs

      Christine xx❤xx

      Reply

  10. triciabertram
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:26:21

    I hate when people I don’t know bang on my door. I yell I’m coming, but they still bang. I must confess more often than not I’m the rude one, not with delivery people but with sales people. I keep telling myself it’s not their fault that it’s difficult for me to get to the door. And I do apologise for my abruptness.
    This fellow is a disgrace. To be rude is bad enough, but to drop the parcel on the ground – it makes me cross to think about it. There could be a karma train heading for his station sometime soon.
    You’ve more grace than I my friend, and you’ve written this so ‘in the moment’ I feel I’m witnessing the incident.
    Love and hugs
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 20:34:01

      Again Tricia, thank you! And again you have made me smile re the karma train!! In fact I am laughing as I type this! And I can also relate to saying “I’m coming” and they carry on banging! I end up shouting “i said I’m bloody well coming, are you deaf?” But I say it far too softly, they could never hear me!!

      Your comment on this and my other poem have been a real tonic, Tricia, thank you so much.

      Love and hugs
      Christine xxx

      Reply

  11. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 23:57:25

    Some people have not yet learned compassion. Hopefully this one will “get it” someday. Great poem, Christine. (I have finished your book – it’s a treasure!)

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:55:45

      Thank you Betty! And thank you for dropping by, I know you aren’t having an easy time of it right now.

      Compassion doesn’t seem to come naturally to some people. They cant have much peace; thats my humble opinion anyway!

      Much love to you
      Christine
      Xxxx

      PS so pleased you are enjoying the book! 🙂

      Reply

  12. Caddo Veil
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 00:31:21

    Ooof! That’s the sound of me giving him a BIG kick in the behind! I’d no doubt have some words for him too, but they’d be so un-Caddo-like!! Love the poem–and love you MORE!!! your Caddo, xxoo

    Reply

  13. teeceecounsel
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:43:06

    Probably we need to setup stores that we can tag; “manners for sale”. Manners seem to be fast becoming a scarce commodity!
    Lovely piece!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:48:42

      Thank you veey much for your comnent.

      Yes I think you are right about manners; everyone is too busy and the important things in life get left behind.
      As others have said this person is to be pitied, he cant have much peace if he feels he needs to behave in such a way.

      I appreciate your visit and for taking the time to read

      Christine

      Reply

  14. Poetry and Icecream
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 11:42:14

    So rude!!! I hate people like that. Some people just don’t care about anyone or anything! So sorry you had to deal with this person.
    On a positive note, you’ve really expressed this real life situation so well in this poem. Love and hugs xxx 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 11:54:22

      Thank you Norma.

      Yes people like this can make us feel inadequate if we let them. And I must say that is exactly what I did on this occasion.

      Thank you fort the comment regarding the poem itself though. Maybe this negative person helped me to write a good poem! Lol

      Love and hugs xxxxx

      Reply

  15. Linda Willows
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:50:51

    Excellently expressed and written Christine! I could see and feel this so vividly as I read. What a terrible experience. You did keep your dignity, good for you! And this is a great poem! Sending all my love, Linda

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:59:27

      Thank you Linda, for your lovely comment.

      It was an awful experience, but there is always something to learn from things like this. And writing about it has been quite freeing! I feel quite sorry for him now I am standing back from the situation:)

      Much love

      Christine xxxxx

      Reply

  16. tikarmavodicka
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 22:26:12

    Hi Christine,

    What a terrible experiance to have in your day. You captured his impatience and rudness and your startledness at his behaviour perfectly. It left me wanting to slam the door on his sorry behind.
    I have to say I’ve been very lucky with couriers. We only have two who deliver in our region and luckily they are both very friendly. I have had a meter reader for the electricity though and he was the rudest sorry sod I’d come across in a while. I did complain largely due to the F word being dropped in his impatience. *shakes head* some people can’t see past their own issues to see you are a person too who deserves respect as much as they desire it.
    I could imagine this really shook you at the time and I hope it’s a once off!
    Thank you for sharing your experiance. It reminds me to be greatful for every person who remembers their manners.

    Much love to you
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:29:05

      Hi Tikarma,

      Thank you for your lovely coment, part of which made me smile. Beause if he had been anywhere near some of the commenters on this poem, he would have had a few bruises! Lol I tbink, with hindsight and afterthought, and being able to distance myself from the situation, he is to be pitied in a way.He cant be a very happy, content person to need to behave in that way.

      This was a. Ery therapeutic poem to write! Lol

      Lots of love and
      (BIG HUGS)))
      Christine xxxx

      Reply

  17. Fergiemoto
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 23:07:29

    Oh, I’m so sorry about this. It is so aggravating to experience such rudeness and lack of compassion.

    Reply

    • Journeyi topoetry
      Feb 02, 2013 @ 10:04:44

      Thank you! I’m over it now but with my personality there is a fine line between anger and falling apart in a heap of tears!

      Howe er I do think that coming across things like this can only make me stronger and a better person as I attempt to get the balance right 🙂

      I hope you are well 🙂

      Christine xx

      Reply

  18. Thomas Davis
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:41:02

    Yep. That’s the way it sometimes is. We all live so much inside our own lives. The guy probably had no notion of the impression he was giving. Poetry lets us see into other lives. That’s it’s strength. It helps to moderate the arrogance that goes with never seeing out of ourselves. This courier was guilty of living totally inside his rude self. I believe it was therapeutic to write.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:47:32

      Yes Tom, I agree who,eheartedly with whatyou are saying.

      And it was a very therapeutic write; it actually diluted the situation for me from a pungent solution to a very watery one! 😊

      Your comment is, as ever, very much treasured.

      Christine

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

