Claustrophobia

A bee flies into the kitchen

buzzes frantically, panics,

thrashes against the glass;

outward display of fear

just like the one she

held inside herself for years.

She would berate herself,

pathetic weakness;

now her heart bleeds

compassion for them both.

She softly guides this

frightened soul towards freedom.

It’s okay to admit you’re scared.

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ina
    May 16, 2014 @ 14:45:07

    Hi Christine, what a lovely poem and thought. To admit to be scared seems logical, but perhaps it is not always the case 🙂 I was afraid of bees for years btw, got stung by one as a child, but these days I let them even walk over my arm 🙂 L&H xx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 16, 2014 @ 15:06:05

      Thank you Ina. Yes I used to be afraid of bees. But not anymore; in fact I think I am in the midst of a love affair with them! Lol. Maybe courage comes with age? 😊. But the panic thing used to be awful. We shouldn’t have to be afraid to be scared but I was many years ago. It took a great deal of courage to “come out” of it. L&H xx

      Reply

      • Ina
        May 16, 2014 @ 15:34:27

        Oh I do know panic attacks too. Just no idea what it was then nor why they were there. Fears are a part of life but they should not rule it! L&H xxx

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 16, 2014 @ 15:36:57

      It ruled me for years. Ive worked vey hard on it all and have it under control. But it simmers… Xx

      Reply

  2. awordofsubstance
    May 16, 2014 @ 14:49:10

    Thank you. I needed this.
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. Jane Thorne
    May 16, 2014 @ 14:52:21

    Hello my funky friend, yes, with much love….it’s OK to say when we’re scared and nature shows us the way…the bee called for help and you were there with a loving hand. ❤ for you in spadefuls…Xxxxx

    Reply

  4. climbingdownhill
    May 16, 2014 @ 14:53:28

    Maybe because I understand so well, this is powerful.

    Reply

  5. bardessdmdenton
    May 16, 2014 @ 20:34:16

    Just lovely … powerful … enlightening, Christine! Just the other day, a bumblebee was trapped in our back porch buzzing and panicking and there I was opening the door and gently talking to him and showing him the way (out of his fear). Or maybe he was showing me … This is such excellent writing! XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      May 16, 2014 @ 20:38:33

      Thank you so much Diane. And for sharing this on facebook. I was talking to this one too; it felt quite natural and such a lovely feeling when he/she flew free; I felt free too. Lots of love ❤ xx

      Reply

  6. Jackie
    May 16, 2014 @ 21:43:43

    Wonderful metaphors and beautifully written! xx

    Reply

  7. Through My Eyes
    May 16, 2014 @ 22:48:36

    Beautifully expressed Christine, very nicely done xx 🙂

    Reply

  8. lscotthoughts
    May 17, 2014 @ 00:33:08

    Chris, this is a beautiful poem of admission of fear and acceptance. It’s not always easy to say that we’re afraid, but leave it to nature to teach us…I’ve grown up with arachnophobia and it’s been in the last decade that I now save spiders (when I can). I’ll never let go of the fear completely, but at least now I don’t need psychiatric help! 🙂 Lovely poem and message! ♥ xo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetryJ
      May 17, 2014 @ 10:02:08

      Thanks very much Lauren. It can be such a struggle to overcome these fears. And as you say the fear doesnt really disappear but we learn to manage it better. Im still like that with lifts (elevators). I can go in one alone now but Im not comfortable, the fear simmers! ❤ Xxx

      Reply

  9. Cynthia Jobin
    May 17, 2014 @ 03:12:49

    Bravo! Bravissimo!

    Reply

  10. leamuse
    May 17, 2014 @ 09:08:14

    Oh Christine, you hit that one out of the park! Wow! You have captured those emotions so vividly! It feels like a part of my life… xxx

    Reply

  11. leamuse
    May 17, 2014 @ 09:12:08

    Reblogged this on poetry, photos and musings oh my! and commented:
    Once again, well done Christine! Many of us search for an inner strength, some of us find it, others quit searching…

    Reply

  12. Libby
    May 17, 2014 @ 13:08:21

    Lovely poem. Bees keep finding their way indoors now the windows and doors are open. I always try to guide them out again, I’m sure they are more scared than I am.

    Reply

  13. hollyannegetspoetic
    May 19, 2014 @ 22:38:14

    Nice metaphor here Christine! I don’t get chance to read around as much as I’d like these days, but yours is still one of my favourite and most thought-provoking blogs. x

    Reply

  14. greenlightlady
    May 20, 2014 @ 01:00:08

    Christine, this poem is so thoughtfully insightful–like all your work. Bees are dear to me since they are so vulnerable. Your pairing them with the vulnerability of our spirit when fear is present is perfect.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 20, 2014 @ 09:06:53

      Thank you Wendy for this heartwarming comment. My relationship with all creatures great and small has intensified since I became less mobile and find I have time to “be with” them on a level I hadnt recognised before. And I think I fell in love with bees last summer when they were so patient with me for my close up photos, three of which are now framed and on the wall in our home 😊 x

      Reply

  15. harulawordsthatserve
    May 20, 2014 @ 07:28:55

    This is a very powerful poem Christine, I just love it. I can hear that frantic bashing against the glass, very evocative. It’s more than OK to admit your scared, I’d say form personal experience it’s essential! That’s when we can soften and hold that supposed weakness and vulnerability with gentleness and start finding our courage again, and take another step towards freedom. Blessings, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 20, 2014 @ 09:11:01

      Thank you Harula. And all you say here is of course so true, and yet for years I prevented myself from allowing the vulnerability to do itsjob of healing because I thought it was weak to admit fear; this meant defeat and therefore failure. Crazy, I know that now and thank God I discovered it as life is so much richer now.

      Love always xxx

      Reply

  16. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    May 21, 2014 @ 15:16:15

    Lovely. I have a special glass I use for this which I combine a card to form a safe vehicle I can transport these chums outside so they can enjoy the fresh air without disturbing either of us

    Reply

  17. Serena Malcolm
    May 22, 2014 @ 06:19:56

    This is truly lovely. It made me smile!

    Reply

  18. kathryningrid
    May 22, 2014 @ 21:22:47

    Perfectly timed for me. As we were awaiting our flight home from Puerto Rico yesterday, I had a panic attack—something I’ve not experienced in over a decade, and I’ve no idea what caused it now. What *really* terrified me, of course, was not the attack itself but that I would *have* one again, after all of this time. Weird, I tell you.

    But as in the past, I survived it, and I was grateful beyond words that my beloved husband was there with and for me, and being able to tell him (at least afterwards, when I could speak again) without any shame or fear what was going on was some comfort. The irrationality of panic attacks is ridiculous and horrendous all at the same time, but at least it’s reassuring in its own way to know that we’re never alone in our fears and troubles, even if our company is as small and seemingly powerless as a fly. Thanks for this! 🙂

    xoxoxo,
    Kathryn

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 23, 2014 @ 08:18:00

      Oh Kathryn, Im so pleased for the synchronicity of this poem for you. And Im also.pleased you had your husband’s support and love.
      Being alone with a panic attack is horrible and I was often “alone” with them even with people around. They are exhausting things!! Mine are always simmering but I cope better than I used to but as you say yours came out of the blue, wham! And there just isnt time to practice all the coping skills. As you say we are never really alone, and I felt so much compassion for myself when I saw the bee. Xx

      Reply

  19. SuzyHazelwood
    May 24, 2014 @ 00:41:57

    Aaahh, how lovely is that!!♥ 🙂 I can relate to this a lot, I’ve seen bees, in fact wasps also do the same. I noticed you said in a comment above that you used to be frightened of bees – so did I, and to some extent I still am, although my fear has become less with age. I used to be frightened of all insects, I feel more pity for them now, all those humans with fly swats at the ready to wipe them out – seems a little unfair. And how much we rely on them for life!

    I love the way you’ve pointed out how the fear is the same in both bee and human. There seems to be a lot fear running between all creation, if anything should be feared or hated it should be the fear itself, that’s our enemy.

    Spiders used to have me in hysterics, but not now. I’ve yet to get over my fear of wasps, but at least I know there’s hope! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 24, 2014 @ 11:23:36

      Thank you Suzy! It’s quite surprising (or maybe it isn’t) how many people suffer or have suffered from panic or some phobia or other. I used to have dreadful panic attacks years ago and they were my main trigger for first taking a quick gulp of alcohol to “solve” things! If only Id known how destructive that was to become…

      I have so much love these days for insects of all kinds; that doesn’t mean some of them don’t frighten me but I respect their right to the life they have been given and we are all here for a reason, we don’t need to understand all of it but learning to understand it can be fascinating. I began a love affair with bees last summer with my photographs of them and I hope to continue it this summer! Let’s hope we get one!! 😊

      Reply

  20. beckarooney
    May 26, 2014 @ 16:30:50

    This was so engaging and powerful! It gripped me from beginning to end, you expressed your emotions so vividly in this Christine. “It’s okay to admit you’re scared” something I know I find hard to do. Wonderful writing! 🙂 x

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 26, 2014 @ 16:36:06

      Thanks so much Becky! It is a difficult one for all of us I think. I have found it has become easier with age but not really sure that’s the whole reason as I spent quite a few years working on mysrlf in this regard, learning that its ok to admit it and its quite freeing. Xx

      Reply

      • beckarooney
        May 26, 2014 @ 16:40:04

        A lot of things get easier with age and life experiences I think. We’re never too old to change or learn new things – sometimes it can be quite liberating 🙂 xx

  21. Minuscule Moments
    May 27, 2014 @ 04:45:26

    Loved this one Christine and saw it via lea’s blog.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 10:36:40

      Thanks so much Kath! I just saw your comment on Lea’s blog! Lea has been nudging me for ages to put a book together! I did one a couple of years ago but I didnt bother with publishing, just had it printed for family and friends. But I received such lovely feedback I ended up having to get more copies for people!! The response was so uplifting. I have spare copies left so if you would like one just email me at christine.moran9@gmail.com with your address and you can have one with pleasure! So now the big thing is as I have written a few more I am thinking about self publishing a collection. As they say “watch this apace”! xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

