Christmas Message

A very festive hello to everyone!! This will be my last post until after Christmsso I would like to say a huge thank you to all of you for your support, encouraging words and friendship since I began my blog two years ago; it means so much to me. I wish you all a good Christmas and a peaceful year to come. Oh, and don’t forget to eat anything you want! My MS friendly diet will be taking its annual break, that’s for sure! I look forward to reading your wonderful poetry in the coming year; you all continue to inspire me.

Here’s a limerick for the festive season inspired by our grandson, Theo!

Theo and the Christmas tree

There was a small boy named Theodore
whose age was three years plus a bit more.
He helped decorate our tree
with great oodles of glee
then made off home with more baubles than four!

He made up for this minor faux pas
on top of our tree hangs a bright star .
Made almost on his own
a little help from mum at home
now it shines for the kings from afar.

Image

                                                   HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE

LOVE TO YOU ALL xx

72 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:29:53

    Hi Christine, lovely posting! Theo did a good job 🙂 Merry Christmas already! And enjoy the time to come! Big hug and much love xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:58:27

      Thank you Ina! Its a bit early, but I have stuff to do so need to draw a line under my blog for now. Will still be commenting though! And back in the New Year which is no time at all really! Have a really good Christmas . 🎄

      L&H xx

      Reply

  2. Janette moran
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:50:24

    What a fantastic poem I will read it to the little man himself xxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:54:15

      Thank you Janette! And Im pleased Theo liked to too! Yes, he said yesterday he would make one for the other tree as he noticed it had nothing on the top! Nothing gets far past him!! 😊 Xxx

      Reply

  3. Janette moran
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:51:56

    I read it to Theodore he thought it was good and said he wants to make you a star to go on the other tree as you have two trees xx

    Reply

  4. lscotthoughts
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 13:57:21

    Lovely and festive post, Chris, and Merry Christmas to you, too! Theo did a wonderful job! Those precious handmade gifts from our little ones make the holidays even more special. Enjoy yours with your family and all the yummy goodies, too! Sending zillions of hugs and much love to you! xo ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 17, 2013 @ 14:02:49

      Thank you Lauren! Yea the little handmade gifts are so lovely. It only sems like yesterday our own children were making them. Its such a privilege to be able to go through the process with little ones all over again. 😊

      Have a lovely Christmas which I know you are already treasuring with having Steph at home. Enjoy every minute! Sending you tons of love 🎄

      Xxx❤xxX

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:29:19

      Loads of love to you too Lauren! I know how much you will enjoy Christmas with all your lovely family especially having Steph home! ❤ Lots of love and hugs xxx

      Reply

      • lscotthoughts
        Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:44:11

        Thanks, Chris, it’s been really wonderful, honestly, and my post went up last night. I think you inspired me because I was very ready to put a close to this year and take a break. I’ll write again, but family time is over-ruling right now. 🙂 I will try to read blogs, though, and browse on fb a little…Big hugs! xoxo ♥

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:47:57

      I will be doing that too Lauren! I cant stay away altogether!!

      Big hugs ❤ xx

      Reply

  5. journeyintopoetry
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 14:11:28

    Thank you David! Happy Christmas to you too, and I also look forward to your company here too. New inspiration for a new year! 😊

    Much Love
    Xxx

    Reply

  6. Pete Armetta
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 14:23:17

    Happy holidays and YES pig out! It’s the time of the season as the Zombies once sang. And I’m a sucker for a good limerick (?) and that’s a fun one. Thanks for a great virtual year.

    Reply

  7. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 14:35:21

    wishing you a very Merry Christmas too!
    Have moments of peace-filled calm too….
    Take Care….You Matter….
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

  8. Cynthia Jobin
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 15:17:23

    Wallow in it, Christine, and make it new. I wish you all blessings of the season, and may the coming year be rich with rewarding adventures for us all. Much love, C.

    Reply

  9. bardessdmdenton
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:51:57

    Just delightful, Christine! That beautiful bright Theo star was worth the baubles he took home. I hope your Christmastime is full of joy and warmth and love, and so glad you will be treating yourself with good ‘eats’! I hope you know that you and your poetry and spirit and heart are a treasure to me! Wishing you peace and joy and healing, and blessings of all kinds for 2014 and well beyond! Diane XXXOOO ♥♥♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:36:08

      Thank you so much Diane for your beautiful warm comnent which has given me such a cosy feeling and also a great urge to keep going with my writing. You are such a stong source of support for me; you help me to keep believing in myself. Please pass on my love to your mum and of course give all those kitties a big cuddle from me!

      Lots of love and hugs
      ❤ Xxx

      Reply

  10. Libby
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:54:15

    Great limericks and well done to Theo. He must be about theame age as my grandson! Have a great Christmas season and see you again soon.

    Reply

  11. leamuse
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 17:29:27

    Christine, you never fail to inspire! It seems that Theo is taking after his grandma! 🙂

    Love,
    Léa

    Xxx

    Reply

  12. Angela
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 17:47:37

    I love writing fun poetry – it just makes you smile :-). Love your limerick! Have a joyful and peaceful Christmas.
    Love xx

    Reply

  13. Caddo
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 18:02:08

    Oh I LOVE LOVE LOVE all of this!! Give Theo a Hug and Smoochie from Great Auntie Toad–and then tell him he has to return the fond affection! (I’m waiting to hear him say, “I KNOW what ‘fond affection’ is”.)

    Reply

  14. Harry
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 20:20:51

    Merry xmas to you and yours and enjoy all the food of the day.

    The poem would go well in the Christmas challenge 🙂

    Reply

  15. triciabertram
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 22:05:26

    Love the limerick.
    Enjoy this special time with your family, Christine. Please know my life is richer, funnier, more thoughtful, and so much more, because you are a part of it.
    I love you my dear friend.
    Big hugs across the oceans
    Tricia xoxoxo

    Reply

  16. Francina
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 04:46:39

    Dear Christine, wishing you and your family a beautiful and Happy Holidays! May 2014 be a teriffic and splendid year for you all! See you after the New Year, my dear friend. Love and Hugs from across the creek. Xoxo

    Reply

  17. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 17:52:25

    I hope you have a lovely warm and nourishing Christmas. I love the tree, and I’ve loved your poetry this year. It is something special believe me.

    Reply

  18. beckarooney
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 19:18:59

    The same to you Christine, I hope you have a lovely relaxing Christmas and New Year – you deserve it! Looking forward to reading your posts again next year 🙂 the limerick is adorable by the way! Christmas hugs 😀 x

    Reply

  19. Jackie
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 21:09:15

    Wonderful poem! I hope you and your family have a joyous and peaceful holiday and may the new year bring nothing but good things your way. x♥x 😀

    Reply

  20. I HAVE A VOICE
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 00:59:25

    Wonderful and inspiring for my heart! May every day from here to Christmas be peaceful & festive within and without ~ around your family & friends dear. Stay well and strong and steadfast in the eternal things. Thank you for a wonderful yr. of poetry and inspirational messages ! Faithfully Debbie xxoo

    Reply

  21. PookyH
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 22:26:51

    Merry Christmas – and happy two year bloggiversary!

    I love Theodore’s rhyme and his star is beautiful x

    Reply

  22. suzywordmuser
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 23:36:32

    Haha!! I love that Christmas limerick! 😆 So who was the little boy that made off with the baubles!!? At least he left you the gift of the star! 😉

    I hope you have a fun and a peaceful Christmas and New Year! It’s been lovely to read your poetry and get to know you a little this year, even if it is in text – words are powerful no matter how they are communicated! And thanks so much for all your intelligent, helpful comments and your support on my blog. To think that this time last year I was almost despairing, that there may be any intelligent and genuine people out there in blogland. I need not have worried, it just took time – like everything in this life! 🙂

    Enjoy eating what you like for a while Christine, I know what that feel like to have a restricted diet for health reasons, used to have one myself – very frustrating! But not so restricted these days, except for losing weight purposes. So I’ll let go a little in the next two weeks – put on a stone or two!! 😉

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 14:04:38

      Thank you very much Suzy! He is our grandson; he comes to us every Monday so we decided to put our tree up on his visit. He was so excited with all our baubles! So he kept smiling at me then sneaking off out of the room to put some in a box he’d found. So when I said “are you wanting to take these home for your tree”? he just smiled sweetly; how could I refuse?! I just love the excitement of little ones at Christmas.

      You are right, everything does take time, and Im pleased your blogging experience has turned out to be a positive one; you have certainly been a huge and a consistent source of support for me and that means a great deal to me. So thank you.

      Enjoy putting on that stone or two!! Weightwatchers will always be there!!! 😄

      Xxx🎄xxX

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 20, 2013 @ 15:43:58

      😄 Xx

      Reply

  23. harulawordsthatserve
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 21:13:28

    Sweet – children really do make Christmas don’t they:-) And a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful new year to you too my friend. Love and festive hugs, Harula xxxx

    Reply

  24. kathryningrid
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 06:02:26

    Christmas joy to you, dear lady, and may your year ahead be filled with health, hope, love and peace!
    Warmly,
    Kathryn

    Reply

  25. greenlightlady
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 23:48:40

    Christine, this is such an adorable tribute to your grandson and the Christmas Spirit of love. Please let Theo know that I think his star is wonderful.

    Christmas Blessings ~ Wendy xo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:57:05

      Thank you so much Wendy! I will definitely tell Theo that you like his star!. He will be staying with us over Christmas, with mum and dad of ourse, and baby Solomon who is 5 months old.

      Have a lovely Christmas

      Blessings
      Christine
      xx

      Reply

  26. Jane Thorne
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 17:19:41

    Happy Christmas my funky teapot friend. Much love and healing for you. Happy Christmas and here’s to a much better 2014. Xxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Dec 27, 2013 @ 15:57:24

      Thank you Jane!! I am feeling somewhat flat today as grown up children plus grandchildren have all gone after three full days staying over and here is the drop I promised myself I wouldnt let happen, but it just arrives. What I do with it now is up to me but I dont find it easy, nor do I find January easy either. Hey ho! Onwards and upwards and I have a few plans to help get the new year going! I just need some confidence to go with the plans!

      I hope 2014. Is good to you too! Im so happy for you that you have found a special someone ❤

      Lots of crazy teapot love
      Xxx

      Reply

      • Jane Thorne
        Dec 27, 2013 @ 16:24:04

        Hey my lovely, we can always bounce ideas between us…2014 is our blank canvas to write on. I have struggled with flatness in the last two days…I am thinking of a course this year just not sure what! I have come up with a new business plan that dovetails into what we both already do…we already have enough on our plates, but the urge to do this is strong. When I voiced it, it is something David has always wanted to do…watch this space! I have issues surrounding the children in our mix…but I am sure that time, patience and love will smooth them out. Much love and many hugs to you and a cuppa, let’s stop for a cuppa together. Xxxxxx

      • journeyintopoetry
        Dec 27, 2013 @ 16:31:50

        Oh what a perfect idea! A cuppa with you would be just the trick as my dad would say.
        I guess issues probably do arise with a children mix but Im sure you are strong enough and patient enough to let them smooth themselves out over time.

        Im looking forward to watching your space fill! I will let you know as and when , or if mine fills too!

        Lots of love and hugs back to you
        Xxx

  27. Maxima
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 20:44:42

    Wishing you very happy and prosperous New Year.May God bless you. Happy, peaceful and prosperous New Year 2104 !

    Reply

  28. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:29:06

    Christine, he sounds like such a sweet grandson – I love the limerick and smiled when he made off home with the baubles! (Grandkids – the best way to have fun!! Now if we could just borrow some of their energy.)

    Thank YOU for being who you are. You inspire me more than you can know.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:42:23

      Thank you so much Betty, for your lovely warm comment. Yes, grandchildren are a simply amazing source of fun. I would definitely like to steal a bit of their energy!

      We ended up buying a new box of baubles, our tree started to look a bit stark! I didnt mind at all, he took them so cutely with a questioning look for approval, which of course I gave him.

      Love and hugs
      xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

