When We are Ready

Life can be full of challenges,
some of them towering exclamation marks.
I call them hurdles,
not in negativity, but because I believe
we clear them when we are ready
and not a moment before.

Like a young horse being asked
to jump for the first time,
tentative, doubtful, afraid;
a few firm refusals,
perhaps kindly led by hand
for a while, encouraged gently
though with persistence.
But when he is ready to go
he knows,
and oh, how he flies!

And so will I.

This poem was written when I finally
purchased a mobility scooter last week;
not a decision reached with ease.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Res John Burman
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:20:41

    Ha Ha I love this Christine. Not because you need a scooter but because I have been thinking about just the same thing. The main thing stopping me is I’d have to knock down the back wall to get it into the yard! Perhaps I should have thought of it when i was fitter! Nice poem shining with optimism! Bravo!

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:31:21

      Thanks very much Res!ll

      Ive only been out on it once so far as it has become too cold again! Roll on spring! But the feeling of freedom was just immense!

      There is a bit of a squeeze getting it out of the back to the front but IF I drive with care it can be done!

      Christine

      Reply

  2. leamuse
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:23:57

    Christine, I have no doubt that you will fly!
    Please don’t forget about us down here on the old sod! 🙂 Lea xxx

    Reply

  3. Harry
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:26:29

    The next poem will be about you crashing and getting a ticket 🙂

    Reply

  4. lscotthoughts
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:39:00

    Christine, this is awesome…so full of honesty and hope! Just beautiful, my friend and I, too, have no doubt you will fly! HBL ♥

    p.s. I saw your email and will write to you later today! More hugs! 🙂

    Reply

  5. belfastdavid
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:42:00

    Oh I love this one.

    The process of ‘being ready’ can feel like procrastinastion but in actual fact it is preparation!

    What was it you once said to me about “courage being fear which has said its prayers” 🙂

    Although if you are actually planning to fly the thing……………….. 🙂

    And Res – go for it!!!

    Much love to you both

    David
    xxx

    Reply

  6. Ali Brown
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:47:17

    I can imagine what a difficult decision this must have been – you’ve written about it in such a lovely way though, with gentle grace and acceptance.
    I hope it enables you to have freedom to travel further afield than you would otherwise be able to, xxx

    Reply

  7. Pete Armetta
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 15:52:17

    Inspired and nice images like always. FLY baby fly!!! They better watch out in the grocery store.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 09, 2013 @ 17:11:13

      Thanks Pete! You always encourage me!

      I did hire one just to get the feel of it last summer when we were away for the weekend and nearly drove into a crockery shelf in a store. Not really a good choice of shop really for a beginner! I may have learned a lesson – or maybe not! : ) 🙂

      I always appreciate your comments, thank you. 🙂

      Reply

  8. The Background Story
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 19:27:35

    So will we. So will I … -c

    Reply

  9. Ina
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 19:29:17

    Hi Christine, that scooter was a good idea, and this poem is lovely.

    Big {{{ Christine }}} hug and lots of great trips with your new found mobility!

    xxx 🙂

    Reply

  10. Caddo Veil
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 21:04:38

    Ahhh, wonderful, wonderful, Christine!! Yes, when we are ready it ALL happens!!! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo xxooxo

    Reply

  11. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 00:20:41

    So glad you got your wheels, I mean, your wings! Lovely, powerful, motivating poem … a wonderful anthem to all no matter what seems to be holding them back, weighing them down, appearing as an obstacle. You inspire me so … let’s all fly together, holding hands, through the virtual air! Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 09:49:00

      Thanks so much Diane. I have only used it once so far as its still very cold, but once was enough to realise they are wings rather than just wheels.

      And I am glad the poem stretched further than myself and my own situation. I find writing about my challenges/hurdles very therapeutic as you well know, but I do try to bring into some of them, at least, a more universal approach and I am really pleased you felt this one achieved that aim. 🙂

      Lots of love and hugs xx❤xx

      Reply

  12. Poetry and Icecream
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 01:42:11

    Beautiful Christine! As hard as it was, I’m so glad you made the decision to get your wheels. Now you can truly fly *hugs* xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 09:56:02

      Thank you very much Norma.

      All these hurdles have a bonus really in that they encourage me to write about them, which gives me practice with my writing when I am struggling to think of things to write about! And as I said to Diane, if I can introduce a universal approach then the poems may reach others too.

      (Still no erasure poetry from me!!!) its harder than it initially seems in order to do it justice. You are too good at them! I always compare my attempts to yours!! And they end up in the in!

      Hugs to you too, xx

      Reply

  13. harulawordsthatserve
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 09:24:56

    A beautiful poem Christine! I love the analogy with a young horse and the ‘firm refusals’ met with kindness. Congratulations on the mobility scooter. I can believe that wasn’t a tough decision and one that required deep courage and acceptance, but it’s also one of kindness towards yourself, which is a very positive thing! Happy ‘flying’!

    Love and blessings,

    Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 10:00:05

      Harula, thank you or this lovely warm comment

      “But it’s also one of kindness to yourself” – those words of yours have struck home. They are so true and I think we so often neglect that kindness to ourselves. Thank you for this great reminder 🙂

      Love and blessings to you

      Xxxx

      Reply

  14. Jane Thorne
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 16:13:47

    Chris if I was there I would paint your wheels for you…go flick that courageous cape of yours my funky teapot friend. Xxxx

    Reply

  15. triciabertram
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 04:35:02

    I suspect we all need to be “kindly led by hand” at various times in our life.

    Another wonderful poem, Christine.
    Hugs
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

  16. Fergiemoto
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 22:56:27

    Yes you will, Christine, yes you will!!
    Such a lovely, beautiful and inspirational poem. I will remember this and tell myself “so will I” when my body says it’s ready.
    Thank you for this!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 09:47:47

      Thank you so much Fergie for this lovely encouraging comment.

      I have realised recently that every new hurdle I come across related to the MS hovers about me for quite awhile before I tackle it, and this reflection led to the poem. And,of course, it can apply to any challenges in any of our lives. So Im really pleased you were able to take something a little more personal to you from it too. That is part of my aim in my poems, to allow them to come from a place deep within me, but hopefully give them a universal content too.xx

      Reply

  17. Thomas Davis
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 23:29:42

    May your horses wings find the well where poets go mad and their genius bursts out of earth’s bounds and fireworks the sky!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

