NOW

Now

Life changed when
illness arrived;
it seemed like
I had stalled,
quite out of the blue
in the middle of a busy road,
traffic all around me,
this way and that,
impatient, hurried.
And a black cloud of sadness
overwhelmed me;
a total eclipse.

Until I realised where I was.
it was simple;
I was right here in the now,
where clouds will never look the same again,
and with all the time I wanted just to be;
to rejoice in the depth of animal eyes
and be swept off my feet by the
colour of a bird’s tail.
Freedom, and a second chance
to notice all I had missed.

 

 

 

 

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Armetta
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 12:18:42

    Beautiful. And yes, EXACTLY.

    Reply

  2. Through My Eyes
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 12:33:25

    Beautiful Christine…”Freedom, and a second chance to notice all I had missed”. I love this. I’m glad you enjoyed your walk with your dog 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 13:36:45

      Thanks very much Norma!

      The “walk” this morning was an experience I will never forget! I have visualised the scene for many months now, actually being out taking Jack for a walk again! I didnt want it to end, but the wind was so strong it could have taken us all up into the blue yonder!! 🙂 Cant wait for the next one!

      Xx

      Reply

  3. tikarmavodicka
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 12:43:04

    Hi Christine,
    This poem is so very beautiful. It’s inspiring how you draw out all the positives in your circumstances. Life is beautiful and this poem certainly reflects that.
    Your poem was a lovely and inspiring read as I take a break from painting. Now back to it! 🙂
    (((Big warm hugs)))
    Pats for Jack and the cats
    With much love
    Tikarma
    Xxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 13:42:18

      Thank you so much Tikarma!

      There is so much out there to enjoy. And I fully intend to do just that! 🙂

      Enjoy the painting and I look forward to hopefully being privileged to see some of it eventually 🙂

      Love and (((BIG HUGS)))
      from me and
      SNUGGLES
      from Jack, Phoebe
      and Poppy

      Xxxx

      Reply

  4. leamuse
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 14:00:46

    Christine, it is so very true and beautifully written. Life often throws us a curve ball and we rise to the challenge or sink into the abyss missing all that is to come.

    Challenges have a way of slowing us down, demanding our attention despite the fact that we had no idea we were missing something and need to re-focus.

    Well done mon amie!
    Gros bisous,
    Lea
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 14:24:58

      Thank you very much Lea for this lovely comment

      And you are right, life can become so busy that we don’t realise we are missing things until something happens to cause us to take stock. And positive outcomes are always there if we look for them; life just requires some adjustments, and thats the difficult part, but well worth the perseverance. 🙂

      So pleased to see you back; I hope recovery is going well.

      Love

      Christine xxxx

      Reply

  5. lscotthoughts
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 15:10:00

    This is just so beautiful, Christine…acceptance, second chances and freedom are three wonderful things in life and may you experience even more beauty this time around! HBL ♥ xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 15:32:03

      Oh thank you so much Lauren for this lovely comment.

      The second chance has come at a rather high price but I am going to make the most of every moment. 🙂 There is always so much to be grateful for.

      HBL ❤ XXX

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Apr 14, 2013 @ 16:02:48

        I understand the high price, Christine, but I know how strong you are and wish I could give you a hug right now! I’ve now come to the realization that high prices come in all different variations…as my daughter always says, “it’s all about the here and now!” Love ya! xx

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 17:37:52

      Thank you Lauren! And your daughter is very strong too and so are you. We have hidden supplies somewhere deep inside I think, that we never knew were there. HBL XX ❤

      Reply

  6. Ina
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 15:45:02

    Hi Christine,
    this beautiful poem shows how you have dealt with your changed cirumstances very well, and that life has many things to offer 🙂 I hope you will enjoy life as it is for a long time to come, and see the possibilities that are still there for you.
    ❤ L&H xx

    Reply

  7. Ali Brown
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 16:56:14

    Beautiful, xxx

    Reply

  8. Martin Shone
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 21:34:22

    Very lovely, Christine xx

    Reply

  9. bardessdmdenton
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 00:52:24

    The metaphor of being in the middle of the street with traffic whizzing around you is excellent – it made me feel the confusion and anxiousness that you must’ve felt when you were first diagnosed and no doubt that you have felt many times since. It made me so sad that your life was ever ‘eclipsed’ like this. And then the second stanza lifted the spirit of the poem and, I am sure, all who read it. I love that your joy in your new mobility is so tied to Jack’s joy, too. It made me think of how my cats rub my mom’s walker like it is part of her – how acceptant they are that it is. Such an excellent poem, again, Christine – another example of transforming despair into hope. I hope this is one that reaches many! Have a told you – well – two things: You are a wonderful poet … and I love ya! XO ♥

    Reply

  10. Francina
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 07:58:55

    Excellent written poem, dear Christine. As I said before I admire the honesty in your writing so much! There is only the here and now to enjoy indeed, and we all should enjoy those moments to the max and as long as we live! Not always easy, not at all, but its indeed the only way girl! I’m sure Jack loves his outings with you too. The weather was very springy here too yesterday! Finally we Northern Euros have spring !
    love and hugs from across the creek
    Francina xox .

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:21:32

      Thank you very much Francina!

      Yes it certainly isnt easy to stay within the moment. Life can be so hectic at times. But being more or less forced into being here has taught me so much. At first I didn’t know what do do with “now” apart from wish everything was different. Now, I have realised it is an opportunity to be grasped and treasured. However there are days when I rail against everything that seems unfair, but that’s just part of being human I think.

      Let’s enjoy the spring!!

      Lots of love

      Christine xxx

      Reply

  11. journeyintopoetry
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:14:54

    Thanks so much Diane. I am smiling at the thought of your cats interpreting your mums walker as part of her: that’s such a lovely image 🙂

    And yes I still get days where I feel sonewhat “left behind” but I try to use my mindfulness medidation technique with this one and acknowledge that thought and then say to it “not now thank you” and bring myself back to the present moment.
    It takes practice but it can work wonders. 🙂

    Jack is such an important part of my emotional recovery as he has been with all the way since well beore the diagnosis, witnessing my falling and licking my wounds.
    He’s an amazing friend and companion.

    And the last part of your comment brought tears to my eyes. Thank you so much for your continuing support, encouragement and love? And I love you too! ❤ Xx

    Reply

  12. Jane Thorne
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 20:46:28

    The wisdom and grace of acceptance in this poem gave me pause … I read it several times. Your words reach many and we all love you. Funky teapots my lovely friend Xxxxx biggest hugs xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:01:11

      Thank you so much Jane! Your words are full of love and have given me a lovely warm feeling.

      And today the sun is shining; it’s enough to make anyone want to buy a teapot!!! 🙂

      Xxxbiggest hugs to you tooxxx

      Reply

  13. I HAVE A VOICE
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 23:25:48

    Christine ~beautiful analogy and metaphor ~ it’s an awakening shake! I find myself looking outside and around and, deep within myself.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:35:37

      Thank tou very much Deborah for your lovely comment.

      Looking deep within is so difficult I find, but becomes more of a natural process with practice, and when we appear to be directed there against our will. it eentually seems the only place to go in order to be at peace. 🙂 x

      Reply

  14. greenlightlady
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 04:15:55

    Christine, what an awesome attitude you show in this poem. You are so encouraging!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

  15. countingducks
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 08:36:49

    Your second verse is full of a beautiful acceptance and wisdom. You are ” right here in the now” and you are making it count in a way which is inspirational. It is wonderful to have your words in my life

    Reply

  16. belfastdavid
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 10:48:30

    A wonderful uplifting poem.

    And isn’t it exciting to discover how much we missed because we were always in a hurry!!!

    As someone once said –
    “don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers along the way”

    🙂

    Love
    David

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 16, 2013 @ 13:06:42

      Thank you very much David!

      I remember a time when, whether in a hurry or not ! I still noticed nothing. Those were awful years, but I have definitely been given a chance to make up for it!

      And as you know so well, this quote is a favourite one 🙂

      Much Love

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  17. Bodhirose
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 15:43:43

    Christine, you illustrated perfectly that it’s pretty much our emotional and feeling states that dictate how we navigate through this world. Even though if physically handicapped, (or not) it’s our mental outlook that makes a huge difference in how we will cope when life gets difficult…or not.

    I’m glad that your ‘eclipse’ was eclipsed!

    I apologize for not visiting lately…my mind and attention are on things other than blogging these days. But so glad I came by to read this poem of breakthrough and being in the ‘now.’

    May you always have the inward strength to live in the moment and find peace therein.

    Love and hugs,
    Gayle

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 16:05:02

      Gayle, how lovely to “see” you!

      And thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on my poem.

      The eclipse was quite natural I think in the circumstances. And maybe it gave me the time that was needed to rearrange my perspectives. I still have down days but who doesn’t? And although I try my very best to live in the now, I sometimes find myself starting to live in the future. But as in the mindful meditation, I catch those thoughts and say “no thank you, not today, I am too busy doing now”!! 🙂

      Its lovely to see you.

      Love and hugs

      Christine xx

      Reply

  18. Bodhirose
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 18:27:32

    It was nice to “see” you again too, Christine. I like how you look at your eclipse as being a positive. The universe is very slick in presenting to us the lessons that we most need.

    I often find myself projecting into the future too…or looking behind at what once was…and want to be gentle when I remind myself that there is only now. I’m not always gentle with that reminder! I like your outlook…it resonates with mine.

    Love and hugs,
    Gayle

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 18, 2013 @ 18:37:44

      When I was diagnosed I came across, quite by accident (or maybe it was synchronicity) a book called How to be Sick by Toni Bernhard and it helped me to change my whole perspective on my condition and on my life in general.

      Now is definitely the safest place for me and I need to remind myself of this every day.

      Love and hugs
      and an extra one for your little one 🙂

      Xxx

      Reply

  19. Bodhirose
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 20:53:31

    Yes, maybe synchronicity…I believe things show up in our lives for a reason. I love that this book brought such positive change to you…books have done that for me too…just at the perfect time.

    And thanks especially for the extra hug for little Mira…very sweet of you to think of her, Christine.

    Love,
    Gayle xoxo

    Reply

  20. Fergiemoto
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 23:12:32

    Oh, wow, Christine, this is beautiful! It’s so important to be in the present…in the now…and I feel like I could be swept away by all the nature and wildlife around me. Illness eclipsed me as well, and created a new journey, but must forge ahead.
    Sending you many e-hugs!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:13:24

      Thank you so much Fergie, for your lovely comment!

      As you say, we must forge ahead; there is so much to enjoy albeit in a different
      way, and lots to be grateful for.

      I am constantly swept away by all your wonderful photos and poetry. 🙂

      Lots of e-hugs to you too xxx

      Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 13:09:27

    This is a courageous poem, Christine, although I am sure you do not see it that way. Still, working on the Navajo Nation, where poverty and illness is so prevalent, I have known many a person with a wonderful soul to them who just give up when the battering of life becomes too much.
    Lately I have been struggling with walking. I’m okay for a week and then my ankle or knee swells up like a melon, and I’m back on crutches for a week again. I’m hoping that the charcot marie tooth, a form of muscular dystrophy, does not get so bad that I’ll have to give up walking. That’s certainly not true yet, but if it does, and disease is progressive, especially after having to fight the cancer, I hope I can find your strength and courage.
    This poem strikes at the meaning of human. We do get so tied up into the voice of ourselves in our head and our relationships we do fail “to rejoice in the depth of animal eyes…” and that has made the earth a poorer place for all humanity. This is simply a wonderful poem.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:37:51

      Tom,
      I appreciate your feedback so very much, and the fact that despite everything you
      are dealing with in your life, you still make time to visit and comment. That means more to me than I an articulate here.

      Just in case my prayers are heard, you and Ethel are included in them e very time I find myself actually doing this rather strange thing that I don’t yet understand.

      you have great courage and strength and I find inspiration in that.

      Love

      Christine x

      Reply

  22. hollyannegetspoetic
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 14:35:55

    How did I miss this one til NOW? Living in the moment is so hard when we’re used to striving for something that always seems just a tiny bit beyond reach…

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Apr 27, 2013 @ 18:23:26

      Thank you Holly!

      I am getting used to, and appreciate a lot of the time, living in the now because if I dont I am the one who ends up suffering, wanting what I cant have anymore. But often, and it still is often (I hope this changes to less often) I do crave what I have lost. Just yesterday I had a shouting and stamping session becuse I just wanted to get the train into town again. I used to do that a cuople of times a week, have a browse round the shops… Oh well, a day at a time, and I have tons to be grateful for 🙂 x

      Reply

  23. Laurel's Reflections
    May 14, 2013 @ 20:37:33

    Wow, what an amazing poem, and process (and woman!) xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

