Innocence

I sit beside you stroking your hair,
feel the pureness in every wispy strand.
You tell me your nose is running;
I wipe it with a tissue and
we carry on reading the book.
You giggle because
Mr Magnolia wears only one boot
and has an old trumpet that goes tooty toot.
My hand brushes your cheek as I turn the page;
you smile, snuggle closer.

I hope you can keep at least a small slice of this;
I hope the world treats you well.

60 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:21:47

    That is lovely Christine. Children, esp. grandchildren are so precious 🙂 Their innocence might be battred a bit in years to come, but these memories will stay!
    L&H xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:40:29

      Thank you Ina. I knew what you meant, Im the Queen of typos! 😊

      I think we notice/feel it more with grandchildren; we are so buy getting on with bringing our own up. Thats how it seems for me. I do remember thinking all this way back but I seem more sensitive to it now, more protective. 😊 L&H xx

      Reply

  2. Ina
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:22:22

    battered I meant 🙂

    Reply

  3. Laurel's Reflections
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:48:17

    Phew, that sure struck a cord, and got me all teary-eyed! Thank you Christine for your gentle truth x

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 13:11:36

      Thank you Laurel. Im feeling it all over again now with the next generation! They have so much hard work ahead of them when they are three! And yet at the same time they seem to take most of it in their stride. But it doesnt matter how old they are, as a mother the need to protect never leaves. Xxx

      Reply

  4. leamuse
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 13:30:46

    Oh Christine, that is so lovely. Imagine a world where every child had a childhood of innocence! What a different world it would be. Your gift to your adorable grandchildren will last through many generations. xxx

    Reply

  5. Janette moran
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 13:48:54

    What a beautiful poem about a beautiful relationship, brought a tear to my eye too. He’ll always have you and your relationship in him it will never go no matter how grown up he gets, you’re such a big part of him. You’re so special to them all and you’re right nothing beats the cosiness of story times. I’ll keep this poem for him, thank you for writing it ❤

    Reply

  6. Janette moran
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 14:21:32

    Xx he loves them too xx Solomon looking forward to special reading time although at the moment he loves eating the books xx

    Reply

  7. lscotthoughts
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 14:39:17

    Lovely, Chris, and I think we all want that precious innocence to last. This brings tears to my eyes, as I think of mine, too, when they were that little and of course, now…♥ xoxo

    Reply

  8. Harry
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 15:13:06

    Beautiful Christine as usual, love the new pic.

    Reply

  9. Jackie
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 16:36:22

    This is so beautiful! All we can do is wish them well and hope that life is wonderful for them. Such a precious time when they are little. You have to embrace every minute because in the blink of an eye they are all grown up. xx

    Reply

  10. Cynthia Jobin
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 17:03:45

    So very beautiful, Christine….you have created an heirloom, here….so if it should turn out that the world is not always kind (and we know how that works!) he will still feel beloved….a true treasure!

    Reply

  11. Mirada
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 20:23:20

    Oh what a beautiful snapshot, slice of life that will be an heirloom memory. I, too, pray the world treats the little ones well. xxooxo

    Reply

  12. Libby
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:05:26

    This is a simply lovely poem. Beautiful snapshot of an intimate moment.

    Reply

  13. Wendell A. Brown
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 16:01:27

    Beautiful Christine!

    Reply

  14. bardessdmdenton
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 22:05:26

    There is a lovely prayer-like quality in this that culminates in the last two lines.

    It is these pure and simple moments, so full of love and easy pleasure, that are the most delightful. You have captured your time with Solomon with just the right ‘voice’ and rhythm – serene and beautiful writing, Christine! XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 12:25:26

      Than you so much Diane. This is a beautiful comment. I find reading to children so calming, even if its a giggly story! Lol. Its just such a precious expeience.

      Lots of love ❤ xxx

      Reply

  15. PookyH
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 22:13:53

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful… and clearly great minds think (or worry) alike! x

    Reply

  16. leamuse
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 14:46:39

    Reblogged this on poetry, photos and musings oh my! and commented:
    Another treasure from Christine! xxx

    Reply

  17. kathryningrid
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 01:22:30

    I feel as though I’m sitting in the room right by you, enveloped in the warmth of that sweet intimacy between a little one and the person who loves him/her enough to read to the child. Lovely! 🙂
    xoxo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 10:02:40

      Thank you very much Kathryn. This is such a warm comment and gives me a lovely glow. I find myself appreciating the small(big) things in life even more since my diagnosis and reading to my tiny grandchildren is absolutely reason enough to stay positive. It is one of my biggest treasures! 😊 Xxx

      Reply

  18. Angela
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 19:36:50

    Sooo beautiful, Christine! The whole poem has a feeling of a hand brushing the cheek. (I’m back with another blog – had to abandon my other one, but think I’ve got everything ironed out now :-)). Lovely to read your poetry again.xxx

    Reply

  19. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:12:19

    Lovely gentle words. Can’t believe I didn’t know this had been posted. Love the new photograph by6 the way.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:45:05

      Thank you very much Peter. The new photo looks fine on the litle ones but the big one at the top of my page has gone wrong! Ive spread out horizontally and squashed verically. It must be the wrong size., I dont understand these things! I may change it 😊

      Reply

  20. beckarooney
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 20:43:27

    This genuinely brought a tear to my eye, beautifully expressed Christine. Your grandchildren are blessed to have you as a grandmother 🙂 xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 21:02:09

      Thank you so much Becky! They are all my biggest tonic!! I could read to them all day. I always loved reading to our children and now have the wonderful privilege of doing it all over again 😊 xx

      Reply

  21. Thomas Davis
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 13:48:53

    Reading to children is such a gift to them. When I bought the first Harry Potter book and read the first chapter to our grandchildren, my daughter and her husband took over and read every book aloud over years rather than months. The girls would not let their mother and father stop even as they grew older. I don’t know how much children remember such moments, but in the end it sinks into who they are and gives them a substance that, having worked in poverty communities most of my work years, too many children miss. This is a universal poem, Christine, and, as you can tell from the comments, it strikes a universal chord. Good work.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 07, 2014 @ 14:06:06

      Thank you very much Tom. Im sure these things do stay with children. Ours often talk about how the best part of the day were those hours spent reading with us. They even recall lines from certain favourite books and have now bought the books again for their own children. We still have many of the original ones here so we are able to continue reading to the next generation. I feel privileged to be able to do this wonderful activity over again with grandchildren. I could sit and read to them all day.

      Reply

  22. harulawordsthatserve
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 16:30:27

    Gorgeous, and the closing lines are very moving, as are the references to touch – so evocative and tender – beautiful. Such treasure in those simple moments that pass so fast, and are therefore so important to honour and acknowledge.
    Love always, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 07, 2014 @ 16:37:12

      Thank you so much Harula, for your warm and thoughtful comment. i could sit and read with the children all day; its always been one of my favourite pastimes with our children; Im privileged to be able to do it all over again! 😊

      Love and hugs
      xxx

      Reply

  23. Betty Hayes Albright
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 04:33:57

    Hi Christine,
    What a tender, loving poem! I think your grandchildren will always remember those special moments of being read to and snuggling with you. At least those are some of my favorite memories with my own boys – and they remember too. (Makes me nostalgic!)

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 14:03:23

      Thank you Betty! Yes I find it a tremendous privilege to be able to experience once again those precious moments with the next generation. My favourite pastime with our grandchildren is reading to them. Xxx

      Reply

  24. Francina
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 15:58:41

    Precious, beautiful and gentle poem, Christine. You painted a very lovely picture!
    You are a great grandma, my friend.
    lots of love xoxo

    Reply

  25. SuzyHazelwood
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 03:56:03

    This one is so sweet, and reminds me of my mother and grandmother! *wiping eyes* It’s so good to have these little moments written down, because we will forget the magnified version of the event over time, and to have it written preserves it forever – hopefully anyway! Blogs make an interesting kind of diary, much more interesting than a page hiding in a book somewhere! 🙂

    I hope you have many more moments like this one – treasures to share! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 22, 2014 @ 11:04:07

      Thank you Suzy! I think out of all the activities I do with our grandchildren, reading to them is my favourite; there is something so precious about those very intimate moments. I always felt the same with my own children too.

      And you are so right! Recording them by writing about them keeps the moments very fresh for us! Xx

      Reply

  26. livingwithshadows
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 05:41:35

    instantly brought back the time spent with my nana reading to me and my hopes that i one day get to do the same with grandchildren. beautiful

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 14:42:40

      Thank you for this lovely comment! Having grandchildren is such a blessing and I am extremely grateful to be here to see them growing. Reading to my children was always a favourite pastime and now I am privileged to be doing it all over again! We didn’t think grandchildren were ever going to appear and suddenly, it seems, we have five of them five years and under!! 😊

      Reply

  27. Through My Eyes
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 13:10:39

    Oh this is lovely Christine. You’ve captured a precious moment that is gone much too quickly sigh xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 22, 2014 @ 13:21:02

      Thank you Norma. The one day a week we look after Theo (3) is a tonic for me and I feel blessed to be able to have the opportunity to envelope myself withthe next generation, in what was my favourite pastime with my own children. 😊 Xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

