A Good Place

 

Mostly I find myself
meandering through the days
foot-loose in a cool forest of time.
I wave goodbye to the running
always in circles till dizzy
with exhaustion, too tired
to simply be,

too tired to stop and smell roses
or watch a bird bathe in a puddle,
shaking itself dry just like my dog;
maybe we could all shake ourselves dry.

Β Today I find myself in love all over again,
every moment a passionate kiss,
for one at a time, they’re all we have.
I don’t even care how the weather behaves;
no more chastising clouds or
chasing elusive sun;
they have no hold over me anymore,
all ropes are untied;
it feels a good place to be.

48 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elia Bintang
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:45:24

    Simple and lovely πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. AngelaMarie
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:49:58

    Lovely!! πŸ™‚ Footloose in a cool forest of time…. no longer chastising clouds or chasing elusive sun… what wonderful imagery. I love it, Christine! Hugs!! Angela

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:07:26

      Thanks so much Angela! Itsvlivelyto see youandvyour lovely comment is very much appreciated.

      I still havent done anything with the writing exercise!! I will getto it eventually πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs

      Xxx

      Reply

  3. hollyannegetspoetic
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:50:06

    Freedom to simply be! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. leamuse
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:52:40

    What an image! Us shaking ourselves off such a Jack would do. Then you send the clouds away as you fall back in love with life. Wonderful. You are amazing! xxx

    Reply

  5. Ina
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 13:38:51

    Great to read this, and a day to cherish!
    L&H xx

    Reply

  6. Cynthia Jobin
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 14:28:44

    When my dog rises from sleep in the morning she shakes her skin all over like some kind of loose garment, and I always wish I could do that!
    It’s a good place to be, indeed, when we lose the “should be” and dwell in the “is”.

    Reply

  7. Harry
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 14:52:43

    Love it.

    Reply

  8. lscotthoughts
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 15:32:44

    Oh, Chris, this is really lovely and soothing, foot-loose in a cool forest of time, shaking itself dry just like my dog…no more chastising clouds or
    chasing elusive sun; they have no hold over me anymore…these are my favorite lines and I think I was “in the same good place” as AngelaMarie! πŸ™‚ Sending you much love and many hugs! πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Reply

  9. susanjanejones
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 17:31:29

    Mmmm, that’s relaxing.

    Reply

  10. suzywordmuser
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 02:04:06

    This is quite beautiful, and so heartbreakingly real Christine!!β™₯

    And we chase so much nonsense when we are younger, it’s good to know what life really is, but it’s sad that it often comes through much suffering to truly feel that. Maybe we have a wrong concept of suffering, and unpleasant times, maybe they are essential to becoming a deep thinker, and cause us to feel and see in a different way. I kind of want to reject that possibility, but I’ve seen it so many times in myself and many others. How strange life is, and how much more have we not seen yet?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:24:08

      Thank you so much Suzy for this heartfelt comnent.

      I do think you are right when you say we seem to have to suffer in some way before we arrive at certain places of peace within ourselves. I also agree that these sufferings are a necessary part of the equation and I have often said, like you, that I would rather this peace didnt have to involve the suffering, but as the saying goes we cant have joy without sorrow; theyre an inseperable duo I think. And indeed how much else is there yet to see. πŸ™‚ xxx

      Reply

  11. triciabertram
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 02:09:01

    A beautiful, powerful poem of the possibility of peace in acceptance. Your words gave me something I needed today. Thank you my dear friend. ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:31:41

      Thank you very much Tricia. I dont really crave to sustain the feeling either as that would be unrealistic, but knowing I can feel like this tells me it can happen again even if in the meantime it disappears and is taken over by grief again; I realise its all part of the pattern of life and rather akin to the way the weather goes. πŸ™‚

      Love and hugs xx.

      Reply

  12. harulawordsthatserve
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 07:37:41

    Gorgeous Christine, enjoy being in that ‘good place’ filled with love for each moment. Very soul stirring, beautiful imagery here. Thanks for this eloquent reminder to enjoy life in all it’s forms, simply by taking the time to witness life all around. Blessings dear friend, Harula xxxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:35:42

      Thank you very much Harula! I can read this again when Im feeling negative and know that these moments of peace are easily within reach when I am ready to grasp them. They dont go away; I do. πŸ™‚

      Love and blesings to you too xxx

      Reply

  13. Pete Armetta
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 19:23:13

    Sounds like a GREAT place. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. bardessdmdenton
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 19:04:07

    Such moments are to be cherished, indeed, Christine. Certainly, they are always there if we pause in are endeavors or difficulties or moods, or whatever draws a curtain over our eyes and even our spirits. This a beautiful poem – I read it again and it affected me even more deeply, the last two lines especially. But it is all lovely. XO β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 20, 2013 @ 09:18:39

      Thank you so much Diane for commenting so deeply as you always do. It is appreciated so much and truly helps me to keep being brave enough to put these things out there to share. Lots ofbliveabd hugs ❀ xx

      Reply

  15. The Background Story
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 03:07:37

    it seems like someone is in a happy place! πŸ˜‰ i wanna be where you are! πŸ™‚ -c

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 13:03:02

      Thank you c. Yes I am at the moment; Im slowly learning that even with all the trials of a progressive chronic illness life can still taste good. How long this feeling will last is another matter!! πŸ™‚ im just enjoying it while it’s here and have the
      Knowledge now that it is possible. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  16. Jane Thorne
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 11:47:29

    Chris, this is beautiful. We have this moment in time, it is ours. Sitting here, outside in my garden, with the breeze on my face watching the butterflies. Sending loving thoughts and biggest hugs to you my teapot friend. Xxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 21, 2013 @ 13:06:18

      Thank you very much Jane! I can just picture you enjoying the company of the butterflies! They seem to be particularly fluttery this year! :). Mmm a teapot idea!

      Lots of love and hugs
      Xxx

      Reply

  17. beckarooney
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:18:57

    It’s wonderful when you get that feeling, like you’re seeing the world for the very first time. I felt it after reading your poem, you have a natural way of conveying your feelings so they can be felt by others Christine – fantastic writing, as always πŸ˜€ x

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 24, 2013 @ 12:07:00

      Thanks so much Becky!

      I know the feeling wont last; it will come and go as all emotions do. But I have a good point of reference in the poem for when I feel down, knowing that this good feeling is also accessible as I have experienced it. πŸ™‚

      πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply

  18. greenlightlady
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 21:38:05

    Christine, your poem reminds me of the goodness there is in aging… thank you!The autumn of our lives slows us down enough to really take in the beauty around us.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 26, 2013 @ 08:20:12

      Hi Wendy, thank you for dropping by and for your lovely comment.

      Yes! I hadnt thought of it in that way; my slowing down has been brought forward a little sooner than I thought it would because of my illness, but I am ageing too!! And I know I am aware of so much more around me that I would miss if I was still running round in those dizzy circles. πŸ™‚

      Blesings to you too

      Christine x

      Reply

  19. Betty Hayes Albright
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 20:23:22

    Christine, I love this. “All ropes are untied” – a wonderful, profound statement – of letting go and accepting….

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08:26

      Thank you very much Betty!

      Im getting better at achieving this state, but as with everything it is impermenent! However knowing that it is possible is a comfort when Im raging against the world and everything!! πŸ™‚ xxx

      Reply

  20. Jackie
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 13:12:41

    Another one I missed – sheesh! Anyway, I love your poetry. I always feel as if I’m there with you and I can so relate to the feelings you express. Thanks so much for sharing your world. xx πŸ˜€

    Reply

  21. Fergiemoto
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:24:38

    I love that feeling of freedom and love! A remarkable way of expressing this, Christine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

