Stealthily Snatching Summer

 

Image

The roses at the far end of the

garden are still in full swing

dressed to kill, dancing,

drinking it all in,

summer wine-drenched oblivion;

they won’t hear of it!

But the night is still young mood

is too much for delicate lightweights

jaded, stooped and bedraggled,

hungover too soon

grasping at the ungraspable,

while unbeknown,

the party is nearing its end,

something more powerful in charge

and ready or not

every single one will be

left out in the cold.

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lscotthoughts
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:09:06

    This is just beautiful, Chris, and and your words paint a perfect picture of summer’s end…loved your imagery! Have a wonderful Friday! HBL β™₯ xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:36:46

      Thanks very much Lauren!

      It will simply take one or two nights of frost and these gorgeous hardy roses will have gone. Sad but true, and yet not sad because it is all following the pattern which leads back to renewal. 😊

      You have a good Friday too! HBL ❀ XXX

      Reply

  2. hollyannegetspoetic
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:10:13

    Love the party metaphor!

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:17:12

    Sadness and truth is ahead, but because they are so beautiful, their ending is too Lovely πŸ™‚ . ❀ xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:41:04

      Thank you Ina! Yes the sadness in it all is lovely too because as I said to Lauren, a usual pattern is being followed leading to renewal again.

      And fb heart or not, it is still a heart!

      L&H xx. ❀

      Reply

  4. Ina
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:17:51

    oops that is a fb heart lol πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Jobin
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:22:36

    The party’s over, but I refuse to leave…or…have I stayed too long at the fair? The metaphor you have developed here, Christine, is so exquisitely done! I have been one of those roses in my time, in “wine drenched oblivion” and “grasping at the ungraspable”, and you have captured the feeling superbly!

    Reply

  6. suzywordmuser
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:23:01

    Excellent description of autumn and those blooms that are still hanging in there! πŸ™‚ I think this time of year really does feel like the party is near the end – I love that bit! I wonder what those flowers would say if we could get them to speak!!? πŸ™‚ And the photograph of those pink roses is beautiful, are they your flowers in the garden?

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 14:48:19

      Thank you very much Suzy!

      The delicate flowers are probably screaming for Alka-Seltzer!! Lol

      Yes the roses are in our garden; I can hardly believe they are still this good, such hardy flowers, but it wont be long before the first frost grabs them. I love the colour of this particular one, a kind of vintage colour reminiscent of Victorian garden flowers. Not that the rest of the garden is, but I can visualise and dream! Lol xx

      Reply

  7. bardessdmdenton
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 17:10:41

    This is so beautifully expressed, Christine, a sense of gentle resignation that I imagine the flowers ‘feel’ … but still they give their all. It’s the same here – flowers looking a little ‘jaded, drooped, bedraggled” with the rain last night and cool temperatures today. The sunshine is lifting and brightening them a little, but, alas, they know …

    Lovely, lovely poem and exquisite photograph, both capturing this special moment in time. XO β™₯

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 17:35:44

      Thank you very much Diane! I cant quite believe how good these roses still look! I feel I need to protect them from the imminent frosts. But most other things now have the jaded rather dejected appearance.

      i know its all part of a much bigger natural process – still sad though. ❀ Xxx

      Reply

  8. PookyH
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 19:24:28

    The poor roses! Why is it they always seem to bloom again in October just waiting for the frost to cruel slap them?

    Beautiful words, and a beautiful image. I was excited to see a new post from you πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 18, 2013 @ 20:59:20

      Thank you Pooky!

      I know, the roses look in their prime and yet the frosts are imminent Im sure.

      What a compliment that you were excited! Thank you,thats given me a lovely warm feeling 😊 xx

      Reply

      • PookyH
        Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:03:49

        I have a few blogs that I check every day – yours is one of them so yes, I was very excited πŸ™‚

        I adore roses. I love the smell of them. When I was pregnant with Lyra my sense of smell got really sensitive – we have loads of roses in our garden and in this final flush of blooms I recall being overcome (but in a good way) but the constant smell of roses as I was getting ready to have my baby (she was born in November). She’s called Lyra Rose πŸ™‚

      • journeyintopoetry
        Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:05:36

        Oh what a lovely story! I love the name Rose! 😊

      • PookyH
        Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:10:14

        Me too – it’s funny though, I spent a long time trying to find a relatively unusual first name for her only to then give her the middle name of Rose which is one of the more common middle names in the UK!

        I thought I was going to have a boy and wanted to call him Hendrix but hubby would have none of it (so my Dad adopted the name on FB!)

      • journeyintopoetry
        Oct 18, 2013 @ 21:13:44

        Ah I see! I wondered about the fb name!! Lol Though I actually quite like the name! Rose is a classic and always will be I think. Its lovely and goes beautifully with Lyra 😊 xx

  9. Jackie
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 22:15:16

    One season ends and another begins. Loved the imagery of this poem! xx πŸ˜€

    Reply

  10. Through My Eyes
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 23:12:16

    I love this Christine! The imagery is wonderful! Fantastic wording and personification. Beautifully written Christine πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 19, 2013 @ 11:46:18

      Thank you very much Norma! As ever your comnent is so encouraging. I am glad I decided to blog and share my poems because if I kept them to myself I think many would end up in te nin. I just keep taking the risk to put them out there and it helps to kerp me going. 😊 Xx

      Reply

  11. Caddo
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 23:38:18

    Oh WOWZA, this is full and rich, “well and truly”!! I caught that it went further than the garden–a kind of bittersweet imagery, which surely adds to the richness, I think. Well, you and I have the “night is still young”, “never say die” party spirit goin’ now–and we don’t need anything more intoxicating than Laughter to drink, and Friendship to feed on. Love you dearly, thanks so much for today’s visit! BIG Hugs and Smoochies from your crazy Caddo

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 19, 2013 @ 11:50:51

      Thank you Caddo!

      And yes our “night is still young” and we must keep it so and like you say our only intoxication is from laughter and there was much of that last night when we spoke!!

      BIG bugs (haha! of course I mean “hugs”!) and smoochies! (Glad I noticed that one!!!)
      Xx

      Reply

      • Caddo
        Oct 19, 2013 @ 18:31:09

        Oh you have me cackling so that all my fat rolls are quaking!! Big Bugs indeed–now I’ll change “smoochies” to “smoothies”–bugs and smoothies together, are you laughin’?? I’m tellin’ you, this typo-language of ours will catch on, and be the latest internat’l craze one day! love, “Cadfo”

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 19, 2013 @ 18:42:50

      Yep!!! im laughin’!!!

      Bugs and Smoothies!!!

      Reply

      • Caddo
        Oct 19, 2013 @ 20:48:12

        It sounds like a wacky dessert we might cook up in our joint kitchens, Chris! (Raisins/currants in pudding?) You know those TV cooking shows….yep, I can see us now…guess we’d better provide protective sheets for the live studio audience, since I have such trouble with my over-eager mixer–and both our tiddly-winked wooden spoons!

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 19, 2013 @ 20:54:14

      My tummy is aching so much with laughing!! I was thinking exactly the same thing about us in a TV cooking show – “How Not To Cook with Caddo and Chris!! Haha! i can see us both looking surprised when things went all tiddlywinked! Oh dear, no ore! My stomach wont take it! πŸ˜†

      Reply

      • Caddo
        Oct 19, 2013 @ 20:58:42

        That’s too good–“How NOT to cook” with the “Galore” twins!! And if I occasionally “slipped” with a “swear”, they’d be bleeping us out here in the States–maybe England is less sensitive…. Okay, question: is “ore” a rich ingredient we’ll add, or short for oregano? I just HAD to mention it!! Well and truly off to church now!

    • journeyintopoetry
      Oct 20, 2013 @ 11:26:43

      Definitely a rich ingred!!!

      Bs and Ss!!!!

      Reply

  12. greenlightlady
    Oct 19, 2013 @ 18:20:12

    Christine, this is so delightfully appropriate for my garden right now. Stragglers are holding on thinking they will make seeds before heavy frosts. Lovely poem and a timely warning for humans not to postpone important decisions either.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 19, 2013 @ 18:34:56

      Thanks so much Wendy!

      And im pleased you saw that my poem went further than the garden, or at least dug deper into that garden! Staying on the surface though, those roses look as though they have just bloomed, theyre so beautiful! I want to put the breaks on the frost!

      Blesings to you too
      Christine
      Xx

      Reply

  13. beckarooney
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 17:17:17

    Beautiful visuals in this write of yours Christine, it paints a perfect picture of the transition from summer to autumn. Lovely piece! πŸ™‚ x

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 21, 2013 @ 17:30:14

      Hi Becky, its good to see you! I hope your work is going well!

      Thank you for this lovely comment. I think before the frost arrives, those roses will be dragged down by the rain; we are having our fair share at the moment! They have been beautiful and up until last weekend at least, still looked in full swing! Xx

      Reply

      • beckarooney
        Oct 21, 2013 @ 17:43:02

        You’re welcome Christine! I am very well thank you, I hope you are too πŸ™‚
        Work has been very busy, trying to get a lot of planting done whilst dodging the showers – there’s been a lot of rain here too! X

  14. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 10:05:01

    Your poetry is becoming more coloured if that is the word. Its gaining an edge which makes the reader reflect on the permanence of anything. Thought provoking, of course, and more direct and challenging in a way. I love it

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 22, 2013 @ 10:41:49

      Thanks Peter! Your comment truly uplifted me, because ever since my disgnosis I have found that colour has had a powerful impact on me. I used to be very “beige” in years gone by but not anymore! I need colour in my life and your comment on my poem seems to reflect this which makes me smile gently.

      I have been somewhat obsessed with the bees this ummer, both in my poetry and out of it and this weekend we are having a family get together where I will get my chance to actually be a bee!!! Photos? Maybe! πŸ˜†

      Reply

  15. Betty Hayes Albright
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 01:35:24

    Christine, beautifully written metaphor! I love this (and the photo). It is indeed a bittersweet time of year, but as you suggest the cycle of life always renews itself. And so with our lives, the earth, the sun, the stars, the universe.

    Hope you’re having some good days, and a happy week!

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 23, 2013 @ 10:11:30

      Thank you Betty.

      I couldnt quite believe how good this particular rose still looked! I say “looked” beause after a few days of rain, I now realise it has been struggling to hold itself together and the rain is winning! This is my favourite rose in the garden; I dont know its variety without looking, but I think it has a Victorian “flavour” to it, which I love. It reminds me of the rose petals we used to make “perfume” from when I was a child!

      Hugs xx

      Reply

  16. Libby
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 11:10:16

    Beautiful photo and accompanying poem.

    Reply

  17. PookyH
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 20:19:16

    It must be about time for another of your beautiful poems… x

    Reply

  18. Journeyintopoetry
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 20:47:12

    Maybe thats where your creativity comes from!!

    The prose wont be related to Halloween; its just that a bloging friend who actually isn’t bloging at the moment, is a publisher, and she has kind of taken me under her wing a little. She suggested I give prose a go so I have written about three or four pieces. I find it challenging and more difficult than poetry to get it just right, not too much information and not too little. It feels good when a piece fels right though, and she sometimes asks me, after Ive posted them if I would like her to edit them so I let her and am learning a lot! 😊 Xx

    Reply

  19. leamuse
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 09:04:14

    What a lovely poem Christine! It was almost as if I had the pleasure of visiting your garden while you bid a fond farewell to a previous season…
    I can hardly wait to see your prose! Xxxx

    Reply

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 26, 2013 @ 09:09:13

      Thank you so much Lea!

      My imminent prose is a reflection on where I am at this point in time. Probably appearing early next week when things are quieter here. The boiler cant be fixed! We have to get a new one; theyre trying to get it done this weekend! *big sigh*!

      My daughter explained the link thing yesterday – still not sure I can do it!! πŸ˜„

      Reply

      • leamuse
        Oct 26, 2013 @ 09:18:50

        My fingers are crossed on both our repairs in progress! πŸ™‚
        Have no fear about the link issue as I have found you once again. You can’t get rid of me that easily!

        The boiler will be repaired and the children are there now. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

        xxxx

    • Journeyintopoetry
      Oct 26, 2013 @ 10:37:36

      Thank you! 😊
      Xxx

      Reply

  20. harulawordsthatserve
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 20:51:08

    How did I miss this one?! Really enjoyed it. I love the idea of roses being ‘dressed to kill’ and you capture the pathos of the end of the season so well…Blessings, H xxxx

    Reply

  21. Fergiemoto
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 21:58:40

    ooooooh, I really like this one, Christine! What delightful party imagery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

