Prayer – (a nonet)

 

NONET

I have recently been introduced to a few different short poetry forms which I am using to help me with my poetry skills and to keep my muse awake when he (yes, he!) starts to yawn. The following one is a nonet.

 A nonet has nine lines. The first line has nine syllables, the second line eight syllables, the third line seven syllables, etc… until line nine that finishes with one  syllable.

 PRAYER

 Daring to believe in something good,

a presence larger than myself,

I search through myriad thoughts

and stumble upon prayer.

I try it for size;

it seems to fit

very well

so I

pray

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:24:14

    Hi Christine, that is amazing! And lovely. “it seems to fit very well ” 🙂
    A math poem ! L&H xx

    Reply

  2. countingducks
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:42:02

    Excellent. Good reasoning and flow. Lets see some more examples

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:18:53

      Thank you! I enjoyed having a go at this! I could become obsessed! 🙂

      Short forms such as this and haiku etc,although not all that easy to do well, give me some discipline to write more often than I might. They really help me to keep creative! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Pete Armetta
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 13:01:45

    That is good looking and reads so nice!

    Reply

  4. Ali Brown
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 13:34:56

    Lovely – I hadn’t heard of this form before, so thank you for introducing me to it! xx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:24:03

      Thank you Ali!

      Its good for me to have a go at other forms. Not sure about the longer ones like sestinas etc, but this has been enjoyable. I find shorter forms, although not easy to do well, are more approachable for me at the moment.

      Xxx

      Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:34:28

      I know exactly what you mean Ali. I much prefer the shorter ones too.

      You have a lovely Easter too. Stay cosy!

      Xxxxx:)xxxxX

      Reply

  5. lscotthoughts
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 13:55:57

    Aww…this is wonderful, Christine, and I love “I try it for size and it seems to fit very well.” The form makes for a beautiful visual, too…HBL ♥

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:26:34

      Thank you vey much Lauren.

      I really did enjoy working with this one.

      Also it is a subject which I tend to meander around on the periphery, so it is good for me to actually write about it 🙂

      HBL ❤ xxx
      ,

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:34:28

        You’re very welcome and this is a subject very good for me to read, too! So thank you for that! 🙂 HBL ♥

        p.s. I just wrote one, sweet, not real deep, for practice, but I’m going to post it anyway…I do like the form, it’s real pretty! xo

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 14:36:10

      Thats great! I look forward to reading it! HBL ❤ XX

      Reply

  6. belfastdavid
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 16:05:24

    This is terrific Christine. Well done.

    I know you enjoy the discipline of these short forms.
    They may be easy to write but they are difficult to do well.
    This one works extremely well.

    On the subject of prayer William James said “If prayer works, pray.”
    The point he was making was that the who are what we pray to is irrelevant!!

    Keep it Simple methinks 🙂

    Much love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 18:02:51

      Thank you David, this is such a lovely comment.

      It’s strange (or actually maybe it isn’t strange) , but as I was writing the last two lines, I thought of that very quote by William James. And for me it is a very comforting quote, because it gives us permisdion to pray even if we dont understand who or what we are praying to.

      Yes, I totally agree with “keep it simple”. Do I do it though…??!!!

      Much Love to you too

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  7. Jane Thorne
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 16:06:30

    This Nonet shines a special light…I love it and thanks Chris. Happy Easter my lovely friend and the biggest hugs for you and your loved ones…Xxxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopietry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 16:18:20

      Hi Jane!

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment! “Shines a special light” , thats lovely, thank you.

      I hope you are settled in a new home by now. I hope you have a lovely Easter too. I am about o meet my baby granddaughter for the first time (six months old) when they arrive from Ireland tomorrow! 🙂

      Lots of love and hugs

      Chris xxxx

      Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 18:14:13

      Hi Jane!

      Thank you for your lovely comment! “Shines a special light” thats lovely, thank you.

      I hope you are settled in a new home by now. I hope you have a lovely Easter too. I am about to meet my baby granddaughter for the first time tomorrow, when they arrive from Ireland. Shes 6 months old now!

      My reply to you went to spam for some reason so I am sending it a second time. If it shows up twice thats why! Lol

      Lots of love to you

      Chris xxxx

      Reply

  8. jeglatter
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 17:18:00

    Yes! A perfect nonet.:)
    -Jennifer

    Reply

  9. triciabertram
    Mar 29, 2013 @ 00:29:17

    A wonderful nonet, and one that takes me to a place where I need to spend some time.
    I liked David’s comment ‘the who or what we pray to is irrelevant’.
    My words have lain stagnant of late. Maybe a nonet will help me to move forward.
    I too like the ‘look’ of the finished piece.
    What a wonderful Easter you’ll have with the new grandbaby.:)
    Much love
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 29, 2013 @ 10:49:09

      Thank you so much Tricia for your lovely comment, which had the honesty in it that I need to hear. I often feel my words lie stagnant and yet I do keep uttering them, simply because I need to.

      The quote David referred to was actually in my head when I wrote the poem, and was actually the reason I could post it with confidence, because I very often have no concept of who or what I am praying to. I used to give myself grief for this but I no longer do. “If prayer works, pray” and even if it doesn’t seem to work I will still do it because I need to,

      Love and bug hugs

      Xxxxxxx
      .

      Reply

  10. bardessdmdenton
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 00:09:13

    Oh, Christine – I apologize for taking so long to comment. This form works so beautifully with your reflection here … paring away all the thoughts that lead to prayer. So perfect that ‘pray’ sits there all by itself. It is such a small but powerful word!

    Blessings for Easter and hope you have been having a wonderful time with your family. Love you always. Big hugs! XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 31, 2013 @ 12:05:48

      Thank you so much Diane for this lovely comment. I really enjoyed putting this together and I think I may try another!

      I was going to say it’s organised chaos here but it is actually very unorganised chaos!!! Mayhem would better decribe it! But the three grandchildren who are old enough all had a great easter egg hunt in the garden this morni g, collecting the eggs in little containers that our daughter had made for them. It was lovely to see their faces each time they found a little egg!

      They are staying in the UK for the week but moving to a cottage tomorow for the remainder of their time here but will be calling in to see us from time to time.
      I hope you are having a hood Easter break too!

      Lots and lots of love to you ❤ xxxx ❤

      Reply

      • bardessdmdenton
        Mar 31, 2013 @ 22:48:57

        Loving chaos, I’m sure, Christine! Glad you will have them all around for a little while longer. Mom and I met my brother and sister-in-law for dinner, but my brother was SO grumpy. He never asks my mom how she is, so I told him – that on Friday her foot doctor noticed that her legs were infected and so she is on antibiotics. We are home now and enjoying the rest of the evening quietly with the kitties. Love and hugs, Diane XO ♥

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 11:09:45

      Im so sorry you had that experience Diane. Your brother sounds like the antithesis of you! Maybe something was troubling him?

      Anyway, to be able to return hone to the kitties for a cosy time is lovely. A cosy loving home is just the best place to be, ever! 🙂

      Lots of love and gugs xx❤xx

      Reply

  11. Libby
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 10:15:38

    Thank you for introducing this interesting form – I’ll have to give it a try.

    Reply

  12. Thomas Davis
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 23:08:09

    This is a smile of a poem, Christine. I love all kinds of forms for poetry too, as you’ve probably noticed. This one has a gentle loveliness to it that fills up my sense of this day.

    Reply

  13. Betty Hayes Albright
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 04:33:48

    Christine, I love this – it’s beautifully written and… well, just perfect!

    (Wishing you a good week coming up, and hopefully some spring weather.)

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 11:03:13

      Thank you so much Betty!

      These short forms I am coming across are really helping me and they give me some discipline to keep the kettle boiling with writing, if that makes sense. 🙂

      I hope you had a good Easter. Mine was full to the brim with tiny grandchildren (four of them!) which has been lovely, but equally tiring. 🙂 Pre MS I know it would have been much more enjoyable. But I have to learn go enjoy in a different way now and Im not used to that yet.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

      • Betty Hayes Albright
        Apr 03, 2013 @ 04:19:33

        Christine, I really understand the frustration of not being able to actively play with your grandchildren in the “normal” way. We find there are new normals and I’m sure your grandchildren enjoy you completely, just from all that love you exude!

        Glad you had a good Easter – and hope you’ve been resting up! 🙂

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 03, 2013 @ 08:19:11

      Thank you Betty.

      You are right of course, they do enjoy me completely and I am always the one they run to when they want a story reading because I am always there to do that for them. I never have to say that I will read later because Im busy etc and they live that, andso do I but like you say we have to get used to new normals. 🙂 Thank you so much for the extra comment. Xx

      Reply

  14. Fergiemoto
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 23:20:31

    This is amazing, Christine!
    This is a wonderful introduction to this form of poetry. I was not aware of nonet.

    Reply

  15. Angela
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 14:38:16

    I love this, Christine! All of its elements fall together so perfectly: it speaks of a gentle truth, has a soft rhythm, and looks like a tear drop from the Divine.
    Gorgeous!!

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 16:27:43

      Thank you very much Angela!

      I enjoyed putting this together; it just seemed to put itself there without much work. That probably wont happen again!you never know though, I sometimes surprise myself 🙂

      Its so good to see you back again.

      Love

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  16. jaels
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 06:05:35

    Honest and deeply moving–beautiful.

    Reply

  17. julespaige
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 12:38:20

    Even a poet who has been writing for over four decades can learn something new…Thank you for your explanation of the nonet…I used it (and expanded it) today here:
    http://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/miz-q-10wwp-150-a-spring-avalanche-of-sound/

    Oh, I’ve bookmarked your site so I can visit you too.
    Again, thank you 🙂
    Cheers.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 10, 2013 @ 15:07:06

      Four decades! Oh my, one and a half years! I feel quite.humbled, but also pleased
      ive given you something new!! 🙂 i have left a comment on your expanded one.

      Thank tou for bookarking me!

      Christine

      Reply

  18. Thomas Davis
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 13:18:18

    Amen, Christine. Amen.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:26:23

      Thank you Tom.

      I dont know why I find prayer so difficult, but I do. I usually feel better for it though, even though I have no true idea to whom or what I am praying. Someone said to me “If prayer works, pray” – so I try. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

