A Bad Good Dream

A Bad Good Dream

Eyes half open
you realize it’s morning
and although a dream-soaked
forest of night,
star-scattered moon path,
insisted everything was well
and as before –
so excited you found you could run,
right arm normal again
pointing full stretch toward a Snowy Owl –
daylight now smirks a different truth.
You slide from the bed
good side first,
drag a broken body to the bathroom.
The mirror witnesses it all;
tsunami in a single tear of sadness.

 

This is just how it goes sometimes. Writing and sharing dilutes these emotions, restores gratitude, and maybe others going through the same feelings may at least realise they are not alone.

61 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. climbingdownhill
    May 26, 2014 @ 12:30:47

    “writing dilutes the emotions” – that is so true!. It somehow makes it more bearable to know someone might understand.

    Reply

  2. wbdeejay
    May 26, 2014 @ 12:33:48

    Thanks for sharing. Vivid imagery from your words.

    Reply

  3. Blackbird
    May 26, 2014 @ 12:56:20

    Oh my goodness…just wow! My heart is squeezed with the truth of your emotion….”tsunami in a single tear of sadness”…….so beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Bennison Books
    May 26, 2014 @ 13:04:18

    I’m glad your poem reappeared again! 🙂

    This is my favourite line in what is already one of my favourite poems of yours: ‘daylight now smirks a different truth’.

    xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 26, 2014 @ 13:33:01

      Im glad too! Sometimes when I try to edit its difficult getting it to reappear! WP has its own strange behaviours! Thank you for this very supportive comment. I think you already know how much I appreciate your encouragement.

      Reply

  5. Libby
    May 26, 2014 @ 13:19:08

    In dreams we are free. This is a beautifully expressed poem. I love the last line.

    Reply

  6. Ina
    May 26, 2014 @ 13:54:32

    That is lovely and sad too. Being able to run again… 🙂 that part of the dream is the best perhaps… In our dreams we are what we want I suppose. I always forget mine the moment I wake up lol 🙂 L&H xx

    Reply

  7. Cynthia Jobin
    May 26, 2014 @ 14:58:32

    Though I can hardly walk, except at snail’s pace, with a cane, I hike beautiful mountains in my dreams….the view from the top is magnificent. Then I realize I have to pee, and suddenly it’s miles to the loo and I can just barely make it in time! I totally agree, Christine; being honest about feelings is simply allowing truth, letting it breathe….and as the saying goes, the truth shall set you free!

    Reply

  8. pepperandru
    May 26, 2014 @ 15:11:48

    Love it! Tsunami in a single tear! Full Stretch toward a Snowy Owl! Powerful images. Thank you

    Reply

  9. beckarooney
    May 26, 2014 @ 16:45:40

    WOW! Amazing imagery Christine! I was transported into a different world whilst reading this. This is so fantastic I wish I had written it myself! 🙂 xx

    Reply

  10. lscotthoughts
    May 26, 2014 @ 17:17:08

    This is beautiful, Chris, in a melancholy way…dreams are when we can be and do what we want then “daylight now smirks a different truth.” So many wonderful lines that tug at the heart and your last line I can relate to also, wow…♥ xoxo

    Reply

  11. hollyannegetspoetic
    May 26, 2014 @ 18:54:58

    It’s that half-conscious dream-reality thing isn’t it, where the dream is momentarily more tangible than the present moment. Sad, yes – but you express it beautifully Christine. x

    Reply

  12. Minuscule Moments
    May 26, 2014 @ 20:38:55

    Christine what a beautiful poem yet sad, my wish for you is that you have a good day and the burdens that your body goes through are lifted from time to time. I see why you write poetry, it sets you free my friend.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 09:34:58

      Thank you so much Kath for this lovely kind comment. Writing is the best thing I did since my diagnosis three years ago and this, together with the writing group that I attend weekly , and my fanily which keeps growing in the form of grandchildren, all keep me feeling alive! Sharing the dark as well as all the many positive poems keeps a good balance of reality for me. As long as the monster MS realises its not going to win, we will get along fine! 😊 x

      Reply

  13. Harry
    May 26, 2014 @ 22:23:14

    Beautiful Christine, keep writing.

    Reply

  14. triciabertram
    May 26, 2014 @ 23:13:27

    I love many things about you, Christine, but I think your poetic authenticity is the thing I most respect. It takes courage to share the painful truth, but when you do this you touch the very depth of my being. I read your words and know that I’m not alone, I don’t always have to pretend or smile.
    Your words nourish and encourage me. I love you so very much my precious friend. ❤ xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 09:56:23

      Tricia, I hoped this would speak to you and thereby help you to feel loved and not alone because although thks poem was written from a personal perspective, I do try to make the words more universal in the hope of reaching others struggling with whatever. I think the same emotions are evoked whatever the different troubles are to a certain extent at least. (a5- . .?L – my cat Phoebe just walked across the iPad!! 😊)

      Someone said to me recently it’s all right for you, youve got family, Im on my own. Well I started to travel quite comfortably down Guilt Trip Road until I put the breaks on. I wont allow anyone to do that to me. There isnt a day goes by when I dont think of how blessed I am with my lovely family, but some of the loneliest moments can be when I am among them and unable to take part like I used to.

      Thank you for your very treasured friendship, love and understanding. I love you loads ❤️ Xx

      Reply

  15. Wendy Macdonald
    May 27, 2014 @ 04:39:03

    Christine, you always touch so deep with your words. Thank you for sharing from your heart. Beautiful!

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 11:22:27

      Thank you very much Wendy! I wondered who you were at first! I do sometimes wonder whether I should share the darker side of things but then if I didnt I wouldnt be being honest or real, and sometimes this kind of writing seems to help orhers too and that’s a wonderful bonus. Blessings to you too x

      Reply

  16. harulawordsthatserve
    May 27, 2014 @ 06:33:41

    Ahhh those dreams you wish you could hold on to and live, but I guess that’s what makes them so precious, and maybe sometimes cruel. That last line’s image is very powerful, ‘tsunami in a single tear of sadness’. A great poem Christine, and I am sure others too are moved and soothed by your words. Love and blessings, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 10:06:37

      Thank you very much Harula. It does help to share the rather dark side of things too. There are times when things arent so good but I dont feel compelled to write about them and then suddenly wham! A poem is on the page almost all of its own accord. That’s how it seems to work for some reason!

      Lots of love and blessings coming your way. xxx

      Reply

  17. leamuse
    May 27, 2014 @ 09:09:55

    Christine, that was so powerful! Amazing as always but sometimes it feels as you have been treading through my grey matter… It seems we all have issues. Some are visible and some are easier to disguise. Sometimes at night our dreams can give us respite but reality is there for us when we wake. Your imagery is so evocative and your words a special healing. xxx

    Reply

  18. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    May 27, 2014 @ 09:46:41

    The poem is so vivid and brings to life how hard it must be to feel liberated for a few moments only and then to return to a present towards which you show an inspirational courage,

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 10:16:39

      Thank you Peter. It certainly helps to write this stuff down. It’s difficult when putting these things on paper/screen, not to sound self-pitying but I think you already know that’s not what my writing is about; it’s just about freeing the negative feelings and letting them fly off for a while. 😊

      Reply

  19. jamesmorgannash
    May 27, 2014 @ 17:00:56

    A wonderfully effective and ‘true’ poem. Lovely….

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 27, 2014 @ 17:19:15

      Hi James. Thank you so much for commenting. This poem almost wrote itself; sometimes that happens with those that I call “self-helpish”. emotions sometimes rise up and need to pour out.

      Reply

  20. PookyH
    May 27, 2014 @ 18:44:33

    I don’t have any of the words I need. This is such a beautiful portrayal of a cruel and ugly truth. X

    Reply

  21. Jane Thorne
    May 29, 2014 @ 18:52:05

    So beautifully captured by yoru words Chris….those first few precious seconds when all is well…before we fully awake. Darling friend…huge, safest hug. ❤ XxX

    Reply

  22. bardessdmdenton
    May 29, 2014 @ 20:31:32

    Such a beautiful poem, Christine – like when you dream of someone who has passed … the vividness and comfort of their presence, and then you ‘have to’ lose them all over again. But your spirit also is still running and stretching and DANCING! And I have to pull out these lines as just EXQUISITE:
    ‘a dream-soaked
    forest of night,
    star-scattered moon path,’
    May your dreams bring you much more good than bad, dear friend. XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 30, 2014 @ 09:11:51

      Diane, thank you for this lovely comment, especially the “DANCING”!! 😊. Yes it was exactly as you described, one of those very vivid dreams where you have to lose whoever/whatever, all over again. But my spirit is still dancing and I hope it continues to co so. Im so excited – I wrote my first sonnet this week! Ive avoided trying for two years and was inspired at the writing group last Friday. I will post it nex time on my blog.
      Lots of love ❤️ xx

      Reply

      • bardessdmdenton
        Jun 01, 2014 @ 00:14:13

        Look forward to your sonnet, Christine! I ‘have’ to write one – well, a sonnet-song, 17th century style – for the end of my novel. Actually, it’s quite fun to attempt these old styles of poetry. XO ♥

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 01, 2014 @ 11:16:23

      Ooh Im looking forward to reading your sonnet in your book! Its strange, but after Id written it I couldn’t get the rhythm out of my head! ❤️ Xx

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Jun 03, 2014 @ 08:29:22

      Thank you Diane! ❤️

      Reply

  23. SuzyHazelwood
    May 30, 2014 @ 19:38:39

    I relate to this feeling a lot Christine, a long time ago now, I think I mentioned before about being very ill in my 20’s, and I can remember having really vivid colourful dreams where there was nothing wrong with me at all, and sometimes I even managed to dance like talented ballet dancer, or fly – haha, who was I kidding!!! 😉 I can also recall my mother who had chronic rheumatoid arthritis also having similar dreams, where she could run. I’m sure many people have this experience, even if they suffer mentally and not physically. It’s cruel though, the way the mind creates such beautiful beliefs while we are asleep. And you have certainly explained that waking up to realisation in vivid reality! ❤

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      May 30, 2014 @ 20:10:07

      Thank you Suzy. Yes I think you are right, I think this happens to most of us at some time or other. And it does seem cruel how our minds play tricks with us.
      Thank you for your lovely comment, I really appreciate you support and encouragement. I felt much better after Id written this poem; that’s how amazing writing can be. X

      Reply

  24. Through My Eyes
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:41:25

    You express yourself so well in these poems Christine. Really powerful and wonderfully written. Hugs xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

