Love and a Jedi Interceptor

“It’s not called a Something Interceptor,
it’s a Jedi Interceptor!”.
He laughed,
shaking his five year old head
at my bewilderment of
all things Star Wars.

Whatever its name,
it is the reason
we sat together on the sofa
for the whole weekend
apart from trips out here and there.
I was given the privileged position
of Lightsaber Holder;
I learned how R2D2 was built,
how Anekin once fell into lava
and lost all his hair
(thankfully not forever).

But what I learned most
was how the love of a child
is set apart from any other,
its unconditional quality,
its gritty honesty,
its patience.
I think Star Wars movies
could well find their way
onto my bucket list;
of course I would have to
watch them with him.

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. restless42
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 12:32:58

    Christine this is absolutely outstanding. Warm, loving, tender and understanding!
    I love it!

    Reply

  2. Cynthia Jobin
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 12:55:42

    Metaphors be with you! 🙂

    Reply

  3. journeyintopoetry
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 13:20:32

    Haha! Very good Cynthia!! I was going to reply “and also with you” but I think I may be getting mixed up with the catholic mass! 😄

    Reply

  4. Ina
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 13:37:54

    Lovely poem 🙂 Grandchildren make us see things in a new way I think! L&H xxx

    Reply

  5. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 14:36:15

    Its is beautiful. Like you, I don’t know much about Star Wars, but the way you describe the healing giving love a child can bring, and the ageless conspiratorial way they can share knowledge with you is beyond priceless. Deeply heart-warming

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 15, 2014 @ 15:20:53

      Thank you very much Peter. I think the second time round ie as a grandparent, I seem to have more time to take all this “new” information in. Our son loved Star Wars and had all the characters, but I must be listening more carefully now! And I am definitely noticing the love more. 😊

      Reply

  6. leamuse
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 16:11:52

    Christine it is so very beautiful. I can imagine the two of you on that sofa and you being the pupil! I’m only sorry that Cynthia gave the best comment before me! Your grandchildren are most fortunate. xxxx

    Reply

  7. Jackie (Lostinthot)
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 16:33:06

    Beautiful poem! The love shines brightly all the way through. xx 🙂

    Reply

  8. Wendy Macdonald
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 16:49:41

    Christine, boys love it when adults watch movies alongside them. It’s bonding time– which your lovely poem proves you’re already good at…

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  9. bardessdmdenton
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 17:10:43

    Lovely, Christine! You translated the storytelling (including between the lines) of the experience so fully – playfully, lovingly – into this poem. Your little grandson is such a blessing, especially how he brings innocence and healing into your life. Diane XO ♥

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 15, 2014 @ 17:50:45

      Thank you Diane. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment with him. It was as though we were in our own little bubble of adventure. And everyone just left us to it which was lovely. James has an incredible sense of humour. I am very blessed. All five of them are teaching me so much. Im learning on a whole different level than when I was bringing up my own; it’s a totally different expeience and very precious. ❤️ Xxx

      Reply

  10. lscotthoughts
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 02:02:24

    What a precious moment you captured through your words, Chris, and a lovely message, as well. Children have a special way of changing our perspective on life. Star Wars has been part of our family forever, so I can relate to your little guy’s insistence of getting names right! 🙂 George Lucas lives in our town and we’ve seen him around before. He’s very down to earth and loves frozen yogurt, too! lol Anyway, lovely poem, lovely memories made. ♥ xox

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 16, 2014 @ 11:31:35

      Thank you Lauren. David, our son, loved Star Wars and had a huge collection of figures. I think John took him to see the movies and I took a rather back seat, although I do remember a few of the names! But now Ive been given a second chance to be involved! And it’s wonderful. David is quite devastated that when he was about 20 he allowed us to give his figures away to someone,never thinking he may have dhildren! He will just have to start again I guess!! 😊❤️ Xx

      Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 16, 2014 @ 15:56:45

      We cant keep everyrhing! Lol 😊❤️

      Reply

  11. Minuscule Moments
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 09:02:18

    Christine the force sounds strong in your little one and I could not think of a better way to bond than watch Star Wars. My daughter loved them more than my son. Gorgeous time together.

    Reply

  12. kathryningrid
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 19:57:24

    It’s fun to see which things from one generation become or remain popular with subsequent generations. Could anyone who wrote the stories, made the toys, or invented the games have possibly known how long-lived their creations would be, or how many times revised, renewed, revisited? Not likely. What a marvelous surprise is becomes, then, to see what the youngest relish that we thought was forgotten, and what new ideas they bring to it in turn. Lucky child, your junior Jedi! 😀
    xoxo
    K

    Reply

  13. Libby
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 10:46:43

    Lovely poem and I fully recommend the films – surprised you have escaped them so far!

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 17, 2014 @ 11:24:51

      Thank you Libby. I never thought they were my kind of thing! When our son was young he always went to see them with his dad; I wasnt botherd and neither were the girls. So maybe now is my time! 😊

      Reply

  14. Polly
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 22:16:09

    So charming…I quite see you as a Lightsaber Holder 🙂

    Reply

  15. SuzyHazelwood
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 19:02:24

    The sharing of a child’s mind is such a lovely thing, and a real pity that some parents and even grandparents barely listen to their little ones. I love to see mothers and occasionally fathers too talking to their babies as they walk round a supermarket doing the shopping. They are always the happiest babies! 🙂

    That’s a beautiful moment you’ve told Christine, and I hope the two of you have many more like this! It’s bringing back some memories of conversations I had with my own grandmother. There’s nothing more exciting to a child than their grandparents or aunts and uncles having time to listen and talk. Not sure why, but I can still remember that special feeling of someone you didn’t see everyday having time for you – precious moments! And so you’re an expert on star wars now?!! 😀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 19, 2014 @ 09:47:13

      Thank you Suzy! There is something special about being with and engaging totally with someone you dont see often, I agree, and the grandparent/child relationship can be beautiful. I have always given my own children lots of time, reading to them and doing things with them, but I think the relationship is different with grandchildren because we dont see them all the time therefore the listenibg I do is more intense., hence I am now really listening to all the news about Star Wars whereas with my son I was probably exhausted after very busy days with children, when he told me about it all! 😄. But no, Im not an expert yet! But watch this space! 😄 x

      Reply

  16. Betty Hayes Albright
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 00:04:44

    Christine I enjoyed this a lot – there’s nothing like a grandchild to teach us new things – to see through their eyes. Star Wars! It’s been a long time – that’d be so much fun to watch again with a grandson/daughter. You should definitely put it on your bucket list! 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 22, 2014 @ 09:40:55

      Thank you Betty. I seem to remember enjoying the Star Wars phase as a busy mum and now Im giving myself the joy of learning about it in more detail the second time around. My lessons will continue next week, no doubt, when we go over to Ireland for a few days! 😊

      Reply

  17. Bodhirose
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 17:47:39

    Seems like we both wrote something about our grandchildren, Christine. Yours sounds like he has quite the imagination and even trusts his Grandma to be the Lightsaber Holder…pretty cool! I’ve enjoyed watching all the Star Wars movies. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Through My Eyes
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 02:14:41

    Oh yes you must watch Starwars with you 5yo (grandson I presume)! You’ve captured the very essence of a child here, their warmth, honesty and wonder. Another beautifully written poem Christine. Keep them coming xx 🙂

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 23, 2014 @ 09:47:07

      Thanks so much Norma! Yes it is our grandson in the poem. He came over from Ireland the other week just with his dad and I learned more about Star Wars during that weekend than I have ever done! I think when our son was little it went over the top of my head, I die my best at being interested in Star Wars back then but I obviously missed lots! 😊 xxx

      Reply

  19. beckarooney
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 18:53:44

    I’m impressed you watched Stars Wars Christine! I can barely tell the difference between that and Star Trek! Your grandson sounds like a bundle of joy, this was a poem full of love 🙂 xx

    Reply

  20. mihrank
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 18:55:38

    I am impressed and touched by your blog and details, thank you for sharing it! It brings much more joy, cheerful!

    Reply

  21. harulawordsthatserve
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 07:12:42

    Love it Christine! Reminds me of a conversation I had with a young neighbour of mine, who kept calling it a light SAVER, whicl I loved actually, and then we turned that into an ongoing joke when I kept ‘correcting’ him. Indeed children bring out a raw, fierce, powerful unconditional love like nothing else, and you’re soooo good at reminding us of how important it is to savour that. Hope you’re having a great week my friend. Love always, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Aug 27, 2014 @ 08:45:08

      Thank you very much Harula! And now Im “fessing up” as they say, because for a long time when my son was little I called it a Light Saver too!!! 😄😄(hangs head in shame!). I think I was too busy in those days and didnt listen properly. Now there’s a lesson! 😊. Love and hugs xxx

      Reply

  22. Scotia Night Poetry
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 16:53:33

    Reblogged this on My Bewildered Brain.

    Reply

  23. Thomas Davis
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 01:55:05

    My grandson gave me Dumbledore’s wizard wand as a present! He’s quite a bit older than five, of course, but I got the same enjoyment you describe here. The force is with you, Christine. It has been for a long time now. Wonderful poem.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 01, 2014 @ 11:26:33

      Wow Tom what a wonderful gift for you, and surely one to treasure! I quite like the idea of a wizard wand 😊. And thank you for your encouraging comment on the poem. Your support is much appreciated, Im sure you know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

