Dancing in the Dark

In my mind I am still Dancing
(with Bruce Springsteen)
in the Dark;
those kind, moonlit hours
that shower me with freedom
to feel like me again,
till daylight beckons when
I leave him to his Glory Days
and I to mine.
And they can be glorious
if I let them.
But I will dance again tonight;
I’m told there’s a new moon.

Bruce Springsteen – Album – Born in the USA. Released 1984

Dancing in the Dark
Glory Days

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. countingducks
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 14:56:38

    I love this. How free we can be in our night time ramblings, and how well you capture that here

    Reply

  2. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:02:22

    Thank you very much Peter

    Reply

  3. belfastdavid
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:18:36

    Just wonderful.

    Long gone the days when I could dance the night away but you toook me back instantly to my teenage years (way back :)) to the days when rock and roll was king, to Belmont tennis club dances, to the jive!!
    And let me tell you no-one can do the jive as well as the Irish!! 🙂

    Ah, I am lost in memories 🙂

    Good poems can do that 🙂

    Love you loads
    David
    xxx

    Reply

  4. Journeyintopoetry
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:25:05

    Thank you David!

    I’m pleased to have evoked some dancing memories for you! 😊

    Youve mentioned before about how good the Irish are at jive. Ive not seen you demonstrate. Am I I too late?! If I am then we will just have to wait till the next new moon 😊

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    Reply

  5. lscotthoughts
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:25:14

    Christine, what a glorious moment of freedom you have captured here…just beautiful, especially with a new moon…
    You also brought back memories of when my hubby and I used to go out dancing all the time when we first met and BK (before kids). Then the times died down, but they’re great memories, so thank you.

    Keep shining your light for all of us! Sending much love and a zillion hugs!
    Lauren 🙂

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 15:30:29

      Thank you Lauren! This is a beautiful comnent and much appreciated.

      Good memories are treasures arent they? I just loved my dancing years!

      And a zillion hugs back to you!!

      Much love

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  6. Ina
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 17:21:50

    Hi Christine, that is lovely! Those memories are treasures. You can always think back of those days and enjoy again!

    I remember that song btw and the sticky smoking dancings and the nasty loud music… I can’t say we (my companions and me) were very good at it, although I had real dancing lessons when I was 14. We danced different than the lessons had taught, we just moved a bit in a crowd, no rules, no style. We indeed felt very free for just a moment, before our ears would hurt. I don’t think I would try it now in a dancing, my last “dance” was with my grandaughter 🙂 So much came on our way, didn’t it. I almost forgot I danced!

    Love and hugs xx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 17:34:54

      Hi Ina,

      Thank you! Yes I loved dancing. I too didn’t do it all that well but it never bothered me I just wanted to move to the music!

      Ive always loved Bruce Springsteen, and there was a concert on TV, a recent one. He is still so good! I was chair dancing! Lol

      I will dance again tonight in my mind. I dance very well when I go there!

      L& H xx

      Reply

  7. hollyannegetspoetic
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 18:05:50

    Saw the title for this and immediately thought Springsteen – you did not disappoint me! 🙂

    Reply

  8. triciabertram
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 20:23:02

    Dear Christine,
    This made me weep with gratitude for the gifts of memory and freedom. Inside I’m 25, (sometimes only 5) and no one or nothing can take that away.
    This poem is a doorway into our past, present and future. You pack so much into these few words.
    I’m so glad your words are part of the music of my life.
    Much love
    Tricia xo

    Reply

  9. Journeyintopoetry
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 21:04:40

    Thank you so much Tricia for this lovely comnent.

    I know a poem is what it says to the reader but you have really got to the very core of what the poem is about. So thank you so much for your deep understanding of its meaning. It means a great deal when someone is on the very same wavelength.

    Lets be 5 and 25 together.😊

    Much love and hugs

    Christine xxxx

    Reply

    • triciabertram
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 21:21:24

      Oh yes! I love the idea of our being 5 and 25 together.
      We’ll always dance on the inside.
      I’ll teach you the Tricia Hissy Fit Dance one day, it’s so satisfying.;) There’s also the naked rain dance, but it’s probably too chilly in the northern hemisphere at present.
      5 year old Tricia exits stage left. Tee hee

      Reply

      • Journeyintopoetry
        Feb 19, 2013 @ 21:35:08

        Oh Tricia I am laughing out loud at your very cute exit stage left!

        Did you write about the naked rain dance! I remember something?

        And I would love to learn The Hissy Fit Dance!! Count me in!😊

        Lots of hugs to you

        Xxx

  10. Caddo Veil
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 23:19:53

    This is SO SO SO Wonderful, Christine–YES, we’ve got to keep on dancing, no matter what!! I dare say that even when I’m lying down, I’m dancing in my heart (Can’t help myself!). I’ll try to get an email to you tomorrow….don’t give up on me yet! God bless you BIG–much love from your “smoochie” Caddo in the USA

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 09:16:15

      Thank you so much Caddo for this lovely comment. We will dance together!

      And you know I would never, ever give up on you!!

      I have found it necessary to change my email address, so I will send one to you to let you know.the new one.

      Lots of love
      And smoochies

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  11. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 00:14:16

    Always been too shy to get up and dance in reality (saying that, I would do so when I was a child and I was even shier then!) – but the spirit does so often in ‘those kind, moonlit hours that shower me with freedom.’ And your poem sings and dances so poignantly! Saw your post on FB – neat coincidence (there is no such thing) that Bruce is coming to Leeds! XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 09:32:34

      Thank you Diane.

      I think the dancing word in the poem was also a kind of umbrella word for lots that I can no longer do, but realising that I still can have those monents of freedom in my mind was quite uplifting. I probably wouldnt choose to dance now but once again, its about losing the choice to do something you may not want to do, which sounds a little “double-dutch but I know thatyou know what I mean.

      Before I could say or do anything after my fb post my daughter was on the case!! She rang the arena to see what accessibility was like etc and delivered the news to me that it was good and said she was going to try and get tickets!! If I dont feel up to it on the day other members of the family will use the tickets. So I may have the option if she manages to get some. Im not a crazy fan, but I do like some of his songs. And when the title of this poem came into my head I wasn’t thinking at all of him, but the poem wanted me to refer to him so I did and it has had ripple effects! .

      Synchronisity, I like to call it! 😊Maybe I am just meant to go to this concert!
      Havent been to one for years! Not so sure about the hoards of people but we shall see!

      Lots of love

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  12. Jane Thorne
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 12:31:23

    Each day gives us the chance to dance, even if it is only in our imagination…dancing releases us and opens doors to the new…much love with hugs for you Chris and a great piece, xxxx

    Reply

  13. tikarmavodicka
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 23:00:24

    Hi Christine,

    This poem is just lovely! Even without knowing your news (how exciting! 🙂 )

    Your memories reflecting back to those days of dancing and the feeling of freedom it evoked in you is delightful. It’s an inspiration to see these sentments still strong in you and your spirit so enlivened and full of life.

    I’ve not had much of a dancing life. Jamie and have tried to waltz but it ended in a laughing disaster. 🙂 I’m more a run with the wind person, 🙂 although if the bon fire is big enough and the drums are sounding a good rhythm I have been known to dance a kind of jig of sorts. lol 🙂

    I was about 5 or 6 When Born in The USA was on telly… 🙂 I remember watching it eyes glued to the t.v. Bruce’s energy made me want to dance. 🙂

    I will be thinking of you in the coming months beaming with a smile, dancing, arms swaying high into the air, joyful for good music and the freedom that good music brings to the soul. 🙂

    with much love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 22, 2013 @ 09:47:42

      Hi Tikarma,

      Thank you for this lovely comment.

      5 or 6 when Born in the USA was released; now I could let that make me feel old! But I will choose not to!! Lol 😊

      I used to love dancing or jigging about, which was all my dancing really amounted to, but moving all over the floor to the rhythm is a great feeling. When I go to see Bruce I will have to gat my daughter to do a few spins of the chair for me!

      It has taken me a lot of hard work emotionally and a missed graduation to arrive at a new mindset, and I am sure the Springsteen concert has been a part of the process which has been necessary to make me realise that some new things need to be embraced, even if with gritted teeth for a while, if I am to get as much as I can out of life.

      So even if, and I hope this will not be the case, I am not too well (because MS can wake you up any morning and bite you in the bum!) and unable to go, the point is, I have moved forward to a new place with my fears and my level of acceptance.

      Much love and
      (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
      Christine xxxx

      Reply

      • tikarmavodicka
        Feb 24, 2013 @ 05:23:11

        Hi again Christine. 🙂

        I will be keeping my fingers and toes crossed and the good vibes going that your MS will be kind to you and not bite you in the butt so you can enjoy a wonderful evening out with your daughter enjoying Bruce.
        I’m really happy for you that you’ve arrived at a place of acceptance. I can’t imagine how difficult it’s been for you, but I’m quite sure that embracing the changes will indeed give you that more in life that we all need I think to enjoy the challenge of daily living. ((hugs))

        😀 Indeed please don’t feel old.*LOL* I have had the knack all my life of not knowing anyone my age…I seem to enjoy the company of older people far more than my peers. The conversation is certainly better. *cheeky grin*

        (((BIG WARM HUGS)))
        and much love
        with Big Pats for Jack and the cats.
        Tikarma
        xoxoox

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 11:08:59

    Thank you Tikarma, for your lovely extra comment.

    I will keep looking forward but at the same time keep doing the one day at a time thing. Its all about balance! That word!!! 😊

    Lots of love and
    (((BIG WARM HUGS FOR YOU
    AND JACKIE BEAR)))
    Xxxxxx

    Reply

  15. Fergiemoto
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 02:26:52

    How wonderful to have those memories and to relive them. Memories can bring us joy and even comfort at times. I cannot dance right now, but hopefully someday I will be able to dance a little.
    Keep dancing in these lovely memories and dreams, Christine! It’s great to hear you are allowing yourself freedom, whatever form they may be in.

    Reply

  16. journeyintopoetry
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 09:39:59

    Thank you very much; thisis a lovely comment. And you grasped the essence of the poem being the fact that I am allowing myself a freedom, which, of course can come in many guises.

    I do hope you are able to dance again too, even just a little. Its a great form of expression and fun too! But you dance in your photography too!! 🙂

    Love

    Christine xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

