Still Time

Today has a different feel to it.
It’s warm enough to open the doors
 and I watch the sun
play a game with spring
though I think winter
is just on a coffee break.
Are the green shoots being fooled
or am I?
They poke through the soil and grass
and talk about life starting over.
Maybe  it’s not too late for me;
maybe there is still time.
46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl Walker
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 12:51:57

    Beautiful poem about possibility 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Jackie
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 13:00:31

    Beautiful reflection of the transitioning seasons from within and without. I love your poetic imagery. 🙂 xx

    Reply

  3. Ina
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 13:03:50

    Lovely idea ! 🙂 L&H xx

    Reply

  4. journeyintopoetry
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 13:08:46

    Thank you David. Yes I think you’re probably right. Time for the crayons 😊

    Much Love
    xxx

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Jobin
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 13:27:13

    Isn’t it good how the first hints of spring are a “feel” and a “sniff”…They say it’s never too late, but when this little gift of a surge comes, bringing back the green shoots, I say it’s never too early..(My green shoots are still asleep under two feet of snow).Thanks for this hopeful reminder, Christine.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 14:08:34

      Two feet of snow Cynthia! Well, they are cosy indeed under their blanket! The shoots in the garden are looking quite sure of themselves but they’ve been fooled before, as have we, daring to wear thinner layers, and then wham! Back to or even seeing snow for the first time in the winter. But if the new shoots can surge upwards then so can I. 😊 Im in need of a bit of encouragement.

      Reply

  6. Angela
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 14:06:20

    Oh, such a lovely, reflective poem, Christine. You paint such a picture of standing in a haze of melancholy, looking out, accepting, but then breaking the reverie with a poignant thought and question. Great poem! xx

    Reply

  7. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 14:10:41

    There is still time, and I too am wondering if winter has overslept and now it’s nearly time for spring. For you I wish all days can be charged with possibilities and that a sensibility like yours is able to grasp them bountifully. As always, and increasingly, your poems have a depth to them which gives us a sense of the view beyond the visible. Lovely and simple and yet so moving

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 14:18:04

      Peter this is such a lovely comment, thank you very much. The poem was born on the waving off of family back to Ireland. This always sends me into a rather reflective melancholy, while simultaneously feeling very grateful and blessed. And as for all the possibilities, well I am determined to “grasp them bountifully”. Thank you for your great encouragement.

      Reply

  8. lscotthoughts
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 16:12:55

    There is always “still time” Chris, and this is really fabulous! Wonderful message of hope and of moving forward…love it! xoxo ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 16:40:35

      Thanks very much Lauren. Sometimes I find the idea of moving forward dificult because I cant move forward in ways I used to. But the sun and the green shoots seemed to be telling me something today 😊.❤ Xxx

      Reply

  9. Jane Thorne
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 18:38:00

    Right here, right now, we have time my lovely friend. Special words from you today. And you and I always have time for a cuppa together. Xxxxx

    Reply

  10. Mirada
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 20:38:43

    As long as we have breath, there’s always time to start over–it may not be on the grand physical scale as when we were young and fit, but we can start over in our minds and hearts if we wish to. And oh, the horizon is endlessly full of possibility.

    Reply

  11. PookyH
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 22:32:44

    This is beautiful on so many levels. I love it.

    And today was so beautiful and so full of hope. We even ate our lunch in the garden (in our coats!)

    Reply

  12. greenlightlady
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 22:33:11

    Christine, I love the hope evoked in these words.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  13. Libby
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 14:06:01

    Lovely poem. Winter never gives in easily, but I love the idea of winter being of a coffee break – great image!

    Reply

  14. leamuse
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 07:02:29

    Beautiful Christine! Sunshine, hope, Spring, green shoots, truly you give us a breath of Spring along with its promise! I shall have to forward more sunshine! 🙂

    Love,

    Léa
    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 26, 2014 @ 09:32:23

      Thank you very much Lea! More sunshine is always welcome! The temperature has moved up a notch but I dont trust it yet! 😊

      Love
      xxx

      Reply

      • leamuse
        Feb 26, 2014 @ 09:57:43

        We have a few scattered grey clouds as I write this and rain promised later in the week. However, there is no site of the cold and even the rain (which we need) doesn’t seem to last very long.

        Love,
        xxx

      • journeyintopoetry
        Feb 26, 2014 @ 10:15:53

        You are lucky to have the milder weather. Its ok here today and at the moment we have the sun but I think its only me who has it as it must be what you sent to me!! 😄xxx

      • leamuse
        Feb 26, 2014 @ 19:36:54

        There is more sunshine in each email. We did have some rain for about five minutes and it was very light. There was quickly no evidence to be found. 🙂 xxx

  15. bardessdmdenton
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 18:01:59

    Lovely imagery and thoughts, Christine – especially as I’m sitting and looking out the window at zero visibility with the snow coming down and the wind fiercely blowly! And the temperatures are below zero fahrenheit with the wind chill. Your lovely words warmed me and gave me hope that winter will end here at some point. No shoots showing yet … nothing is fooled. 🙂 Thanks for the beautiful reminder that spring IS round the corner. XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 27, 2014 @ 18:10:04

      Thank you Diane! Gosh your weather sounds wild! Last year we thought we were well on our way but winter returned abruptly from its coffee break and delayed springs efforts which had begun. The amazing thing about nature is that those shoots were not thwarted; they just snuggled back down under their surprise blanket and waited patiently 😊 xxx ❤

      Reply

  16. Through My Eyes
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 06:55:31

    A wonderful poem of hope Christine. I love these lines “and I watch the sun
    play a game with spring”. Beautiful imagery 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Feb 28, 2014 @ 09:04:14

      Thank you very much Norma! I’m not sure I can trust spring to arrive on time! But those green shoots are making such great progress this year, I hope they dont get battered by winter’s afterthoughts!

      Hope you have aettled back in after your trip 😊 xx

      Reply

  17. SuzyHazelwood
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 17:35:32

    This is so thoughtful Christine! I love the concept of those plants growing up through the soil and talking to each other about starting over – that’s quite amusing, and something we humans do often!! 😀 I was just thinking, wouldn’t it be wonderful to start over again each year with a new you?! But I suppose to a great extent we can within ourselves, if we are determined enough. Although, we are very body concious, and we’d like a new one of those too – like the plants! 🙂 On the other hand maybe we underestimate our changes within! 😉

    Reply

  18. beckarooney
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 21:42:20

    I love the pondering nature to this Christine, the whole poem is effortless with beautifully clever imagery. I love how you say winter could just be on a coffee break, I’m hoping she’s gone for a proper holiday though! 🙂 xx

    Reply

  19. Betty Hayes Albright
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 20:09:29

    “Maybe there is still time” – yes!!! I love this, Christine… and indeed, Spring is such a wonderful time of year – and a great metaphor for hope and the never-ending eternity of it all. (Was that redundant? 🙂 )
    Yet again more hugs to you.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Mar 14, 2014 @ 13:54:16

      Thank you Betty! Yes there is still time, it’s just that it’s different to what I had planned, and I guess that is so for many of us. But its good to feel that sense of renewal in nature, it gives us all a fresh detemination I feel.

      Love and hugs
      xxx

      Reply

  20. Thomas Davis
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 20:11:16

    Ah, I would like to see any sign of spring. Any sign! What an unrelenting winter we have had in Wisconsin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

