Omniscient

A little light-hearted poem afterΒ  the last
rather heavy one πŸ™‚

Theo and Chevin 034

Omniscient

Two years old,
my human heat pack;
who needs lavender wheat?
Soggy remnants of a once
well dressed gingerbread bear
with generous offer to share;
it’s story time.

“What are all these Grandma?”
Sticky finger-pointing.
Just the question I’d wanted.
I felt like I’d revised
all the right things,
an A star on the cards;
confidence-drenched smile.
“That’s a saxophone,
a trumpet and a trombone.
And this one’s called a euphonium”.
Wide eyed smile; clearly impressed.

There’s a quiet comfort in still
knowing more than he does.

 

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Res John Burman
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 12:38:37

    That’s lovely Christine. Oh for the days….. my little boy is now 34, and I am no longer Omniscient!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 23, 2013 @ 12:54:34

      Thanks Res!

      I’m becoming omniscient with the grandchildren now; all my children know far more than I do!,! πŸ™‚

      I find nothing cosier than story times with a little one. I feel very blessed fo be able to do it all over again with the new generation. Plus you get to do alll the lovely thngs and then band them back for the rest!! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. belfastdavid
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 12:55:20

    Ah, you have just made me feel warm on a cold snowy day.

    Enjoy your omniscience while you can!!!! πŸ™‚

    Much love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 23, 2013 @ 13:01:04

      Thank you David!

      It wont last long; he is already showing signs of exceeding my IT knowledge!

      And it will be to me he addresses his latest saying, Oh goodness me, I havent got time for this” !! πŸ™‚

      Much Love to you too

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  3. Ina
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 12:57:03

    πŸ™‚ Hi Christine, this is lovely. I hope I can be a little omniscient for Eline as well πŸ™‚ until she is 2 perhaps lol πŸ™‚ Love and hugs xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 23, 2013 @ 13:03:42

      Thank you Ina!

      We must make the most of it! It wont last long! πŸ™‚

      I think it seems to start when they begin school; suddenly the teacher becomes the new role model and we know nothing! That’s how I remember it with my own anyway. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. Through My Eyes
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 14:20:46

    Wow I just love this Christine! It really captures that phase in every child’s life when they think their parents/grandparents are omniscient. How quickly it changes though. Nicely done. Hugs xx

    Reply

  5. countingducks
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 15:37:32

    That bought back some lovely memories for me. Especially enjoyed the two last lines

    Reply

  6. lscotthoughts
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 15:45:08

    Aww…this is lovely, Christine, and evoked memories of these moments when my children were little. We’re not grandparents, yet, and too soon for that! πŸ™‚ In this world of technology, I hope “story time” will remain and I’m afraid it won’t when I see little kids on their Mommy’s smart phone. This isn’t meant to offend anyone, it’s just that good old reading of books is so important, I believe…HBL β™₯

    Reply

  7. Caddo Veil
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 19:40:16

    Oh I Love it, Christine–and you’re so right, it’s nice to know more than somebody, about something, sometimes! Much love to you (hugs and smoochies)–your Caddo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 09:35:54

      Thank you Caddo!

      I am aware I wont know much more than him sooner rather than later!! He is lready giving me a few compuer tips!!

      Much lo e to you and
      ( hugs and smoochies) xxx

      Reply

  8. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 20:15:02

    What a perfect poem, Christine … very in the moment … and a lovely moment, at that! Hopefully your grandchildren will always realize that yours is some of the most precious and important attention they will ever receive. (I never knew any of my grandparents … and, like anything, the lack of makes the value more.) XO β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 09:52:59

      Thank you so much Diane.

      I never knew my grandparents either. I kind of knew one, my grandmother (mum’s mother) , but she had been severely affected by a stroke so there was no relationship there. Actually, that is wrong, there was, because all she ever wanted from me was to play “Jesus wants me for a sunbeam” on the piano for her. It made her cry every time and was the only tine she ever showed emotion.I posted a poem about this early on in my WP days. You may not remember it. I may repost it soon since I am on the theme of grandparents.

      Little Theo, our grandson comes to us every Monday while his mum works and I really treasure those days. Between the two of us we already have many “private” little looks and gestures that nobody else understands. Its just wonderful, and apparently the other day while he was playing with his toys, my daughter (his mum) heard him say “Oh my goodness me, I haven’t got time for this” !! I(one of my sayings!!) i feel very blessed.

      Lots of love and hugs

      Christie ❀ xxx

      Reply

      • bardessdmdenton
        Mar 24, 2013 @ 22:54:52

        That is so sad that your grandmother was so ill – but how special that you provided her with a chance to connect to something that made her cry but also must’ve been a very special feeling for her. Actually, one of my grandparents, my mother’s father, lived until I was about ten – but I never met him. His drinking had a very bad affect on his life and my mom lost touch with him until she received a letter with news that he had died penniless and alone in Philadelphia – the first thing she saw as it dropped out of the envelope was a picture of him in his coffin. I remember her screaming. As I mentioned in my author’s bio, my mom’s mom, the concert pianist, died when my mom was ten. But she has always had a strong presence in my life, and was, of course, the inspiration for Nonna in A House… Oh, what lovely times you are having with your Theo (love the name – makes me think of Van Gogh – was his brother’s name)! XO β™₯

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 16:15:04

      Oh Diane, alcohol has ruined so any lives.

      I thank God I reached my rock bottom and woke up ❀xx

      Reply

  9. suzywordmuser
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 20:25:42

    Beautiful moments Christine!! There’s nothing like watching a little one learn something new! πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 09:57:30

      Thank you very much Suzy!

      You’re right and they learn so quickly too, its really quite amazing, and really interesting actually from a little distance. When we are parents we sometimes miss things because we are caught up in the practical stuff.

      Xx:)

      Reply

  10. hollyannegetspoetic
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 21:05:16

    Awwww…. ! Love the gingerbread men and the instruments being named – such funny words to a wide eyed child!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 10:01:41

      Thanks Holly!

      2 years old, thats a great age for entertaining us adults! He doesn’t like mozzarella cheese and the other day he said ” I don’t want cinderella on my pizza”!! Bless his little cotton socks, as my mum would say. πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

  11. harulawordsthatserve
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 08:00:28

    Awww, this is soooo sweet and yes – I too just LOVE the gingerbread bear image, ‘once well dressed’. The ending is warm and wise and touchingly humble too, ‘There’s a quiet comfort in still knowing more than he does…’. A brilliant poem Christine! Love and blessings, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 10:05:54

      Thank you so much Harula!

      You always give me such encouraging comments; it helps me to keep going with my poetry. I can still have great self doubt, but maybe we all have that in us, I don’t know..

      And it wont be long before he knows more than I do!! πŸ™‚

      Love and blessings

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  12. Francina
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 18:31:40

    lovely and precious poem, Christine. It’s a time to savor because they grow up so fast
    hugs and love, Francina xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 24, 2013 @ 18:46:08

      Thank you Francia!

      You are so right! They do grow up fast! I really feel blessed to be able to have cosy times all over again withthe new generation! πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs

      Christine xxxx

      Reply

  13. tikarmavodicka
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 08:32:08

    Hi Christine,

    Awwww, this really brings to the fore the joy of being a grandparent. Very sweet and your grandson sounds like a perfect cutie! I hope you are able to have many more moments of omniscience before the “No…Grandma…it works like this!” *cheeky grin*

    Wishing you all the best for a lovely week ahead
    ((((Big warm Hugs)))
    and Pats for Jack and the Cats
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 13:23:11

      Thank you Tikarma!

      Your comment left me smiling. He is only 2 and is almost telling me how things work already!! Lol

      He is a joy to be with and as it is now Monday, he is here for his regular day with us. I am sitting here typing while he naps and I am surrounded by sll manner of toys and bits and pieces which I darent move because he knows exactly where he has left them to come back to when he wakes up! πŸ™‚

      Lots of love to you and Jackie Bear and
      (((BIG HUGS)))
      Christibe xx

      Reply

  14. russtowne
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 19:05:23

    Your poem brought a smile to my face, Christie. Thank you for brightening my day.
    Russ

    Reply

  15. Thomas Davis
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 23:10:31

    There’s a quiet comfort in still
    knowing more than he does.

    Ahh, for those days, when your grandchildren sit inside your spirit and bring alive the who of who you have been and are. Wonderful poem, Christine. Wonderful.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 08:07:01

      Thank you very much Tom.

      One of the “things” that has bugged me for many years (it doesn’t anymore!) is that I never studied for a degree. I have recently learned that its not actually that important. But all my children went on to achieve degrees and more and I used to feel like I had been left standing by the washing machine!

      Now grandchildren are emergi g it reminds me of the time when I actually did know more than my children. So now I have the privilege of that feeling ll over again! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  16. Betty Hayes Albright
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 04:35:46

    I especially love those last lines – made me smile! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 08:11:49

      Thank you Betty!

      Its a good feeling but it doesn’t last long! One of my grandchildren who is 2 already knows what to do if my IPad gets itself stuck! “Just turn it of and back on again grandma then it will work” – and it does! πŸ™‚

      Love to you XX

      Reply

  17. Fergiemoto
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 23:18:03

    This is so lovely, Christine!
    They grow up so fast!

    Reply

  18. leamuse
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 05:59:01

    Oh Christine, such a wonderful warm, fuzzy picture you have painted. It is as though I were there looking on this touching scene. Beautiful and what a lucky boy he is. πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

