Time to Sing

The tall tree at the
bottom of the garden
is no longer depressed;
I think the birds are
giving her hope.
So very long has she been
winter-sad, standing limp
wearing only grey
unable to raise a smile
or jump for joy
the way she knows she can.

Then this morning
as the sun broke loose and
the birds arrived like Heinz 57
singing all at once and
miraculously in tune,
the happy tree in her
opera-singer white frills
bowed to her audience of one,
joined the song and
now she can’t stop.

I have no sense of pitch
but I am singing with them anyway;
you may hear us sing our way
through summer,
and perhaps even beyond
if we remain aware that
even on the darkest days
the song will always be there;
all we have to do is remember to sing.

 

April 2014 265

70 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Thorne
    May 03, 2014 @ 13:15:41

    A ‘smiling’ poem, thank you Chris. πŸ™‚ Xxxxxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 03, 2014 @ 13:35:06

      Thank you Jane, what a lovely description! The scene certainly made me smile; it was a precious time spent quietly, except for the birds who I could have listened to all day.

      Much Love to you ❀ xx

      Reply

  2. leamuse
    May 03, 2014 @ 13:39:39

    What a beautiful reminder of the eternal Spring! The photo, lovely and I also have a bright flower gracing the calendar in my kitchen! πŸ™‚ Xxx

    Reply

  3. Journey In Rhyme
    May 03, 2014 @ 13:41:04

    Beautiful

    Reply

  4. leamuse
    May 03, 2014 @ 14:34:01

    It is so easy to imagine you in that lovely garden and I have no doubt you have put a lot of yourself into it. I was about to ask if the coffee was ready???

    bisous et calins

    Xxxx

    Reply

  5. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    May 03, 2014 @ 14:47:34

    What a nice, cheering, uplifting and joyous verse that was. I loved the picture, and the knowledge that you had such a nice experience

    Reply

  6. leamuse
    May 03, 2014 @ 15:07:21

    Save me a coffee! πŸ™‚ xxx

    Reply

  7. Libby
    May 03, 2014 @ 15:19:06

    This really made me smile. A happy tree indeed.

    Reply

  8. leamuse
    May 03, 2014 @ 15:21:37

    Unfortunately, this time the chestnut cakes were gone before we got there… 😦 However, lunch was delicious and organic! It is the most amazing village and somehow my car seems to know its way back there… πŸ™‚

    Love
    xxx

    Reply

  9. Cynthia Jobin
    May 03, 2014 @ 15:56:12

    The idea of a tree jumping for joy—especially since she’s a Diva in white frills—really pleases me in a weird way. Maybe because trees are always so rooted, solid to the ground And the sun “broke loose”…that’s really fine. It’s a poem about being glad, and that really makes me glad too!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 03, 2014 @ 16:36:07

      Thank you Cynthia. It’s a vey simple poem which came from a beautifully simple moment. I find these days the most satisfying moments are the simple ones. I have complicated life for far too long! No more 😊

      Reply

  10. Francina
    May 03, 2014 @ 18:24:57

    Such an uplifting spring poem, dear Christine! I love the feeling it left after reading your gorgeous poem. Beautiful garden too!
    love from across the creek xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 03, 2014 @ 19:18:20

      Thanks so much Francina! Its lovely to see you; I hope all your projects are going well. Thank you for your comment about the garden; it is one of my great loves.

      Love and hugs xx

      Reply

  11. lscotthoughts
    May 03, 2014 @ 19:01:36

    Beautiful garden, lovely tree and reminder to always sing! β™« β™«
    I love this line, Chris, “you may hear us sing our way through summer.”
    Enjoy your garden and I wish I could join you for tea or coffee one day! πŸ™‚
    β™₯ HBL

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 03, 2014 @ 19:21:58

      Thank you very much Lauren! I love those little musical notes! Now wouldn’t that be so lovely to be in the garden together for coffee! Never say never… 😊

      HBL ❀

      Reply

  12. Harry
    May 03, 2014 @ 19:05:01

    Lovely poem and good to see you back again.

    Reply

  13. PookyH
    May 03, 2014 @ 19:53:14

    Oh wow, she truly is resplendent. This is a wonderful poem of hope x

    Reply

  14. greenlightlady
    May 04, 2014 @ 01:14:19

    Christine, this was lovely and hope-filled. Your reference to Heinz 57 was wonderful. Today when I was sitting outside I noticed several different kinds of birds singing right after each other.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  15. Minuscule Moments
    May 04, 2014 @ 04:46:49

    Christine what a beautiful poem full of natures melody. It makes me pine for warmer weather as we set our fire to burning hot. Although I get a visit from two red robins in the colder months and they are not around when summer comes….it is too hot. Thanks for your spring song of words.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 04, 2014 @ 09:44:02

      Hi Kath,
      Thank you so much! These moments in the garden are precious to me and appreciated much more intensely these days. Setting a fire sounds lovely and cosy too! I think there is a poem somewhere in your reference to the robins in the colder months, maybe something about not being able have everything all the time!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I may work on this one! xx

      Reply

  16. Jackie
    May 04, 2014 @ 08:50:49

    I love this poem! It put a smile on my face and warmed my heart. Thank you. πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

  17. Through My Eyes
    May 04, 2014 @ 12:35:37

    Oh I love this Christine! Wonderful opening lines and the last 3 lines are brilliant. Indeed it is a warm and heartfelt poem πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply

  18. Rob McShane
    May 05, 2014 @ 10:29:35

    And you arrive back with a song in the air and such a beautiful poem! Thank you! Love it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. journeyintopoetry
    May 05, 2014 @ 11:39:12

    Yes indeed Rob, absolutely! 😊

    Reply

  20. SuzyHazelwood
    May 05, 2014 @ 16:59:16

    This is so beautiful and really very inspiring! ❀ It almost feels like a fairy tale, and paints a perfect picture of the feelings of that tree, and I'm so glad she is now wearing white – or is it light pink? But she does look quite beautiful – I love trees when they are in blossom!

    And as for the thought of the birds singing to her and her joining in and then you joining it too – that can't fail to make me smile at the thought!! πŸ˜€ And I guess there is more than one type of singing, some songs are just felt. I walked under some Cherry Blossom gently falling the other week (my favourite trees) and the way it made me feel – I'm sure you could say that was singing!

    I wrote a short story for a competition a while back about a tree, about human love from the trees perspective. It was an interesting exercise and ever since then I've had thoughts of writing some poetry and a few more stories on trees. When you really start thinking on a deeper level, trees are an interesting subject.

    So thank you Christine, for helping to keep that idea alive! I've had a busy week this week and writing has been far from my mind, it's good to have a reminder, something that brings you right back to where you need to be! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 05, 2014 @ 17:35:45

      Thank you Suzy! I simply love sitting in the garden through spring and summer. I always used to be too busy to do it much but now I have opportunity given to me through adversity so you ccould say a perk of MS! It ertainly doesnt have many buttis is one of them and it has inspired a few poems since last summer.

      We dont know what this blossom is; orange berries come later and the blosom is mostly white but in certain light as you suggest there is a hint of pink. And I know exactly what you mean about the cherry trees. They are my favourite too.

      Trees are such a perfect subject for poetry and stories. I hope you write some more! Xx

      Reply

  21. kathryningrid
    May 06, 2014 @ 02:07:56

    Gently wafting me up into the branches, right along with the birds, and making me want to sing with them too. That’s a gift. I thank you, dearest.
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2014 @ 08:49:55

      Thank you Kathryn! Im pleased you were wafted up into the branches; it’s a beautiful tree. Im looking at it now and she has taken her white frills off in favour of a gorgeous green gown! 😊 X

      Reply

  22. Jane Thorne
    May 06, 2014 @ 09:39:40

    Dearest Chris, I know I have commented on Fb, but I wanted to say here, how lovely this poem of yours is. I was right there with you, drinking a coffee and resting before we both tackle our days. Much love to you my friend, always. Xxxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2014 @ 12:43:35

      Oh Thank you Jane, so lovely of you to comment twice. I love picturing us having that cuppa together especially the coffee before we tackle our days. Im sure we would both give each other the enthusiasm to tackle the day with relish – capes and all!

      Much love and a hug xxx

      Reply

      • Jane Thorne
        May 06, 2014 @ 12:47:33

        Oh yes, I needed a cape reminder today…like you I have fallen twice in the past few days and goodness, I have some aches now! Daft duck that I am, I need to be more careful. I hope your cold is lifting properly now? Much love Xxxx

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2014 @ 13:24:18

      We shouldnt be let out Jane!! πŸ˜„ Hope you feel better soon. My cold is doing its best to prolong its stay. Ive told it one more day and that’s it! Be gone!! Went for osteopathy on my back this mornong to help with the chronic pain from MS and it makes me feel so much better everywhere! Only been twice but going every two weeks. Money well spent I feel.

      Much love and a gentle -avoiding all your sore bits- hug xx 😊

      Reply

      • Jane Thorne
        May 06, 2014 @ 13:26:03

        Oh Chris, great you have made it to your osteopathy appointment, well done lovely. I am so glad it helps you find some relief. Softest, loving hugs for you my lovely friend. Xxxx ❀

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 06, 2014 @ 14:53:02

      ❀😊 xx

      Reply

  23. lemanshots
    May 07, 2014 @ 14:15:49

    Great poem, I love it!

    Reply

  24. elaine patricia
    May 08, 2014 @ 09:50:17

    This work has lifted me from a grey mood on a grey day. Thank you.

    Reply

  25. Starralee
    May 09, 2014 @ 20:30:10

    Lovely photo and words.

    Reply

  26. beckarooney
    May 26, 2014 @ 16:51:13

    Everything about this is gorgeous! The title, the poem, the photo. . . the positive and hopeful way you wrote this lifted my mouth up to my ears πŸ˜€ beautiful Christine xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

