Let It Be

Cry your heart out if you need to,
rail against the world and
all its seeming unfairness,
because acceptance isn’t a pretty gift
tied with pastel ribbon bows;
it’s a trundling wagon making its
way clumsily over rough terrain,
and you may often

lose your grip, fall off in the
desert sand, find yourself on
all fours like in a bad dream
trying to catch up, cling on,
feet dragging in flying dust,
helpless and hopeless.

What I think I’m trying to say
is keep going, keep clinging,
reach out and don’t ever give up,
but allow your sorrow
its rightful place;
let it be.
It is real.

 

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Armetta
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 11:48:24

    STRONG I love it!

    Reply

  2. Ina
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 11:57:37

    There is nothing wrong with crying, good point and a moving poem πŸ™‚ Love and
    Big {{{{ Christine }}} hug! xxx

    Reply

  3. triciabertram
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 12:01:07

    Oh Christine. This is a validation of our right to express our pain, and a powerful, mini treatise on resilience.
    Your words make me weep in gratitude.
    I feel so privileged to read your poetry.
    Big hugs
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:33:24

      Thank you so much Tricia. Your comment has moved me; it has arrived in a very deep place.

      I am changing how I see myself and the world around me day by day; I used to berate myself with “shoulds” and “oughts”, especially pertaining to my strength or how I used to perceive it, lack of. And how we feel at any given time is valid; I just need to keep reminding myself.

      You always give me so much support and encouragement; thank you.

      Big hugs xxx

      Reply

  4. Through My Eyes
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 12:09:19

    Wise words Christine. I think we try to hold on to it too much. I know I do. This is a good reminder that it is our right…”allow your sorrow”. I hope you’re feeling ok Christine. Hugs xoxoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:38:33

      Thanks very much Norma.

      Yes I think we all do hold on at times; something to do with feeling weak I guess, when that isn’t true at all.

      I’m doing ok thank you. This poem actually did arrive quite out of the blue, when I was having one of those “I shouldn’t be tearful; what will people think” moments. The positive is that I was aware immediately that these thoughts are debilitating and the poem arrived.

      Hugs to you xx

      Reply

  5. lscotthoughts
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:57:16

    Wonderful words of wisdom and honesty, Christine..”allow your sorrow
    its rightful place;let it be.It is real.” You’re right, it’s “very” okay to cry, let it out, and to me, it’s a cleansing, too…sending much love and a zillion hugs to you today! HBL xo β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:11:09

      Thank you so much Lauren.

      However many times I tell myself it is ok, and know it is true, I still find myself in the midst of “shouldnts”. This poem just started to shout at me!!

      Lots of love and
      zillions of hugs back to you too!
      HBL ❀ XXX

      Reply

  6. belfastdavid
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 14:48:51

    Christine,

    This is a wonderful poem which obviously came straight from the heart – as the best poems often do!!

    And I loved the lines –

    “because acceptance isn’t a pretty gift
    tied with pastel ribbon bows;”

    No it isn’t!!! And it often causes anguish and self-searching.
    But it is the only way forward!!

    Much love to you

    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 15:05:45

      Thank you very much David.

      And yes it does cause anguish and self searching. We are told we grow through such difficulty and we probably do. All will be well – I think πŸ™‚

      Much love to you too

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  7. Angela
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 16:18:32

    I’ve just left you a comment on this poem on Poet’s Corner, Christine, but I thought it worthy of one underneath its original home. πŸ™‚

    I loved this poem; I loved its power, its honesty and the rich colours of the imagery. I love poems that come, unbidden, straight from the soul – and I felt like this one did. Really great poem!
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 16:30:06

      Angela thank you so much for leaving a comment in both places! Yes this is definitely its home! πŸ™‚

      You are right! That is exactly how this poem happened. It just seemed to apoear right in front of me while I was washing my hair, tears of frustration and sadness indistinguishable from the water in the shower. Strangely enough, by the time I had done showering I felt ok. That moment reinforced why my poetry helps me so much.

      Love and hugs xxx

      Reply

  8. countingducks
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 16:28:48

    This is great stuff full of the acceptance and bravery I admire you for, and full of the strength which comes from living in the way you write about

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 16:34:33

      Thank you very much Peter. Your comments always manage to uplift me. And I don’t say that lightly, I do mean it.

      This poem shouted at me and before I knew it there it was in front of me! I still find that very strange; some of them just wont be ignored! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  9. suzywordmuser
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 17:09:21

    This is an excellent poem Christine!! πŸ™‚ Acceptance is unacceptable to me, unless it’s something good! We have to acknowledge sorrow, to understand where we are, and hopefully where we are want to move on to next – if it’s possible. Being real is the only way to be! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  10. hollyannegetspoetic
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 17:38:59

    “It is real” – and so is this poem. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. greenlightlady
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 17:47:15

    Christine, these are wise words in your “real” poem! We do more harm by denying our pain a voice.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 06, 2013 @ 18:10:25

      Thank you very much greenlightlady!

      You are so right and I think this poem was a reminder to myself of this. I can easily berate myself and misinterpret my sorrow for self pity, which, of course I know deep down it isnt. πŸ™‚

      Blesings to you too

      Christine

      Reply

  12. bardessdmdenton
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 20:53:16

    This is so strong in its poetic voice and message, Christine. It often seems that everything is about finding that golden way of happiness and painlessness … we mustn’t be sad, or grow older, or allow our vulnerability to show, or ever collapse in a heap and let our spirit lift us up in its own time. Acceptance doesn’t mean complacency, but belief that all we feel, painfully and pleasantly, is part of the journey, of who we are and are becoming.

    I found this Zen quote from http://zenteaching.com that, I think, speaks to the message in your poem:
    ‘For example, if you were stuck in the mud somewhere, you wouldn’t say: β€œOkay, I resign myself to being stuck in the mud.” Resignation is not surrender. You don’t need to accept an undesirable or unpleasant life situation. Nor do you need to deceive yourself and say that there is nothing wrong with being stuck in the mud. No. You recognize fully that you want to get out of it. You then narrow your attention down to the present moment without mentally labeling it in any way. This means that there is no judgment of the Now. Therefore, there is no resistance, no emotional negativity. You accept the β€œisness” of this moment. Then you take action and do all that you can to get out of the mud. Such action I call positive action. It is far more effective than negative action, which arises out of anger, despair, or frustration.’

    I love this line especially:
    ‘allow your sorrow
    its rightful place;
    let it be.
    It is real.’

    Let no one tell you otherwise! Love and hugs XXXOOO β™₯

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 08:15:29

      Thank you so much Diane.

      Your words” …but belief that all we feel both painfully and pleasantly,is part of the journey…” summarises the whole poem and I thank you for putting it in a way I can easily remember. I have only recently “accdpted” the fact that we all need to have compassion for ourselves when we feel this way, and not be angry or feel it is wrong, which I thibk is what you are saying. I used to think of compassion as something to feel for others but when it was recently suggested to me during my MS psychology sessions that compassion was so important or myself, it was a real eye opener and such a relief.

      This poem was born out of the busyness during the Easter break and my frustrations and anger that I couldnt join in with many of the activities. Consequently my sadness felt like it had nowhere to go so it went in a poem.

      And thank you so much for this quote, I am printing this to keep, it’s wonderful.

      I always remember your words to me a little while back when I was going through a rough patch. you said “allow yourself to be as weak as you are strong”. I carry those words with me all the time. Thank you for all ylur love.

      Xxx❀xxX

      Reply

  13. jaels
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 01:45:26

    Marvelous wisdom–well done, Poet.

    Reply

  14. Ali Brown
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 06:16:46

    Strong and powerful words Christine!
    Wonderful!, xx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 08:22:11

      Thank you very much Ali.

      It never ceases to amaze me how therapeutic I am finding writing poetry; it feels much more powerful than prose.

      And your daily mindful writings are encouraging me to try and write something (even if it is binned!) every day. Thank you for your inspiration. πŸ™‚

      Xxx

      Reply

  15. Fergiemoto
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 04:33:37

    Oh, wow! I could really feel this, Christine, and I empathize with you!
    I often have a good cry because sometimes the pain and unrelenting chronic issues become so unbearable, I have to have a release. But, it is ok to cry. It is healthy to allow yourself to feel the emotion, be present with it, and let it out in its “rightful place” and time.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 08:34:06

      Thank you very much Fergie.

      I can so easily tell myself I should be stronger etc etc even though I know thats not true. So this was really me trying to reinforce in myself, and hopefully let others know too, that our acceptance and hopefully consequent peace will never arrive unless we allow ourselves to go through the process which involves all that sorrow too.

      Someone said to me recently, and I carry her words with me all the time, “allow yourself to be as weak as you are strong”. That simple sentence encapsulates, for me, self compassion.

      Xx

      Reply

  16. julespaige
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 11:32:22

    One thing I have found out about the writing community on the net is that there is always something new to learn. May we continue to learn from and support each other.
    Cheers.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 10, 2013 @ 15:12:17

      Thank you Jules, for taking time to read and leave a omment, it is so very much appreciated.

      I have learned more about myself through poetry in the last year than in many years I think.

      Christine

      Reply

  17. Jane Thorne
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 17:51:21

    Christine, this is so beautifully put…we hang on when it’s darkest and your last lines cut right to it…we need to give ourselves time. Time to adjust, rest, grieve or simply to gather strength for the next phase.. Your courage and bravery are an inspiration to me. Funky teapot love my buddy Xxx

    Reply

  18. leamuse
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 06:05:02

    You are so right again Christine. There are no lovely ribbons on this package. Sometimes it feels as if it were ticking… When we reach the end of our ropes we must tie a knot and hang on. For myself, I often find it contains another lesson that I must learn. Thanks for sharing from your beautiful heart. xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 08:52:50

      Thank you so much Lea, for this lovely comnent, and for taking the time to catch up! And yes it does sometimes feel as though it’s ticking!

      Look after yourself and I hope recovery is going well.

      Love

      Cheistine xx

      Reply

  19. Bodhirose
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 15:59:28

    So true…it is hard won. I’ve been in that place so many times…and have been very surprised at where my tenacity has taken me. Beautiful and powerful message here, Christine…very encouraging too.

    Love,
    Gayle xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 16:11:06

      Thank you so much Gayle.

      Just sometimes I need to reassure myself its okay to rail against the world. I can so easily berate myself and fall back i to the “shoulds” and “oughts”.

      As I think I mentioned on here to Diane, I carry with me some simple yet powerful words that she said to me a while ago, “allow yourself to be as weak as you are strong”.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  20. Bodhirose
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 18:18:26

    Sure it’s okay…you just don’t want to get stuck there…in the shoulds and oughts. I can easily go to that place too but found I need to let go and forgive…myself.

    That Diane is a wise woman. πŸ™‚ And I love that word “allow.”

    Gayle xoxo

    Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 13:17:19

    The key thing, Christine, is to keep moving down the trail. You embody that as much as anyone Ethel and I know. There is no end to beauty in the world, but noticing the beauty requires attention, and attention requires that we get out of ourselves and our pain and our troubles enough to pay attention. So many of your poems have human strength in them. That’s why Ethel and I like to come here. Pain is not
    a pretty gift
    tied with pastel ribbon bows
    Neither are so many of the tribulations that wrack the human spirit in ways that are like a fist smashing into the face or like the wisp of a breeze at dawn. But the point is to
    keep going, keep clinging,
    reach out and don’t ever give up,
    but allow your sorrow
    its rightful place…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

