Anthology

I am thrilled to have several of my poems included in a new anthology The book is called Touching MS – Poetic Expressions, and all the poems are written by MS patients from all over the world.

 As most of you know I started writing poetry shortly after my diagnosis, and it was, and still is, a very therapeutic exercise for me, but I am now beginning to spread my wings a little and I write on other topics too. Writing poetry has saved my sanity during the very difficult past two years, (the little bit I may have left, that is!!).

Of course, all my poems included in this anthology are related in some way to MS and the book is divided into sections such as hope, acceptance, humour, kinship, denial, diagnosis etc.

The fact that some of what I have written so far is now “out there”, and hopefully on its way to helping others come to terms with/manage this horrible condition, is a dream come true. So I would like to thank all of you who are following my blog, especially those who have followed me from the beginning of this scary part of my journey, for your strong support and encouragement. If MS has any bonuses at all, then a huge one is the fabulous friendships that have been forged over the past two very difficult years. Thank you all!! 🙂

Here is a link to the book Touching MS Poetic Expressions

66 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leamuse
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 09:47:25

    Congratulations! How wonderful! While I have not been there the whole time, I have been with you for awhile (over a year) and just try to get rid of me. Please don’t think that your beautiful poems help only people with M.S. Even if that is the intention, you help more than you know.
    Well done and now I look forward to your next book! 🙂

    Love,
    Lea

    xxx

    Reply

  2. PookyH
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 09:47:30

    OH WOWWWW! That’s just fabulous – what an achievement and now doubt your beautiful words will bring hope and inspiration to others too xxx

    (p.s. when I viewed this post there was was escapee code mucking up the start of it – I thought it was a concept poem at first 😉

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 15:41:00

      Thank you ao much Pooky!

      Yes WP keeps doing that “gobblegook” language on my drafts and even if I have deleted it from the draft, if WP is having “one of it’s days , then it just ignores the deletion! So I have to take the post off and start again!

      Your comment is so much appreciated and Im so pleased we found each other’s blogs 🙂 x

      Reply

  3. PookyH
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 09:48:30

    *NO doubt. Not being able to string a sentence together does not bode well as I hope was hoping to work on my thesis today!

    Reply

  4. Jane Thorne
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 10:14:56

    Oh Chris, go make yourself a cuppa in celebration immediately….your heartfelt words call to a larger audience and lift others sailing in the same sea. Well done my lovely funky teapot friend. Big hugs. Xxx

    Reply

  5. triciabertram
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 10:43:01

    Christine, how wonderful. I’m so pleased for you. Your writing is warm, powerful and thought provoking. It reaches out to people on so many levels. Although our illnesses are different you help me to strive for acceptance.
    With much love
    Tricia xoxo

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 15:49:06

      Thank you very much Tricia.

      As we come to know each other for longer and therefore in a deeper way, I am certain we help each other along our respective roads. I have learned over the past few years that however different illnesses can be for each individual, the emotional strugles can follow very similar paths.

      Love you
      Hugs
      Xxx

      Reply

  6. countingducks
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 10:58:17

    WOW, WOW , WOW. That’s brilliant news. I’m so pleased for you, and already a bit proud that I knew about your verse before some other people did. In my opinion it is getting stronger and stronger, and reaching new depths. Couldn’t be more pleased

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 15:52:25

      Thank you very much Peter! Your comment has left me feeling warm inside. I very much appreciate your support and encouragement. You and other blogging friends are the reason I have acquired the courage o keep on having a go in the world of writing. 🙂

      Reply

  7. janetfine
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 13:02:08

    Congratulations Chris. It’s not hard to see why your poems would have been accepted! Your writing is inspiring on so many levels. I am really pleased for you. HUGS Xx

    Reply

  8. janette moran
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 13:41:08

    Congratulations and just to think all this began with hurly burly rush and dash . . What a long way from there your poems are. Can’t wait to read and so so proud of you. Nana and grandad would have been so proud too . . Eeeeh our chris xx 🙂 xx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 16:06:12

      Ha ha! Yes! Thanks Janette for taking the time to comment on here. I wish I could show them to Miss King, who looked at me very “sympathetically” as she told me I wasnt school magazine material!

      And yes, mum and dad would be very proud and mum would have been saying exactly that!! I can hear her – I think she’s saying it now!! 🙂

      Xxx😄xxX

      Reply

  9. Cynthia Jobin
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 13:43:22

    You have the soul of a poet and now greater numbers may benefit from your song…oh the strange gifts that come with loss…Congratulations, Christine, and much love….:)

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 16:01:30

      Hi Cynthia and thank you for this lovely comment.

      You are so right about the strange gifts that can arrive through loss, my poetry being one. I took up photography a while after my diagnosis, to help keep my weak hands working. now I enjoy it so much! i take close ups of flowers and post them on my other blog. I was just saying to someone yesterday that there would be so much more I could do with the camera if my hands werent so weak and that I wish I had found photography before my illness. But it was my illness that brought me to photography! So it may well never have happened otherwise! 🙂 therein lies food for thought! 🙂

      Reply

  10. lscotthoughts
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 14:01:20

    Congratulations, Chris, this is WONDERFUL and as I’ve said before, you are an inspiration to us all! You will definitely touch others with MS and everyone else who reads your inspiring and beautiful writing. Sending much love and many hugs your way! xoxo ♥
    (p.s. I changed my gravatar and now it’s not working on other blogs. It’ll probably take awhile.)

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 16:09:12

      Thank you very much Lauren! I must say it has given me a great lift and a wonderful feeling when I had the book in my hands for the first time.

      There is always something to be grateful for!

      Look forward to your new gravatar! 🙂

      HBL ❤ XX

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Oct 01, 2013 @ 23:57:30

        I can imagine the feeling, Chris! My gravatar is working on my blog and some others, but not all! Here we go again! You’ve already seen the photo on fb. Just wanted a change around here. You know me and photos; I like changing them! 🙂 Hugs to ya! xox

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 11:22:04

      It is a lovely photo! And change is good! Good luck with it! ❤ xx

      Reply

  11. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 17:36:28

    I am so thrilled for you, Christine, and, of course, not surprised! Whatever you write about reaches out with your honesty and heart and beautiful eye and soul of observation. What you write about your MS experience is so enlightening and inspiring … and not merely to those who have MS. Strange how our passions, our talents, our callings find us, isn’t it? Certainly, not always in the prettiest or kindest of ways. And I can’t help thinking, and feeling, that I probably wouldn’t have the blessing of your friendship without your deciding to write poetry as a ‘therapeutic exercise’. That doesn’t bear thinking about!

    Where do the proceeds to the book go? To MS research, or something of the like?

    XO ♥

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 18:10:48

      Thank you very much Diane for this loving comment.

      It certainly doesnt bear thinking about our not having met and formed this precious friendship. Its quite difficult geting my head round how some beautiful things can happen to us through adversity. I just need to leave that one alone and simply accept it.

      All the proceeds from the book go to The MS Society in America. The link I gave here is Amazon UK but it is obviously also available on Amazon.com.

      Deborah emailed me about it oo so that was lovely.

      Thank you for being such a wonderful support an more importantly a very, very special friend.

      Lots of love ❤ xxx

      Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 19:28:15

      Oh what a good idea! Im sure Cindy will relate to lots in the book; I know I do.

      The thing that strikes me when I read it is how many of us have been told way back that it was all in our heads. I used to think I was going mad when nobody believed my symptoms. That’s 30 years ago, then I apparently went into remission. At least now I know I wasn’t mad after all. 🙂 ❤ xx

      Reply

  12. Betty Hayes Albright
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 22:04:33

    Christine, congratulations! That is exciting news, that you’ll be included in this anthology. Your poetry is masterful (some of the best I’ve seen on WP). It’s not only helpful to those with MS, but it encourages those who suffer with other chronic conditions as well. You’re always an inspiration, with your courage, humor, joy (in those little things), and caring which you spread to everyone. Thank you for sharing it all! 🙂
    Hugs to you,
    Betty

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 10:17:52

      Hi Betty

      Thank you so much for your lovely warm comment; it means a lot to me.

      I still cant quite believe it has all come to fruition. I was approached a few months ago asked if I would lije to submit a few poems,then they asked for more on different aspects of the condition and I didn’t even expect it to go anywhere. So to now have the book in front of me with my poems in it is pure delight!.

      Thanks so much for your support and friendship 🙂

      Hugs xx

      Reply

  13. Caddo
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 03:13:03

    As you know, Christine, I am beyond thrilled, pleased, proud to hear this news. Truly, you’re one of the Overcomers club members! None of us has a perfect life, but we can learn and grow, and refocus with an attitude of what we CAN do–plus an extra cup of gratitude. It is such an honor to have you as my dear friend–I love you BUNCHES. Hugs and Smoochies!! sis Caddo xxxooo

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 10:49:07

      Thank you so much Caddo!

      And yes The Overcomers’ Club! Long may it last. You are SO right about focussing on what we CAN do rather than what we CAN’T! I am just about to try and make gluten free, dairy free gingerbread men!!! All with one hand too! Now that is a challenge! I will report back to Aunty Toad!! This could well be a disaster!

      Love you loads

      Hugs and smoochies by the bucket!
      Xx

      Reply

      • Caddo
        Oct 02, 2013 @ 18:41:00

        I’m standing right beside you, saying, “are they done yet? are they done yet?” Sounds delish!!

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 18:48:07

      I had no ginger!!! Ruth brought some in so will have a go tomorrow! You are going to have to stand there a bit longer! Haha! Hs and Ss

      Reply

      • Caddo
        Oct 02, 2013 @ 18:50:27

        That’s fine, what else of importance do I have to do?!! I’ll jabber away, maybe scribble down a line of poetry or two… Hs and Ss!

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 19:18:54

      You may need to be ready to pick the dough off the floor! How on earth its going to stick together being gluten and dairy free! I may put a drop of superglue in!!

      Reply

  14. suzywordmuser
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 08:58:57

    Several of your poems!!!? Congratulations, that’s really great! 😀 You’ve obviously come a long way since you started out! There looks like a lot of poems in that book, very good value for money, and I will get myself a copy very soon, and look forward to reading that! And it’s good that you feel able to spread your wings and write about other topics too – there is so much to write about in this life, I find the more I think about what to write the more subjects come to mind!

    And it’s so good to have found your blog Christine, and lovely to communicate with you. And I probably haven’t mentioned this before but, your blog was one of a great list of blogs I discovered many months before I even started mine, and I think you were having a bit of a break at the time, due to illness. But I thought your writing looked very interesting so bookmarked it, and when I finally got myself sorted with a blog I came to find you. And do you know, you are the only one in that original long list that has worked out, all the others stopped posting, changed the kind of blog to something else, or just turned out to be a little weird, rude, or downright fake! 😦 So I just wanted to tell you that, and say how lovely it is to communicate with such a genuine dedicated lady, and an excellent writer! 😀

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 11:07:27

      Thank you so much Suzy! Your lovely comment has given me such a warm feeling. 🙂

      I was surprised they used so many of my poems! I submitted a few to begin with then the person putting it all together asked if I had some on more specific aspects of the condition, so I sent few more. They ended up putting 14 in!!

      Im so glad I found your blog too Suzy! You post such a lovely variety of things, I so look forward to new posts from you! And its really lovely to know I am an “old timer” on your blog!! 🙂

      And thank you so much for the reblog! We never know who is out there needing some hope or reassurance. And of course, the more people who buy the book, the more funds will be raised for the MS Society and research into this debilitating condition. 🙂

      Hugs ❤

      Reply

      • suzywordmuser
        Oct 03, 2013 @ 20:28:41

        Wow – fourteen poems!! 😀 Some poetry books only contain about twenty, that’s almost like having a poetry book published!

        Haha – yes, I think you are an ‘old timer’ on my blog, it’s nearly a year old now – can’t believe how fast time has gone or how much I’ve written and also read in that time!

        I really hope it does help to raise funds. Maybe one day some bright spark will discover a way to stop MS from progressing or even better, eliminate it altogether! 🙂

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 20:51:37

      I was very surprised that so many had been used. They just kept asking me to send them and I thought they meant so they could choose a few!

      There is hope out there, lots and lots of very promising research which, of course, is only possible from donations. I doubt there will be a cure for years yet but there is one out there. In the meantime we have to do the best for ourselves with proper diet, physio, mindfulness. Its all about a positive attitude. Life doesnt have to be over, its just different. Easier said than done but some days are better than others. And the ones that arent good we have to say this too shall pass!! 🙂 xx

      Reply

  15. suzywordmuser
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 09:08:14

    Reblogged this on WordMusing and commented:
    I’m reblogging this Christine, because this may be of some interest to
    others following me, and of course your blog with all it’s deep and intelligent writings about your life!♥

    Reply

  16. Through My Eyes
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 10:09:10

    Fantastic news Christine!!! A wonderful achievement and a great opportunity to help others on their journey. You have done so well and your poetry is superb. Congratulations! xxx 🙂

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 11:11:55

      Thank you vey much Norma! Your comment is so supportive and encouraging. It was a lovely feeling when I held the book in my hands for the first time! Its good to know good things can happen through adversity, and even better to experience it. 🙂 xx

      Reply

  17. Jackie
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 16:19:34

    This is wonderful news! Congratulations – I’m so happy for you! Your poetry should be out there and I’m confident that it will help lots of folks. *big hug* xx 😀

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 17:27:46

      Thank you Jackie, not just for this lovely comment but for your continuing support and encouragement. Its so very much appreciated.

      Im looking forward to your burgers; roll on Friday! 🙂

      Hugs to you too 🙂 xxx

      Reply

  18. I HAVE A VOICE
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 19:55:40

    YAHOOOOOOO! What a way to be molded and use your gifts and, pass it on! God always uses us in our di-stress! Congratulations dear! Can’t wait! Give it your all! Prayers & blessings to you, Faithfully Debbie

    Reply

  19. Fergiemoto
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:34:00

    Congratulations, Christine! That is so wonderful!

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:41:55

      Thank you very much Fergie!

      I am so thrilled to think my poems may be really speaking to others with the same condition. It has been such an uplifting experience.

      And thank you so much for catching up on all my posts, its so appreciated. Thank you for all your support. I hope your mum’s treatment is going well. I think about you both often. Xx

      Reply

  20. Francina
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 10:16:41

    Congratulations, dear Christine! This is wonderful news, your poems most certainly belong in that book!!! Excellent, I’m so exited for you! And you know that I think your poems could inspire so many people. Next step … your own poetry book! 🙂 love and hugs from across the creek xxxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 03, 2013 @ 10:37:05

      Thank you very much Francina!

      I do keep thinking about a book, but they are small thoughts wandering around the small out-of-the-way paths at the moment! One of these days they may find courage for the motorway! I never did grasp motorway driving!! Lol

      But this has been a very uplifting experience for me and I keep stroking the book! 🙂

      Love and big hugs
      Xxx

      Reply

  21. Ali Brown
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 14:10:44

    Fantastic news!! Congratulations and Well Done!! xx

    Reply

  22. harulawordsthatserve
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 06:58:16

    Soooo happy for you…hip hip hooray! Just bought the book right now, so it should be on its way to me very soon. You’re a star Christine, and shining brighter and brighter, and I want to echo what the first commenter said – you help many more people than those with MS, for your poems speak to something universal about the strength of the human spirit. Much love and celebration being sung to you, Harula xxxxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 04, 2013 @ 09:14:47

      Hi Harula! Thank you so much for the celebration song!

      And a great big thank you for so much more; I needn’t go into detail here as you know what I mean. I will be for ever grateful that my poems were able to be included in the book. You are both a huge “good deed given” and a good deed received by me! 🙂

      Lots of love
      Xxx

      Reply

  23. Martin Shone
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 12:01:31

    Congratulations, Christine!

    Reply

  24. greenlightlady
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 02:30:59

    Congratulations and best wishes on this and your future writing endeavors, Christine!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

  25. Cynthia Jobin
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 18:14:57

    Just checking, Christine…..some mail from you came to my site a little while ago and the message was blank…..is everything all right?

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 13, 2013 @ 18:25:39

      Oh goodness! Yes everything’s fine Cynthia. Thank you so much for checking!

      Im just trying to think. Was it a blank comment on your Not Haiku post? If it was I sent one with just a smiley face and I used the actual smiley thing on my iPad instead of using colon and bracket, which apparently makes a smile! It may not have worked, hence the blank comment.

      Oh dear, how complicated life seems to be when the technology is supposed to make it simpler!

      Thank you for looking out for me.

      Reply

  26. Cynthia Jobin
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 21:45:07

    Just glad that all is well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

