Trapped

Acceptance just flew away.

Accompanied two magpies as
they took off over gardens,
into distant fields now green again,
able to breath from welcome thaw.

I opened the door,
saw the grass,
sensed a sharp edged wind
as loving as it was harsh,
brush against a pale
complaisant sun.

And I wanted to run again.

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. countingducks
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 13:33:52

    I love the desire and the sense of movement you . The last line is powerful

    Reply

  2. Linda Willows
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 13:40:43

    a vivid and powerful poem, Christine! Love you! Linda

    Reply

  3. Jane Thorne
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 13:53:26

    Such energy in your poem Chris – big hugs xxxx

    Reply

  4. Ina
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 13:59:12

    Hi Christine,

    this poem is all about freedom I think. Lovely! 🙂

    xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 14:21:20

      Hi Ina, thank you.

      Yes it is about the desire for the freedom I used to have and the non-acceptance that thats not going to happen. Ive had a coupe of negative weeks. But I am in the process of getting a mobility scooter so watch out!! Lol 🙂

      Love and hugs xx

      Reply

  5. belfastdavid
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:51:21

    I understand that this poem was born out of frustration and pissed-offedness.

    Yet there is a sense of your spirit refusing to be beaten inherent in the poem which lifts my spirit.

    And I don’t suppose pissed-offedness is in the dictionary but I suspect you will understand its meaning!! 🙂

    Much love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 16:04:29

      Thank you David.

      Yes, you are right, it was born out of that lovely new word! 🙂 I think it will be added to my list of favourite words 🙂

      This spirit won’t be beaten; thank you for seeing that too. 🙂

      Wait till I’m hurtling around Guiseley at 8 miles an hour!! I could become very scary! Lol

      Much Love

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  6. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 19:19:01

    Oh, Christine, this poem is more than worthy of being published twice! It is profoundly powerful, with lines like:

    ‘sensed a sharp edged wind
    as loving as it was harsh’

    Such are the ambiguities of life … how even in its harshness it is offering truth and freedom from the limitations of our bodies and experiences, fears and doubts …

    It is about the liberation of the spirit! And your mobility in that context grows by leaps and bounds with each poem you write. Diane XXXOOO

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 19:37:57

      Diane,

      Thank you so much for this beautiful comment! It has moved me really deeply.

      I was in a strange place when I wrote it; one of negativity mixed wirh a burning desire not to give in to the feeling. And as soon as I felt that wind I knew there was still much purpose in my life.

      It has become a wonderful thing realising I can write how I feel. That in itself is very freeing.

      Thnk you for all your support and generous helpings of love. I feel blessed.

      Much Love

      Chrisine xxxxxx

      Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 20:15:31

    WOW, powerful words, Christine, packed into brief and lovely imagery. Great job, as always–God bless your day–love, Caddo

    Reply

  8. Poetry and Icecream
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 12:34:46

    Profound and powerful Christine! “Acceptance just flew away accompanied two magpies”…beautifully written! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Thomas Davis
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:36:18

    I’m having trouble getting anything done these days, but this is a strong imagistic poem and made me smile to see the magpies, which are all over Colorado in their black and white finery (don’t know if it’s the same bird) flying from the garden over the landscape.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:44:12

      Thank you Tom, for taking the time and the trouble to comnent. I tnink you know how much I appreciate this.

      We have two magpies who spend most of their time in our garden, sometines separately, but always checking in now and again to make sure the other is still there. Then just as I was thinking about how my a acceptance had disappeared, the two of them just took off, and the poem was born!

      Christine

      Reply

  10. tikarmavodicka
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 17:51:59

    Hi Christine,
    My apologies I am getting to this beautiful poem of yours so late. I’ve just had one those weeks. * weak laugh*

    I’ve read this over several times. You’ve captured such a percious moment. That urge to run. I’ve had that feeling for different reasons, but I can relate to the desire to break free and take flight with the sunlight and the birds.

    Your poem reminded me of an interview with a singer I like Tori Amos. She was talking about her mother and how once he rmother found herself in a wheelchair because of heart problems they had a talk.
    Tori’s mother asked her to look into the mirror and tell her who she sees.
    Tori said the most beautiful woman I know.
    Her mother said no, don’t get distracted, look again.
    This face that old is not her, this body that can no longer stand is not her.
    Who she is inside, is young woman running.
    The lesson being that our bodies are merely shells for the vital spirit that lies within and we do ourselves a favour by never forgetting inside we are all still young, running with the wind. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing such a lovely poem. It was moving for me.
    When I greet my local magpies in the morning I will think of you, vital and strong of spirit and making the most of every moment you have.
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    and much love
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox
    p.s. there will an email your way very soon! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      Feb 03, 2013 @ 19:01:26

      Thank you Tikarma!

      This is such a wonderful and beautiful comment. And I think it is one I needed right now on this very day, as I begin to embark on yet another set of “new normals”.

      I think we get to reach those “new normals”, to a certain extent, when we are ready, but I also tnink we need encouragement and a quiet nudge here and there and i see your comment as both encouragement and a quiet nudge, i am on the verge of acquiring a mobility scooter, which I think I am almost ready to accept, and I know it will give me more freedom and independence. .

      But the “wheelchair thing” is another issue altogether. I actually missed my daughter’s graduation because we all realised at the last minute that there would be too much walking around involved and the only way to manage it was if we hired a chair for me! Well I just wasnt ready for this; my daughter totally understood and we chatted about it at great length. I told her if I became upset on the day it would spoil her special day and after all this was her day and not mine. She checked and we realised I could watch live feed online. So thats what I did. It kept freezing and I missed her 😊 but we got the DVD and I watched it later.

      I am going to print your comnent out and keep it to refer to while I am going through this process. Thank you so much.

      And we have a pair of magpies who virtually live in our garden. They took off together just as II was bemoaning the disappearance of my acceptance and that is where the poem was born! 😊

      Lots of love and
      (GREAT BIG HUGS)))
      Chriztine xx

      Reply

  11. Marylin Warner
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 05:54:46

    Christine, there is a beauty and a power in your writing, and your life. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 04, 2013 @ 09:28:23

      Hi Marylin,
      Thank you so much. The poem was actually born out of frustration that my acceptance level had dipped. But there seems to be a litle determined streak in it too which surprised me!

      I have been over to your blog and I just love it! I am now following and really look forward to your posts. You write so well and talking to your mum in this way must help you immensly. I cant stop thinking of “eggshells work better”. i think thats going to stick with me . There is so much more in those three little words than the words themselves. Maybe its empathy that made this stand out for me 🙂

      Reply

  12. Fergiemoto
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 20:14:38

    Oh, to have the freedom again that once was, and so hard to accept the changes, but one is forced to find a new normal. I can understand and feel this one, Christine. I’ve have to find many new normals myself.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 20:23:11

      Thank you very much Fergie.

      Writing about it seemed to dilute the frustration that my level of acceptance had dipped. I work so hard at it and just when I feel I am on top of it – bang – and down I go, and although I know feeling like this wont get me anywhere positive I seem to have to ride the storm until it abates. Im sure you knowwhat I mean.. 😊

      Reply

  13. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 05:16:10

    Oh, how I understand this – your last line says it all! Love this, Christine – sending hugs of empathy to you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

