Spider

The trees whisper me

into their awareness;

I choose one to sit beneath.

My head curves an arc with ease

to gaze swaying arms,

breathing in their comfort,

sharing their world

on a day to remember

when I finally see our lives as one.

A tiny spider walks across my hand,

stops half way, for a rest,

then carries on.

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lscotthoughts
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 15:02:03

    This is so soothing, Chris, so very beautiful, my friend…and I don’t mind tiny spiders, it’s the bigger ones that cause heebee jeebees! 🙂 Have a lovely Monday and sending hugs! xoxo ♥

    Reply

  2. bardessdmdenton
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 17:50:25

    Oh, just beautiful, Christine! Well, you know how much I love spiders, especially the tiny ones who seem to have such courage. I love the gentle awareness and perspective of this poem – I could envision it on film, with you gazing up at the tree, breathing as it breathes, and then realizing the little spider on your hand. Perfect. Just lovely! XO ♥

    Reply

  3. bennetta faire
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 18:07:21

    I LOVE getting to read it twice!! Hs and Ss–a wheelbarrow full!

    Reply

  4. Cynthia Jobin
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 18:35:53

    I address the larger spiders as “Charlotte,” (as in CHARLOTTE’ S WEB) and that helps me to like them better…..

    Reply

  5. Betty Hayes Albright
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 20:20:06

    “The trees whisper me” – I love this phrase, Christine!
    And the tiny spider – they’re actually cute! (The larger ones can stay outside, but they’re fun to watch as well.) I don’t doubt that he was actually playing with you. 🙂
    Trying to do a little catch up here, and it’s great to be reading your latest.

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2013 @ 09:58:07

      Thank you very much Betty! I see you read my reply to Diane! I dont think I would dare share this with anyone other than my blogging friends. You all seem to understand even if its crazy!! I do like to think he/she was playing wirh me. But yes, the spider was only given the chance to play because if its size! Any bigger and I would have been off!! 🙂

      I hope tou are settling well in your new home 🙂

      Love and hugs
      Xxx

      Reply

      • Betty Hayes Albright
        Aug 28, 2013 @ 02:10:37

        Believe it or not, I currently have a tiny “pet” spider indoors that builds his equally tiny web in a different spot every night. Each morning I have to search for him, so as not to accidentally crush him. I’ve named him “Waldo”, as in (“Where’s Waldo?) And I swear he’s playing games with me! (Any larger spider would be carefully transferred OUTdoors!)
        It seems there are many of us who understand how we think – thankfully! 🙂

        Yes, settled in here, thank you. Missing some things, but appreciating others.

        Hope YOU are having a good week!

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05:10

      Im trying my best to have a quiet week, conserving energy for a trip over to Ireland on the 5th September for a few days. I dread/look forward to these things now as journeys are dificult and I have had to succumb on these occasions after much denial, to letting a wheelchair enter the equation. I don’t think I will ever get used to this part of my condition. But Im still here and at the moment Im feeling well and as the trip is partly to celebrate our baby granddaughter’s first irthday, I think that is more important than dreading using a wheelchair. Im still so fit in my head!! 🙂 xx

      Reply

  6. Harry
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 20:57:34

    Talking to the trees, hmmm 🙂

    Reply

  7. Jackie
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 22:48:29

    What a wonderful poem! I love the imagery. I felt like I was there with you. xx 😀

    Reply

  8. Jane Thorne
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 07:29:42

    I was by your side reading this Chris. Just popped in to put the kettle on and make us a cuppa. Much love, Xxx

    Reply

  9. Ali Brown
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02:24

    Lovely – so peaceful! xx

    Reply

  10. Through My Eyes
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27:50

    Beautiful Christine, very soothing and makes me want to sit under a tree. I don’t like spiders but I love trees. I find them as soothing as the ocean 🙂

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2013 @ 14:42:35

      Thank you Norma!

      As I said above the spider was so tiny. I still had to work hard to let it stay, but I just told myself it meant no harm. But a larger one , well..!! And I feel the same as you about trees too! 🙂 xx

      Reply

  11. suzywordmuser
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 06:31:59

    Such beautiful thoughts here Christine!!♥ 🙂 And to think that our hands must be like an island to a tiny spider! We don’t see ourselves as islands do we? But there is probably something even smaller that has to take a breather crawling across that spider too – it never ends, like Russian dolls, always another one inside, always another one much smaller! 🙂

    Reply

  12. leamuse
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 17:09:13

    Christine, I believe there is magic afoot in your garden and that you are the magician! Lovely! XxXx 🙂

    Reply

  13. Francina
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 18:15:12

    Serene and zen quality poem. Beautifulyl written, Christine,. Fall is on it’s way for the spiders are weaving their webs…I found a couple of them on my balcony this morning too..
    read you again when I’m back ..
    love and hugs from across the puddle xoxo

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 08:25:08

      Thanks very much Francina for your lovely comment!

      Your book will be posted tomorow when I have someone here to take it to the post office for me. So looking forward to yours!

      Love across the puddle!!
      Xxx.

      Reply

  14. I HAVE A VOICE
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 22:51:24

    we truly can see a million similitudes in nature about ourselves ~ terrific writing ! Blessings dear friend ~Debbie

    Reply

  15. beckarooney
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 18:42:01

    A peaceful, moving poem, it’s like the world was on pause while you wrote this Christine. You’ve made a friend with the spider! 🙂 x

    Reply

  16. harulawordsthatserve
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 08:58:46

    This is indeed a beautiful, soothing poem that draws me in and makes me feel like I’m sitting under the tree too. AND…I love the sense of perspective in the last lines, a hand can be a long distance if you’re a little spider! Thanks for making me smile:-) Blessings on your day dear friend, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:41:05

      Hi Harula, Im just giving my reply a second go as the other didnt work.

      The summer has been good to us this year and Ive spent a lot of time in the garden simply being mindful.it has given me inspiration to write about nature, an area of writing still outside my comfort area!

      Love and blessings to you
      Xxx

      Reply

  17. countingducks
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 16:47:59

    I love that piece about the spider, because I know that moment so well, and you capture it beautifully. I hope it is a true record of a peaceful moment you had at peace with your surroundings

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 17:06:56

      Thank you Peter. Yes its a true moment captured in the garden this sumner. This spider came to see me in the same place three days running, always walked across my hand 🙂

      Reply

  18. Fergiemoto
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:28:07

    Beautiful, Christine!
    I don’t mind the tiny harmless spiders. I dont care for the bigger, scarier looking spiders. With autumn officially here, the spiders are finding their way into our house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

