Breaking Free

The trick is to know when,
and for those who truly seek to bloom
their time will come.

There will be an urgency
like a rebirth,
the years of confinement over
and time to take a risk,
to burst through,
break loose from the safety
of the bud and say
Here I am.

This is true discernment,
a risking of good for better
and better for best.
Because a bud will eventually
outgrow its purpose
and if not broken
will droop, hang limp,
a withered head, brittle
and packed tight with
the crushed brown petals
of what could have been.

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Armetta
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 12:50:07

    Hopeful and thought provoking. Especially for me today- I appreciate it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. leamuse
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 13:26:58

    Very powerful Christine! It quakes with the vibes of revelation! xxx

    Reply

  3. Peter Wells aka Countingducks
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 13:45:31

    Well said, thought and expressed. Nothing haunts you more than wasted potential, but you are discovering yours more and more, as each succeeding poem shows.

    Reply

  4. Cynthia Jobin
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 15:39:13

    Quit the bloomin’ doubts and just bloom, Christine! You’re already among the fairest flowers I know about…no chance at all, of your being nipped in the bud. Don’t worry about writing, just write…..or don’t, if you don’t want to. A wise person once told me I had to just do it, and learn to love them all, those poems, the good ones and the not-so-good ones….you never know when a seemingly hopeless bud might bloom after all….there’s always hope, as old Emily says…”Hope is the thing with feathers—that perches in the soul….” and who knows? You may be getting ready to take flight….in any case, take care. ❀

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 15:49:31

      As always Cynthia your encouragement urges me on; thank you. Between you and me (and now everyone who reads this!) someone has offered to publish a collection of my poems. There will be discussion and editing etc etc and I am very nervous but thrilled at the same time, and although this poem isnt solely about this project, or about poetry or even necessarily about me really, it did play a big part 😊😊

      Reply

      • Cynthia Jobin
        Sep 17, 2014 @ 16:54:35

        Now how do you like that! I am in the same boat……in the same process (though up to now I have not wanted to do it; I have considered my blog publication… the opportunity was presented, so I’m going for it.) I’m not doing an e-book, just a hard one….I know that’s a chore for you, but I plan to send you a complimentary autographed copy anyway, for your bookshelf πŸ™‚ since you have been my encouraging buddy from the start…you’ve already read most of the poems in the book!

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 17:28:51

      Well you could knock me down with a feather! How about that?! That’s wonderful news, and thank you! I will treasure my copy, and yes it is a bit of a chore but as I have said before, some books I cant get on kindle so I have a soft book rest thing that holds the pages down and I can use one hand to turn it. And likewise, most of my poems have appeared on my blog too. Exciting times 😊 x

      Reply

  5. Ina
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 16:06:10

    Hi Christine, this is lovely, so much to find in life but no one knows when it is their time to bloom πŸ™‚ And every one has a different goal of course. Yours has been the publishing of your poems and that is going to happen, so it must be a great feeling πŸ™‚ I remember our first conversations, a lot has happened since. Goals changeing, life changeing. It is exiting to surprise ourselves and do stuff we never thought we would πŸ™‚ Enjoy the editing phase! πŸ™‚ ❀ xxx L&H

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 16:41:45

      Thank you very much Ina! Yes it’s an exciting time. And it is strange how life wanders down paths seemingly on its own with us merely following! The original plan for publishing went a bit pear shaped so I was all set for self publishing through a random publishing company when this opportunity jumped out at me !! Of course you are an old hand at all this! But just to get this one book published, really published is such a huge thing in my life, and is something which is completely beyond my wildest dreams. 😊 ❀️ L&H xx

      Reply

  6. Wendy Macdonald
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 16:17:45

    Christine, this speaks to me. Thank you for inspiring us to bloom and not droop. Beautiful.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Reply

  7. Harry
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 19:18:39

    Beautiful Christine.

    Reply

  8. bardessdmdenton
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 19:23:28

    This is another example of the magnificent strides you have made in your writing, Christine … especially your ‘use’ of imagery … which blends so effortlessly and lyrically with your observation and sense of what goes unseen, too. Following on Ina’s comment – this is an exciting time as you embark on publishing your poems, and I am so honored to be taking a part in that. The intro is done and this particular poem of yours really speaks to its ‘theme’. XO β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 19:29:38

      Diane, this is such a wonderfully encouraging comment, thank you very much. And thank you also for the intro which I am so looking forward to reading. I am thrilled that you are involved in this process. When this book is done I don’t think I will ever want to stop looking at it! 😊❀️ Xxxx

      Reply

  9. climbingdownhill
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 14:14:06

    I always enjoy reading what you write.

    Reply

  10. beckarooney
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 18:44:34

    Very positive and powerful Christine, I kept thinking of a phoenix rising from the flames – reborn. Fabulous poem πŸ˜€ x

    Reply

  11. SuzyHazelwood
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 18:47:44

    I love the idea of that blooming and saying “Here I am! Staying young, a bud forever would be very boring. There is a time for us all to bloom, it just doesn’t seem possible sometimes. πŸ™‚

    So you’re about to do some blooming of your own! Someone offering to publish your poetry – sounds exciting Christine! πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 11:59:32

      Thank you Suzy! And you are right, sometimes it does seem impossible.

      Yes, Im somewhat nervous about this book project but I am working with a very dedicated publisher who is helping me through the process very gently – well so far its been gentle! 😊 xx

      Reply

  12. Minuscule Moments
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 21:52:39

    Christine even though I am heading for fifty I feel new buds growing after the cold winter months. It is never too late to bloom nor does age stop us if we find our passion. Happy day to you an excellent poem my friend it resonated with my feelings of just setting out on my true path. A second chance maybe.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:03:56

      Thank you Kath! Well I am way on the other side of fifty and I reckon Im just about to let a bud break free. 😊. It’s never too late for any of us as long as the passion to bloom remains with us. I have to say you are blooming beautifully all over the place right now and there is lots of ‘spice’ in your blooming!! πŸ˜„ xx

      Reply

  13. lscotthoughts
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 03:36:26

    Chris, this is a lovely piece exuding hope, encouragement and stepping out of our comfort zones. I love the imagery you’ve used, too. I must confess that I’ve read some of the other comments and didn’t know you were publishing your first book. I’m so happy for you and excited, too! Can’t wait to see the finished project! Hugs and Blessings! β™₯

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:06:11

      Thank you Lauren! Its never too late is it?! I never thought this book would happen, but the opportunity to publish my poems presented itself so here I am!! 😊❀️ Xxx

      Reply

  14. harulawordsthatserve
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 08:36:58

    Beautiful Christine, that final image of the withered unopened bud is incredibly powerful. Your poem reminds me of this from Hafiz, ‘β€œHow did the rose ever open its heart and give to this world all its beauty? It felt the encouragement of light against its being, otherwise, we will remain too frightened ” What is it that we, and I say here also I – what is it that I fear so much about saying, being, ‘Here I am!’? Hugs and blessings always, Harula xxx

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:09:33

      Thank you so much Harula as ever, for your in depth comment. Yes, what is it that keeps the fear inside us? Its like bindweed trying to strangle all the buds. I know it is deeply rooted within me but lately, well, since my diagnosis I guess, I have become just a very tiny bit braver. 😊 hugs and blessings xxx

      Reply

  15. kathryningrid
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 03:19:41

    Touching, true, and both terrifying and exhilarating at the same time. Marvelously done, once again, my sweet. (((HUGS!)))
    ❀
    xo

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:16:48

      Thank you very much Kathryn. Your words are always full of encouragement and this gives me the incentive to keep going, especially when I want to stay in the bud too long! 😊 And thank you for the hugs! ❀️ Xx

      Reply

  16. Polly
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 04:27:46

    Christine, I’ve read and re-read your poem ‘Breaking Free’, it speaks on many levels through your use of imagery and extended metaphor, beautifully layered.

    The lines ‘…years of confinement over / and time to take a risk…’ have a depth that tugs to the core. We see different meanings to different people here.

    I can’t wait for your book to come out, what wonderful news, I’m delighted to see this poem will be part of it.

    Reply

    • journeyintopoetry
      Sep 22, 2014 @ 12:24:11

      Thank you very much Polly, both for your lovely constructive comment and for the reblog. That doesn’t often happen!! Lol. I know I said my next poem would be about our grandson, but this one barged its way in!!😊 x

      Reply

  17. Polly
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 04:28:37

    Reblogged this on Polly and commented:
    A lovely read from Christine.

    Reply

  18. Betty Hayes Albright
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 18:02:25

    Oh, Christine! This is my new favorite of yours – I love the metaphor, and the message and the beauty of it – everything about it. We must dare to bloom, to take the risk (physically, spiritually) or we die. Inspirational!

    Reply

  19. Jane Thorne
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 11:00:21

    My special friend, this is a poem full of love and encouragement. I feel it also speaks of the love and support we get from our loving connections when we do break a bond. I love you ❀ xXx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

Pitching Pennies Poetry

the work of smzang

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

The Fat Damsel

Poems To Survive In

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Some Good Things

Musings of an explorer...

Poet's Corner

Poems, poets, poetry, writing, poetry challenges

Seasonings

Just a little poetry...

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

esperluetterbox

words and pictures

Gramma Krackers

Words of the Wise Krackers

dVerse

Poets Pub

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Petals Unfolding

~Heart-to-Heart Connection~

