DAVID’S TEDDY

A teddy so loved he is worn
till his threads are all bare and torn.
He is forty years old,
many stories told
and some would leave you forlorn,

but he is happy right here on the chair,
a new generation to share,
to play with, talk to, cuddle and feel
and to let him know he’s no toy, but real.

Image

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harry
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 14:53:43

    Really lovely poem.

    Reply

  2. harulawordsthatserve
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 15:28:06

    Oh Christine, he’s adorable, as is this sweet and smile inducing poem. Love the last line…or course he’s real:-) Thanks for sharing.
    Love and hugs,

    Harula xxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 11, 2013 @ 15:33:58

      Thank you Harula! He was brought out from the depths of storage by my son to show to his little boy and he was opposite me on the chair and begging to be shared with everyone! He has now joined all the other cuddlies to be loved by a second generation πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs to you too

      Xxxx

      Reply

  3. lscotthoughts
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 15:31:11

    Oh, this is so beautiful and precious seems to be the right word, Chris! I can just imagine the stories to be told and I love, “a new generation to share.” Much love and many hugs! HBL β™₯ xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 11, 2013 @ 15:36:22

      Thank you so much Lauren!

      I don’t know where this poem came from really. Teddy was sitting opposite me and I think he wrote it for me! It wasnt an intended WP poem but I think he wanted to be shared with everyone!

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:02:12

        Sometimes the “muse” is there right in front of us! I think it’s a perfect poem for WP, too! I’m doubting the one I posted today! lol But that’s what I do at times, after I click on the publish button! πŸ™‚

        Anyway, I love this and the memories it evokes and then sharing with new generations. I can also relate, as my kids still have many of their old stuffed animals, afraid to “let go.” There is a lime green dog with floppy ears and a red plaid fat frog that my Mom made for me and they still have them. It’s these two little animals that I thought of when I read your poem. Beautiful, my friend! Have the beautiful day you deserve, too. HBL β™₯

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:09:09

      Aw thank you Lauren.

      And I have read and commented on yours! You haveno need to doubt it, it is beautiful! I doubt all mine as I click “publish” !

      Im pleased this one evoked some memories for you too, of a red plaid fat fog; he sounds very cuddly. And a lime green dog with floppy ears! Just wonderful!

      You have a good day too my lovely friend ❀ xxx. HBL

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:12:02

        Thanks, Chris, your encouragement helps! Maybe today I’m feeling a little “iffy” who knows? πŸ™‚ Many hugs and it would be great if we could enjoy a cuppa together! πŸ™‚ Well, off to work I go! β™₯

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:31:42

      Enjoy the working day Lauren! Xx❀xX

      Reply

  4. Pete Armetta
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:21:23

    Aww that’s so cute! Β πŸ™‚

    ________________________________

    Reply

  5. The Background Story
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:36:52

    sweet and lovely πŸ™‚ reminds me mr. bean and the love he has for his teddy. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. belfastdavid
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 17:11:32

    As a follow on from your last poem ‘The Important Things’ this one just puts it all in perspective!!! πŸ™‚

    Elvis Bear sends his love πŸ™‚

    Much love
    David
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 11, 2013 @ 17:27:22

      Thank you very much David! This is a lovely comnent πŸ™‚

      And the love from Elvis Bear is very much appreciated! Rock ‘n’ roll will never die! πŸ™‚

      Much Love

      Christine

      Xxx

      Reply

  7. Fergiemoto
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 19:28:22

    A much loved teddy full of so many delightful stories!
    What a charming poem, Christine!

    Reply

  8. leamuse
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 05:11:22

    Madness is highly under-rated! πŸ™‚
    A charming window into the past with promises of the future. Perhaps Teddy’s stories are a collection to be written?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 12, 2013 @ 08:39:24

      Thank you very much Lea!

      This little verse arrived after someone invited me yesterday to join a group called “Teddy Story Lines”. The only requirement for membership is we write teddy stories and poems and promise to leave the adult at the door! My kind of group! πŸ™‚ I saw David’s Teddy (David being my son) on the sofa after he had shown it to his little boy when they were here at Easter. He begged for a little poem! Xxx

      Reply

  9. countingducks
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 09:32:24

    You have captured the pleasure ,many people feel in their old cuddly toys, and the memories encapsulated in them. My eldest daughter has both the teddies who joined her in her pram in the first weeks of her life, and when I see them I am transported back to those lovely days

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 12, 2013 @ 11:01:58

      Thanks Peter. Yes, that’s exactly how I felt when our son David dug his teddy out to show to his little boy. All those memories! Including me trying to sew on a new mouth and being told teddy now looked all wrong! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  10. beckarooney
    Jun 12, 2013 @ 19:44:20

    40 years old is amazing, if only he could talk! I still have my favourite teddy from when I was tiny, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to part with him – he holds too many memories.
    I love the last line, it captures the whole feeling of the poem perfectly πŸ™‚ x

    Reply

  11. suzywordmuser
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 01:17:48

    Ah – how sweet! πŸ™‚ I have a forty five year old teddy Panda, he’s a little bald in places but his bell in his tummy still rings!! πŸ™‚ But there’s no-one to play with him! 😦 I get him out now and then to have a little memory trip, but he doesn’t sleep in my bed any more! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 14, 2013 @ 08:34:32

      Thank you Suzy!

      We need to be able to go on those memory trips dont we, and who better to take with us than those wonderful cuddly creatures who accompanied us on ghe original journey:) Im aure your panda is quite content knowing he still lives at hone and is loved.

      Youve reminded me of two cuddly pandas I made when my two older children were small. One was called Wilf and the other, Alf. Wilf was very bossy (my son’s voice) and Alf was very submissive, ( y daughter’s) putting up with all sorts! My son wasnt an aggressive character at all, in fact, just the opposite but when he became Wilf’s voice he acted the part!! I think there may have been something deeply psychological going on, as when he was Wilf he had all the confidence in the world but didnt have much confidence at all as himself. However he has grown into a lovely well balanced adult now with three of his own little ones. πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

      • suzywordmuser
        Jun 15, 2013 @ 05:59:44

        Ah – the power of the teddy! πŸ™‚ I think I’ve heard of psychiatrists using toys as a way of helping a child find their voice. And it’s amazing how many children with problems or just shyness sometimes, really leave that all that behind and grow up to be well adjusted adults. Good to hear your son gained some confidence through his loved teddy! And I’m sure he’s be embarrassed to read this though!! πŸ™‚

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 15, 2013 @ 09:37:09

      Yes Suzy! He would be embarrassed Im sure! I don’t think he even knows Im on WP! He used to have many conversations with me, speaking as Wilf. . He could say things he coudnt say as himself. It all sounds rather strange now Im talking about it and reflecting. But it could be quite fun as Wif (David) was a fascinating character! David has actually just sent me a video of his own little boy “graduating” from pre-school! How time flies and life changes! He is a great daddy! Xxx

      Reply

  12. bardessdmdenton
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 17:40:26

    When I was a child I had a LOAD of stuffed toys and they all had to be in bed with me at night. My mom used to say that she was afraid I might suffocate, as she could hardly find me there for them!

    This lovely poem about your beloved teddy made me think of all my supposedly inanimate friends (their was a donkey I especially loved) – how alive they were for me and still are in my memories. And that what makes us truly happy and brings us comfort can never suffocate us.

    So glad Teddy is still breathing comfort and fun into young lives! He looks a little battered, yes, but truly happier than ever!

    Love and a big teddybear hug, Diane β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 14, 2013 @ 18:00:30

      Thanks very much Diane!

      (i bet I wouldnt have noticed “their”!!

      We have always been a very cuddly toy family. I can almost picture the young version of you making sure they were all comfortably tucked up with you!

      Cuddly toys always remind me of the story The Velveteen Rabbit. Are you familiar with it? Its one of those wonderful children’s books that reads on different levels. It had a very profound impact on me when I went on a spiritual retreat a few years ago when I was struggling with my self worth.

      Lots of love and Teddy Bear hugs to you too!

      ❀ Xxx

      Reply

  13. bardessdmdenton
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 17:41:10

    THERE was a donkey – not their … πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Caddo-Jael
    Jun 15, 2013 @ 03:36:34

    Oh I LOVE LOVE LOVE this, Christine!! (And you too!)

    Reply

  15. Ina
    Jun 21, 2013 @ 06:17:47

    Hi Chrsitine,

    what a lovely poem, and bear πŸ™‚ Some toys are evergreens (but if they really are getting green, they need a bath perhaps lol)

    Love and teddy hugs {{{ Christine }}} xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 21, 2013 @ 11:12:23

      Thank you Ina! Your comment made me smile.

      This wasn’t really intended for WP but for a teddy bear writing group I am part of. It just seemed to meander onto WP too! Lol

      L&H xx

      Reply

  16. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 17:47:48

    Awwww, I just want to hug that teddy!

    Reply

  17. Francina
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 19:19:01

    cutie Teddy.. and a delightful and lovely poem, Christine !
    love and hugs xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

