Song of Compassion

How weary the tree looked today.

as if a dull ache in

every chilled, naked arm,

joyous acceptance of change

worn thin;

(we all have our moments, well I do).

And then a small bird

carrying a huge song landed,

and so accurately too,

on wafer thin branch,

sang its even bigger heart out

long enough to feel a

sway of pleasure

under its tiny feet

and away it flew,

hope restored.

57 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Through My Eyes
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 12:38:03

    Ahhhh this is beautiful Christine. Sometimes these little things are sent to us to retore hope. There is so much beauty in nature. We just have to look and listen 🙂 hugs xxx

    Reply

  2. restless42
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 12:39:18

    Love it!

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 12:43:49

    Lovely poem 🙂 December makes everything look dead, but there is hope for better times! L&H xxx

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 14:16:36

    Thank you David!

    Maybe it helped with the “dithery”? 😄 😄

    Much Love
    Christine
    Xxx

    Reply

  5. cynthia jobin
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 14:40:03

    Looks like a season for the wisdom we can learn from “critters”. A sweet, sweet moment and poem, Christine, although I myself feel more like the tree than the bird at the moment…..I do love that “small bird carrying a big song”….aren’t we all? Lovely, just lovely.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 03, 2013 @ 15:01:52

      Thank you Cynthia!

      You made me smile because I was thinking the very same rhing as I wrote the poem. Maybe the whole poem is a metaphor! I ertainly feel much heavier than the small bird at the moment. But as long as we keep on carrying our song… 😊

      Reply

  6. Jackie
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 14:44:24

    Beautiful! The birds make the trees look a lot less stark and dreary. For the last few days I have been getting a great amount of joy watching the American Robins and European Starlings fly back and forth between the trees to gather berries.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 03, 2013 @ 15:04:34

      Thank you very much Jackie! The birds are such a joy arent they?! Its time for me to start helping them in the garden now and putting in various places in the garden little winter stores for when there are no berries left. Its such a dull grey day here today ut their song still seems full of joy. 😊 Xx

      Reply

  7. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 16:54:03

    That was delightfully observed. There is something very perky about their tooings and froings which always cheers me up.

    Reply

  8. beckarooney
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 18:25:38

    Your words ignited such a beautiful and hopeful vision, your observation skills are just wonderful Christine. Heart-warming poem! 🙂 x

    Reply

  9. Harry
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 20:06:14

    Beautiful poem.

    Reply

  10. kathryningrid
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 20:12:06

    Exactly so: no matter how immense the shadow of despair that looms over us, sometimes all it takes is the tiniest bit of hope to break through it. Birds singing always tend to fill me with hope…

    Reply

  11. PookyH
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 20:54:45

    This is just delightful. I love the roller coaster that you take us on and how such a simple thing really lifts the whole mood. Just what I needed as I’m down in the dumps as I’ve been unwell, and it reminded me that that is daft to feel sorry for oneself, there is always happiness if only you take a moment to look for it.

    Beautifully crafted as always xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 14:14:28

      Thank you Pooky. I hope you are starting to feel better.

      I think its ok to feel sorry for ourselves for a short while, that way we allow ourselves to be human. I think the key is not to dwell there for too long. 😊X

      Reply

      • PookyH
        Dec 05, 2013 @ 20:35:56

        I think you’re right. I’m fine now and (as is always the case once you feel better) I now realise quite how terrible I was feeling! x

  12. Caddo
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 22:39:36

    WOW, Chris–excellent work; shades of Emily D, our kindred spirit.

    Reply

  13. lscotthoughts
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 00:20:53

    Aww…this is lovely and delightful, Chris, and as others have said, sometimes it just takes one little ray or song of hope to brighten our spirits…HBL ♥

    Reply

  14. leamuse
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 07:13:50

    Christine, once again so very moving. How like you to truly appreciate the gift of the songbird. Many would not. Your poem soared like the bird!

    Reply

  15. Francina
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 07:58:22

    lovely poem, Christine! I love the winter feel in your poem, dreary but also with faith for a new spring to arrive again . Very well done, my friend. Lots of love and hugs xo

    Reply

  16. Libby
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 12:06:13

    Beautiful. Bird song is so uplifting.

    Reply

  17. harulawordsthatserve
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 18:50:10

    A wonderful poem Christine.The more I read of yours the more I find you have a very clear and unique voice – wisdom, dry humour, perfectly detailed but succinctly expressed observations. Individual words feel so well chosen in this – a small bird carrying a huge song…that’s such a clever image, I just love the juxtaposition of small and huge here, it does the job so perfectly. You’re a really good poet Christine, and you’re getting better and better. I hope you know that. Sorry, seems my reader has been neglecting you for some reason, so time for a bit of a catch up:-) Love and blessings, Harula xxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 10:10:41

      Harula, thank you so very much for this warm and sincere comnent; I appreciate it so much. Your words of encouragement help me to keep going with my writing and this comment will stay right beside me when I doubt myself, which is often. Thank you so much.

      Love and many blessings to you my lovely supportive friend
      Xxx

      Reply

  18. Martin Shone
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:14:54

    Loved this, Christine!

    Reply

  19. I HAVE A VOICE
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 22:58:42

    I understand that weightier than bearable feelings ~ You’re awakening all my waiting kisses!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 10:14:03

      Thank you so much Debbie! I am pleased the poem uplifted you a little. Those weightier than bearable feelings can be so hard to handle and your positivity shines through whatever you write my friend. I am always encouraged by your words. Xx

      Reply

  20. wbdeejay
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 05:11:48

    Birdsong can bring life to any moment.

    Reply

  21. suzywordmuser
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 20:28:51

    That’s one of those little moments again, and so beautifully described too – almost like a scene from a film!♥ And I love the way you see these small things in life Christine! 🙂 But actually they are the big things, they are what is underlying in all life. What makes us feel and behave the way we do. And I like the way you have sympathy for the tree, and connect the tree, the bird, and yourself in a way that is so true – we are all the same! And that little bird coming along and singing on a sad tree, is a bit like you seeing so much in that moment. Others would have ignored the tree, but the little bird saw it as a perfect place to sing, and you saw it all and understood it. So many people don’t see these details. I think sometimes it takes a still quiet mind to see and understand.

    It’s interesting you should mention change too, because my next poem is about the autumn/winter season and change. I guess it’s something on a lot peoples minds at the moment, there’s a lot changing going on! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 07, 2013 @ 10:07:41

      Thanks very much Suzy!

      D’you know, I think its taken me being given this chronic illness to truly appreciate that the small things are actually the big ones. I have always been appreciative of nature and the world around us, and have brought the three children up to do so too, but I have never felt it as intensely as I do now. I think it must be something to do with having been forced into slowing down.

      Thank you for your warm encouraging words as always, and I look forward to reading you next poem about change! I think Autumn seems to trigger thoughts of change more than any other season. The change seems so drastic with everything dying off and looking quite bleak for a while.

      Love xx

      Reply

  22. bardessdmdenton
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 02:02:05

    Such a wonderful piece of writing, Christine – your tree has certainly inspired you to take your poetry to yet another level! I love how it has taken on its own personality through your observation and poetry … displaying the conflict of emotions, discouragement and hope, that we all feel. As I commented on Facebook, I especially love “… small bird carrying a huge song.” For me, that says so much about making the impossible possible. Just lovely. Hugs and lots of love, XO

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 08, 2013 @ 10:12:53

      Thank you so much Diane! You are right, the tree in my garden just goes on speaking to me. I seem to be part of so many special moments but I suspect what is actually happening is that the moments are always there, Im just waking up to them.

      Lots of love and hugs
      Xxx

      Reply

  23. bardessdmdenton
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 23:48:58

    Yes, it’s amazing how that works … the waking up, I mean. Even when we thought we were looking at something with our eyes open … I know exactly what you mean! ♥ always! Xxx

    Reply

  24. Jane Thorne
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 18:43:10

    The birds sing to welcome the dawn every morning, and they start before the dawn starts…that’s a fabulous sign of hope. Xxxx

    Reply

  25. Emily Page
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 13:06:05

    I love the picture of the bird landing on the tree, only briefly, to fly again restored. There’s beauty in the every day isn’t there? I see the birds landing on some of the beautiful trees surrounding our garden every day and always wonder at their ability to balance on the lightest twigs – especially a crow or rook at the very top of a fir tree. Really, how?

    Reply

  26. Fergiemoto
    Dec 13, 2013 @ 00:15:19

    So lovely! I like how you have brought the tree to life as you are conveying what emotional feelings it might be experiencing, if it could in fact experience feelings. Beautiful, Christine!

    Reply

  27. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:40:55

    Oh, how I love this!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

