A New Year’s Day Thought

 

The Only Resolution

I don’t make resolutions

because they are never kept.

But this year I am about to make

just one.

I resolve to add to every list

I make of things to do,

“Have some fun”,

even if the list is a difficult one,

to keep the joy,

to wonder at all the

small gifts that are big

and to remember that

every single new moment

I am given

will be all I ever have.

September bees and butterflies 2013 118

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. harulawordsthatserve
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 13:06:28

    Profoundly wise and beautifully expressed, I might share that resolution with you! Hope you had a wonderful time welcoming in 2014 dear Christine, and may the year ahead be filled with fun!!! Looking forward to continuing to blog with you dear friend – you make WP such a fun and fulfilling place to be. With love, gratitude and a heart full of blessings, Harula xxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 13:24:17

      Thank you very much Harula! The more of us who join with this the better I think! Even this one resolution is actually more than enough for me as I will very likely break it from time to time. But now I have said and shared it, hopefully on the not so good days I will be able to recall it. 😊

      We had a quiet evening in last night with a takeaway meal and TV, lovely and cosy.
      Our daughter in Canada, however, was running a midnight 5K in the minus temperatures of Toronto!!

      Lots of love and blessings for a peaceful 2014
      xxx

      Reply

  2. Janette moran
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 13:26:21

    What a lovely resolution xxxx

    Reply

  3. Cynthia Jobin
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 14:34:11

    I like this resolution. I am thinking of what it would be like….when the day comes (and for me just now it likely will) that even this phrase on my list seems like a burdensome obligation, I will need a mindless backup, one requiring no thought at all. I think I will make that corollary resolution: go look in a mirror and “make faces” at yourself. More blessings than curses and great peace to you, dear Christine, in this new year.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 18:17:35

      Thanks Cynthia. Youve given me a big smile with this comment. To think of this item on the list as a burdensome obligation is highly likely for me too!! As I said to Harula it is quite likely I will keep breaking it! And I can see both you and I wandering off mumbling in search of that mirror!

      There are many days when I play what a friend and fellow blogger refer to as The Glad Game, still acting “as if” etc. so Im aware there will be times when I curse myself for making this committment, but Im determined to give it my best shot!

      I wish you many more blessings than curses too for the next year, my lovely friend. 😊(Smiling with real joy for today at least!)

      Reply

  4. Ina
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 18:08:07

    A good start of the year! 🙂 L&H xx

    Reply

  5. marina kanavaki
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 18:30:51

    That’s a great resolution, Christine!!!
    Happy New Year! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Laurel's Reflections
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 20:14:07

    Just wonderful, as always! What a perfect resolution, and how beautifully expressed 🙂

    Reply

  7. lscotthoughts
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 20:17:05

    The most perfect resolution, Chris! Happy New Year to you and yours and looking forward to another wonderful year of inspiration in blogland! 🙂 Hugs, Love and Blessings! ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 10:17:39

      Thank you Lauren! And a big Happy New Year to you too. It always amazes me what beautiful words can pour forth continually from a mere 26 letters of the alphabet! Happy creativity for the coming year!

      Love hugs and blessings
      xx❤xx

      Reply

  8. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 20:21:52

    A fine resolution, Christine, and reminder that the moment is all the more blessed by experiencing it than wondering how it could be better or wishing it away. The photo of the butterfly is a perfect accompaniment to your poem – and example of ‘the small gifts that are big.” I echo what Ina wrote – a lovely positive way to begin the New Year! Peace, love and lots of hugs! ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 10:21:10

      Thank you very much Diane! And I now have your gorgeous calendar on the wall right at the side of the computer! I was very excited yesterday to finally be able to see January’s picture and poem free from the packaging!! It can breathe at last!

      Lots of New Year hugs and blessings
      xx❤xx

      Reply

  9. triciabertram
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 22:43:57

    Dear Christine, a wonderful poem to begin the new year. I too, will try to remember your words. Thank you for the gift of your poetry, it is often a light for me when I experience a dark day. You are a precious inspiration and I love you dearly.

    I hope you have a lot of fun this year my friend. And if you’re having a tough time I’m always here to swear for you. I’m very good at naughty words. Big Ted taught me. 🙂

    May your pathway into the new year be smooth, and may you be surrounded by butterflies, bees and beautiful flowers.
    Much love
    Tricia ❤ xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 02, 2014 @ 10:27:15

      Thank you my lovely friend! Tricia, I will most definitely keep you to the help with swearing! I am under no illusion that having even a little fun on some days will be an easy commitment, but if I don’t give it a try then January will be an even more difficult month than it always is for me.

      Big Ted is my kind of bear! 😄

      Love you lots and lots
      xx❤xx

      Reply

  10. Jackie
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 01:32:26

    I love, love, love this! Now that’s a resolution I need to make – mind if I join in and make this my resolution too? The photo you posted with it is so very beautiful! Thank you for sharing it and your words of wisdom. xx 😀

    Reply

  11. Libby
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 10:27:44

    Here’s hoping you find some fun every day!

    Reply

  12. leamuse
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 12:25:13

    Christine, that was beautiful and inspirational as always! Just opening your blog for each new post is like unwrapping a special gift. It always contains just what I needed/wanted even when I wasn’t aware… 🙂

    Bonne année et bonne santé

    Love,

    Léa

    Xxxx

    Reply

  13. Leyda Hope
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 10:46:23

    This is so fabulously wise, and reflects a pure heart that understands the power of gratitude and choice–choosing love and joy, and having fun, don’t always mean that we’re dancing–but rather that we’re invested in keeping our motor’s running warm. Great job Chris–I’m so proud of you always, honored to be your friend and Amer sis. God bless you.

    Reply

  14. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 11:06:04

    Thank you very much Leyda! Love the fab name!

    I hope you realise how much you help me to keep above water!

    Big Hs and Ss

    Reply

  15. hollyannegetspoetic
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 11:31:20

    This is lovely Christine – like a blessing. xx

    Reply

  16. Martin Shone
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 15:53:42

    Happy New Year, Christine 🙂 x

    Reply

  17. journeyintopoetry
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 16:52:52

    Thank you David. And absolutely, that’s the way this one will work 😊 I knew you’d “get it” 😊

    Much Love
    Christine
    xxx

    Reply

  18. Francina
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:05:13

    That is a great resolution, Christine! Have a lot of fun this year and plenty of reason to smile!
    love and hugs xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:37:02

      Thank you very much Fancina. Fun is important, I think, even the tiniest amount. I can have fun simply watching my dog playing with a fly! He doesnt want to catch them because if they stop flying suddenly and stay still he backs off and looks at me as though asking me what he should do next! He makes me laugh out loud!

      Im looking forward to spring now and taking photos in the garden again. And looking forward to all your photos and poems too!

      Love and hugs
      xxx

      Reply

  19. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:19:56

    Christine, I love this – a valuable resolution – probably the most important one of all for any of us. Next to love, I think it’s joy in the little things that gives life dimension – that rises above all others!
    Hope the new year is going well for you so far. (One of those little joys in life is watching the daylight hours growing longer – and looking forward to spring. 🙂 )
    Sending hugs!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:30:59

      Thank you Betty. And oh you are so right about joy in the little things. And yes! I have noticed that the afternoons are beginning to lengthen, not much, but enough to notice that the next stop is spring! Tippee!

      I hope you are well. I am doing ok thank you, some days harder than others but feeling well at the moment. The trouble I think, with chronic things is that our attitude can change out of the blue. I can go along quite happily and then wham, I feel down,just like that. You may understand this feling. Anyway, lets look forward to those gorgeous spring days even if they are a while away yet.

      Love and hugs
      xxx

      Reply

  20. Betty Hayes Albright
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:39:17

    You are right, Christine – I understand the feeling very well. The ups and downs, not knowing how things will be from one hour to the next. Sometimes best intentions must be left behind which adds to the frustration (and misunderstandings with others). But yes – spring days ARE just around the corner. I wait first for the crocus and the swell of leaf buds on trees. And the additional light. Never mind the current gray cold outside. “This too shall pass”.

    Reply

  21. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 13:24:07

    I’ve been on a seasonal holiday from the Internet, and this is really my first day back, apart from posting yesterday. The thought of you ‘having some fun’ makes me smile, because no deserves joy in their life more than you. You have been a great and loyal supporter of my Blog and writing, and as such I regard you as a true friend. I hope your 2014 is full of the sunshine and joy you so richly deserve

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 09, 2014 @ 13:39:51

      Peter, thank you! Your comment warms my heart. You too are a consistent support to me and the feeling of true friendship is mutual.

      I hope 2014 is good to you creatively and healthwise and in every other way too! 😊

      Reply

  22. beckarooney
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 21:19:19

    A fantastic, inspirational poem to kick off 2014, you deserve all the fun and happiness you can get Christine! I wish you have a year to remember, happy new year my friend 😀 xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 10, 2014 @ 10:38:46

      Thank you very much Becky! I know there will be difficult days but fun can always be slotted in somewhere, however brief. My sister called yesterday only for a few minutes but we laughed about something that had happened until tears flowed. And my day started off not good, so the joy was found in those few minutes. It never needs to be anything big. I find that its the small things that actually are big! 😊

      Love to you and a very Happy New Year
      xxx

      Reply

      • beckarooney
        Jan 10, 2014 @ 18:00:54

        It is the fun times, however fleeting, that make life worthwhile – all the small things, like you say!
        Love and hugs to you too Christine, hope you have a lovely weekend 😀 x

  23. SuzyHazelwood
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 02:28:10

    That’s an excellent New Years resolution to make, and probably the only one worthwhile making. We dream of the small gifts, but we are often given far more of the small ones – and they are everything! Hope life is treating you kind Christine! 🙂

    Took a longer break than was necessary – I think I fell asleep! 😆 But I’m finally back – blue face, new name – same Suzy! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 22, 2014 @ 10:44:28

      Hi Suzy! So lovely to see you again, Ive missed you! You are one of my favourite blogging friends because your comments are always so comprehensive and meaningful, and to me, that’s what commentng should be about.

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment. Life is being kind to me Suzy, thank you. “Stuff” gets thrown at us which is hard to deal with but when I stop and think what, and more importantly who, I have in my life I am very,very thankful. We have had a christening of a baby grandson in the past week and our son and his family came over from Ireland for the week. They have just left for Ireland this morning. So with the grandchildren here too, we have had five of them all under five!! Chaos but I feel very blessed.

      And Ive just seen you have caught up with lots of my posts, thank you so much! I hope you know how much I appreciate it.

      Lots of love
      xx

      Reply

  24. SuzyHazelwood
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 22:18:50

    That’s very sweet of you Christine, and I missed you too!♥ It’s good to be back, and in contact with everyone again, but I’m a bit dysfunctional at getting round to all the blogs as quickly as I used to. My organizational skills seem to have gone to sleep!! 😉 I agree about the comments, it is good to get something that is meaningful from a person making a comment, even if they didn’t fully understand/relate to every word. But in a way, I’m ‘secretly’ relieved that not everyone gives me deep an meaning comment as you do Christine because I think I’d be there forever replying to them – on second thoughts, I do anyway – seems to take me ages now!! 😀 But when you are away from the blog, it is the people you miss more than the content, which is a good thing. Not something I gave much thought to when I started – stupid really, but I didn’t!

    You sound like you’ve been having a busy time – five under five (my goodness how did you cope???) keeping you occupied anyway! 😀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 23, 2014 @ 10:01:25

      You are right! It is the people we miss! I feel the same when I have to be away from blogging.

      Im going to have a quiet week now as I am exhausted after the busy time here. Of course everyone around me does the hard physical stuff but when you have to sit in one place quite a bit as I do these days you become the central playstation!! All the litle ones are like magnets drawn to me. Its lovely but Im tired now and have had a xouple of migraines to warn me to rest up for a while! 😊 Xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

